Ad
We are experiencing a high volume of orders that may result in some shipping delays. Learn more >

Product Reviews

Wild Portuguese Sardines EVOO 4.4 oz tins, in organic EV olive oil

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Delicious" Danielle on 4/17/2019 1:13 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These are fabulous sardines. They are firm and perfectly packed. I like to take two cans of them and mix them with some whole mustard, lemon juice, pepper, salt and capers. Then I put it on top of cucumber slices, delicious. I will be buying these from here on out.

"Sure wish these were no Salt" Meg D on 3/12/2019 2:47 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: I buy quite a bit from Vital Choice and I love their fresh fish. I had high hopes for these Sardines - they are plump and fresh looking. That said, I eat very little salt so when I tasted one I was shocked at how salty they tasted. I should have checked the ingredients. The ad says "low sodium" but I guess that's relative. My fault for not reading the label. I don't understand why they had to add salt. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you found this type of sardine too salty, we do offer two no salt or oil options that many customers who aren't salt fans prefer. Our team will reach out to you to follow up. Thank you!

"Excellent!" Cheryl on 12/30/2018 3:32 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent sardines......the best I’ve had!

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Teresa S on 12/3/2018 5:49 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Just received our first order from Vital Choice and my daughter LOVED the Sardines. Nice size and plump and Tasty!!! Will be purchasing them again along with the very BEST Salmon I have ever purchased!!!

"Great Sardines" Pam S on 7/5/2018 1:22 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Just tried them & they're great!

"Sardines" Lynette H on 6/15/2018 6:33 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I love Sardines. 40 years ago, I ate my first sardine - small mustard sauce and it was good. Then time passed and the sardines looked like little fish. Not Vital Choice - they still are little sardines and taste great.

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Dr. Kwaku A on 6/8/2018 10:21 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I have been looking for a real sardine and I found it this is the kind that is balance and organic . The taste is superb . I can eat it all year long

"Sardines" Anthony A on 5/31/2018 6:33 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Consistently superior quality and fairly priced.

"Incredibly delicious!!" Michelle S on 5/31/2018 6:39 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I am quite literally addicted to these sardines!! They are the best I've ever had. Couple that with easy ordering and fast shipping, and you really can't beat it 😀

"Delicious" Theresa G on 4/27/2018 3:17 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I order these because I trust the source of these sardines and because they taste good, for sardines!

"Incredibly delicious!!" Michelle S on 4/23/2018 5:36 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I ordered a 6 pack and only have one can left, just a week later. Easily the best sardines I've ever had!!

"Tasty Sardines!" Kulie on 4/16/2018 1:13 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent quality and tastes AMAZING!!

"Yum" D on 4/13/2018 2:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Yum. Nice. Not soggy, great tasting, solid sardines. Great Omegas! Great calcium. Loaded with nutrition in these tiny cans. Amazing :)

"wild portuguese sardines" sheldon p on 4/9/2018 10:43 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: fine quality, packaged well

"Sardine review" Gary Rogel on 4/6/2018 8:30 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: excellent, going to buy a lot more. We are done with other smoked, cheap oil sardines with BPA.

"Wow" Africa Lockett on 3/17/2018 7:30 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent product the very Best I will continue to order.

"sardin fish" jen y on 3/2/2018 5:13 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: good

"Wow are these fresh" Chip on 1/30/2018 4:37 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Compared to grocery store sardines, these are fantastic. They taste fresh and bright. It was exciting to eat and enjoy such a great project.

"Sardines" Joan D on 1/8/2018 10:42 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These are the only sardines I will ever eat! Great as a snack but also very tasty in a sandwich on whole grain bread with sliced onions.

"North Country" Judith F-B on 12/11/2017 12:32 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Good eating!

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Maureen on 12/8/2017 7:17 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I am never disappointed when I receive these delicious sardines in organic Olive Oil. They are so good for me and I just eat them right out of the can. Thank you Vital Choice for this wonderful product.

"Great sardines!" Judith H B on 12/2/2017 10:21 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These sardines are the best I've tasted. Important that they're from Portugal- safe! HIGHLY recommended.

"The vevy best" Alfred L Moniot MD on 11/10/2017 2:13 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I love these. eat them raw and cooked with fish; rice, noodles and veggies. Have for years.

"Sardines" Chris Lamont on 11/3/2017 10:17 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Way too Salty! I'm calling Monday to see if I can return / exchange

"Sardine lovers can tell" Mark on 10/29/2017 10:36 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: ...as soon as you taste the sardines, you know that not all sardine are created equal and that these are a superior tasting bite of fish.

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Peggy J Foley on 10/25/2017 12:41 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent taste.

"For sardines amateur" CGS on 9/10/2017 5:20 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Best on the market in USA.

"Delish" Robyn K. on 9/8/2017 4:39 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Just really good sardines...Had them in a salad.

"retired" Dolores on 9/7/2017 6:03 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent choice. Was not disappointed.

"sardines" Irene on 9/2/2017 9:44 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: non-fishy, tender, truly superior, i even save the delicious oil

"Nice Sardine/Salmon Cakes" Emma-Louise B on 9/1/2017 5:59 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I blend with salmon flakes to make healthy salmon cakes!

"Delicious" Pat on 8/28/2017 5:16 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Sardines are superb

"Sardines" Lynette Hughes on 8/18/2017 1:01 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Sardines are one of my favorite lunch meals. They are small, firm and cut in thin fillets. I can tell by the smell condition in an opened can that I am eating a good fished and processed fish.

"Thank you!" Tonia Messina on 8/10/2017 8:04 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: At last delicious in olive oil. Had given up on the grocery stores' in water or vegetable oil...

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Bill F on 8/7/2017 1:17 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Fantastic flavor

"Sardines" Jill on 7/29/2017 9:15 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent taste and satifying

"Plump, healthy, tasty" Rene Kehrwald on 7/18/2017 4:21 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I received a six pack of sardines that were actually the spicy ones (wow, those are hot). When I informed Vital Choice they immediately sent me a replacement box. These are my favorite brand of sardines. They have a fresh flavor and good texture.

"Full of flavor!" logue on 7/2/2017 2:11 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These sardines are just so tasty!

"Superb as always" Luba on 6/25/2017 8:54 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Delicious and convenient for nutrition on the go or in a hurry or on a lazy cooking day.

"Great Sardines" Leroy G on 6/18/2017 12:19 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Great tasting sardines. Been eating them for years. My cats love them, too. They turn away from regular store-bought sardines that I get for them. Ditto with the wild-caught salmon--they only go for the best! Thanks for bringing more quality back into our lives.

"Superb Sardines" Olga C on 6/2/2017 6:15 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Best Sardines I have ever had in US just like the childhood one I eat growing up in Europe thank you Vital Choice

"sardines" Jackie A on 5/19/2017 10:03 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent !

"Best ever!!!" M. Lindley on 5/14/2017 6:43 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Once you eat these sardines, you're spoiled because nothing compares!

"Great sardines." Dave R on 5/3/2017 5:30 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Long time sardine fan here. I usually buy another brand of Portuguese sardines from another popular online retailer. After reading many favorable reviews of Vital Choice sardines I placed an order for one case and hoped they lived up to the hype. Opened up a can today and they really are amazing. Whatever olive oil they use just puts them over the top. So good. I'll definitely order these again.

"Sardines in Olive Oil" Moira D on 5/1/2017 11:47 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These sardines are the best! Not fishy at all. They are thick and meaty and really delicious. I also appreciated that they were salted but not overly salty. These sardines provide a jumbo dose of anti-inflammatory omega3s, too!!!

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Steven R on 4/21/2017 4:40 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These are the only sardines I eat and for good reason. They are fantastic! I started eating sardines to ensure a good daily intake of calcium and potassium. I now eat Portuguese sardines simply because I enjoy it so much. At one point this brand was on back order and I cringed at the thought of it never being available again. Great product at a great price.

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Bob S on 3/26/2017 6:38 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Very tasty and hopefully full of healthy omegas for my body.

"YUMMY" TOUTANT on 3/26/2017 12:24 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: THE BEST SARDINES IN A CAN.

"sardines" Charlie McCord on 3/21/2017 8:34 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: have tasted many sardines, but these are the best

"Wild Portugeese Sardines" Don O on 3/10/2017 5:27 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent quality. Good flavor, meaty, tin was full, didn't smell strong,definitely a quality product.,

"Solid product" Robert on 3/3/2017 6:56 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent product.

"Sardines" Jen-Rong Yang on 2/27/2017 8:51 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Canned fish

"Sardines" Lucy F on 2/23/2017 5:12 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: High Sodium

"Sardines" Ingrid D on 2/18/2017 4:11 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: All of your sardines are superior and absolutly delicious. I always have them sent to my son in Vermont

"Sardines from Portugal" Pamela C on 2/15/2017 7:30 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I really like the sardines! I like that they come from the Spain area I don't eat fish out of the Pacific ocean! These are good I will be buying this brand again!

"Awesome" GALINA on 2/10/2017 8:22 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Amazing, so gentle and light. Just love it.

"At Last" Ronnie G on 1/23/2017 9:32 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Until I discovered Vital Choice I could not find any sardines that appealed to me. Now I always have a supply of the wild Portuguese sardines In my pantry. I love them.

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Larry Carron on 1/23/2017 6:28 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent product.

"Wild Portuguese Sardines" Marilyn on 1/21/2017 4:45 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: I rated this a 4 because it was a little bland

"pc" Patricia Cameron on 1/19/2017 11:20 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: excellent!

"If you want....." CGS on 12/23/2016 7:05 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: the best, here they are!

"Sardines that Matter" Jeff on 11/18/2016 7:59 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Taste is great, cans are packed full... great value!

"Dead Fish Night" Cheryl T on 11/11/2016 7:31 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My husband and I have fish at least twice a week. Wild Sardines are part of "dead fish night" at our house. To this "buffet" we add a vegetable and quinoa or couscous. YUM. First order, but will order again.

"Fantastic Sardines" Santa Barbara on 11/5/2016 7:07 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: No Sardines on the market can compare to this!

"Very good sardines" Mike L on 10/17/2016 3:18 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Very good product that is healthy and tasty and nice to have to put on salads when you need a quick meal.

"Wild Sardines" ED H on 9/24/2016 8:50 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I've been fortunate to have liked sardines and other fish since back in the 50's! I've bought quality sardines for years in the store. These are, however, really outstanding because of their excellent taste and canning process. A SUPERIOR PRODUCT....and strongly recommended for anyone who enjoys great sardines!!! THANKS

"Wild Sardines in Organic EVO" Ramonita O on 9/24/2016 9:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Delicious!Love sardines !!!

"Sardines like you've never had" Shirley R on 9/19/2016 7:35 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I've eaten sardines over the years, not because they were delicious, but because they are a healthy food. Thought I'd give the ones from Vital Choice a try, even though they are a bit pricey. What a wonderful surprise! They were excellent! I got both the ones in olive oil and one in water. They are worth the price!

"Best Sardines" Kim on 9/18/2016 7:35 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I love this sardine very much and I am ordering it very regularly. Recently I just gave it to my co worker to try it and he loves it too. He ordered few dozen cans for himself. Thanks for making a very tasty fish

"really superior product" gerald roth on 8/29/2016 1:55 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: best ever

"Scales??" Alex on 8/18/2016 7:59 AM Rating:
Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Based on the reviews, I thought this would be a great purchase and took a chance with the 24 cans. OMG! What a mistake- it's gross! The sardines have scale and parts of fin left on. I've tried many other brands but never are the scales left on. I still have 20 cans left sitting in the pantry. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear you disappointment in the Wild Sardines. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you! Vital Choice

"the best in the world !" Sara Shannon on 7/25/2016 5:19 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: For a person who didn't like sardines much at all, but knew from Dr Frank ,a great researcher who proclaimed the health benefits of sardines, I tried to eat them. Now Vital Choice sardines make this effort a delight; and I would say their sardines are the best in the world

"Wild Sardines in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil 4-3/8 oz" Joe Bristor on 7/25/2016 2:59 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Very good so far. Worth the wait for fresh.

"Wild sardines" Bob D on 7/12/2016 7:40 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: they were a little mild for me.needed more taste - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Sardines. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you! Vital Choice

"Wild Sardines in Organic EVOL" Sigmund C on 6/29/2016 5:06 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These are the best sardines I have ever eaten in my whole life. There is no comparison to others sold in the stores even Whole Foods. I have had a friend say they are delicious and will never go back to the others they have bought in the stores.

"Delicious" Judith S on 6/15/2016 2:20 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: very big sardines and tasty. The oil was very good too.

"Quality Taste & Price" Helga G on 5/26/2016 9:43 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These sardines have a smooth and savory taste, and are the best I've had.

"Exceptional" Ian M on 5/26/2016 8:29 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is very good...quality, taste and nutritional value. I sometimes eat it straight from the can with rice. Very satisfying.

"Wild sardines" Dona on 5/11/2016 8:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Meaty, tender and so fresh - can't ask for more. The best sardines I've eaten. Organic olive oil is always a plus.

"The Only Sardines" Steven R on 5/3/2016 4:14 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The Vital Choice Sardines are the only ones I eat. The omega 3 content gives me a healthy hit of essential fatty acids plus the potassium and calcium I need through my diet to deal with osteo and absorption issues.

"Good" RRM on 4/15/2016 4:25 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Good tasting and kids seem to like it.

"Wild Sardines are the best" Cindy C on 4/7/2016 4:37 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My husband fell in love with fresh sardines on a recent trip to Portugal. He couldn't believe the he could get such great quality in a can but Vital Choice has done it.

"Sardines in olive oil" Roger Curry on 4/4/2016 10:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Too large and boney prefer small Brisling Sardines

"Wild sardines" Celine Gendron on 3/30/2016 8:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The best!

"Sardines in Olive Oil for Lumch" John H on 3/30/2016 6:26 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: If you like sardines, this is for you! Large, well preserved, fresh canned and whole, not pieces or mush like supermarket sardines. You can tell this by their mild odor and firm texture.

"Sardines" Jayme Franco on 3/28/2016 4:40 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I love the Portuguese sardines l'll order them again!

"Davis" Jo Davis on 3/1/2016 7:02 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Love sardines and the wild sardines in organic extra virgin olive oil is the best.

"sardines" neva n on 2/19/2016 7:45 AM Rating:
Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: It is hard to write a bad report, but for us here these sardines were very large and dry. I will not return them as I have family that I hope will eat them. We will return to our brand in the grocery store. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Sardines and found them to be dry. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you!

"Wild Sardines in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil 4-3/8 oz" Manuela on 2/11/2016 5:57 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent company and excellent product. Healthy and to trust.

"Review of Sardines" Elizabeth A on 2/8/2016 5:40 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: The sardines tasted and smelled as if they were smoked. Is this true? The label does not mention smoking. Perhaps the olive oil was smoked??? I have trouble digesting food that has been smoked or has a smoky taste.. Please let me know if they are smoked. Thanks. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear you are not satisfied with the Sardines. Our Sardines are not smoked in any way. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss further. Here is a short video on the Sardine and Mackerel process and harvest, http://www.vitalchoice.com/shop/pc/viewContent.asp?idpage=671 . Thank you!

"wild sardines" geetanjali chatterjee on 2/3/2016 3:33 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: excellent

"reply" robert m on 2/2/2016 8:17 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Exemplary product as is the service. Tasty, rich and a very fulfilling fish, especially backpacking.

"Wild Sardines in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil" Joy R on 1/29/2016 6:32 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Delicious!

"Wild Sardines in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil" Gino C on 1/22/2016 4:46 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The are by far the best sardines i have ever eaten. Sharing them with friends and family, they agree and are not eating them

"Delicious" Martha S on 1/21/2016 10:00 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The sardines are tasty but the most positive thing about the product: very little olive oil. Not having the fish swimming in oil fosters better, healthier products.

"Wild Sardines organic extra virgin olive" Luisa G on 1/19/2016 9:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I have never had a bad or sad can, only a rad can! Satisfaction every time!

"sardines in olive oil" Ruth Yoder on 1/13/2016 5:03 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I love the sardines,the best I have eaten. They actually have helped my husbands back problems. Delicious on toast!

"mouthwatering tidbits" Charles H on 12/20/2015 2:13 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I had a can of wild sardines in olive oil today. I used it as a topping with fresh home grown kale, fresh cranberries, roasted pine nuts, and olive oil. It was beyond belief, so moist and tasty...the best sardines out of a can I've ever tasted.

"wild sardines in organic extra virgin olive oil" Paulette G on 12/12/2015 10:22 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These sardines are my absolute favorite. These are the best sardines I have ever tasted. So easy to enjoy good nutrition

"Great little big fish" Myra on 12/11/2015 5:20 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I never realized how good sardines are until I tasted these. Thank You Vital Choice!

Return to product details >>
Ad