Product Reviews

Wild Pacific Spot Prawns 16 oz tray, large, shell-on

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
4

"Wild Pacific Spot Prawns" Marcia H on 7/14/2018 8:25 PM Rating:
Review: Was very disappointed in the spot prawns. 1st of all these were by no means large prawns. I would consider them small to medium. I usually order the 12 oz tubs of spot prawns. These had absolutely no taste to them. These were definitely not worth the money even on sale. And I ordered 3 trays of them. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Wild Pacific Spot Prawns" Celeste L on 6/14/2018 5:21 AM Rating:
Review: These are the best prawns I have ever eaten. I stir fry them in butter and home grown garlic and savor each and every bite.

"Better than any specialty store shrimp while caught shrimp" Sunday on 5/20/2018 4:20 AM Rating:
Review: I’ve been buying from VitalChoice for years. They stand behind their guarantee. I once received a shipment of shrimp with cut in the packaging, customer service advised it was probably a box cutter and replaced all damaged packages. As for the quality of shrimp, it’s fantastic. I lived in Florida for years purchasing seafood from specialty markets or local seafood fish markets, I go to the beach yearly, and always purchase seafood from local fish markets ( right on or near the docks ); oddly their shrimp is nothing like VitalChoice’s Wild Pacific Shrimp. It doesn’t compare. There’s a distinct difference in taste and quality. Even the shrimp shell is different. The VitalChoice Wild Pacific Shrimp shell is much thicker and more spiny than gulf shrimp. When I’ve purchased Wild Pacific shrimp in specialty stores it still doesn’t compare. Try it side by side, and you will see.

"The freshest" Deb R on 3/30/2018 6:46 AM Rating:
Review: Love these prawns, especially knowing they are wild!!

"Spot prawns" Patti Loranger on 2/23/2018 3:37 PM Rating:
Review: First time I ordered these, they were large and firm. This time they were smaller and kind of soft and just didn't taste as awesome as the first order. I would order them one more time to see if they've improved as it's a good, reputable company.

"WILD PRAWNS" CAMPOS VICTOR on 1/1/2018 9:13 PM Rating:
Review: GOOD/ FRESH PRAWNS TRY THEM

"tastes better than Maine Lobster" PJ Foster on 12/12/2017 6:30 PM Rating:
Review: Delighted to find this particular product from Vital Choice. As my title suggests these prawns are delectable in taste in comparison with lobster.

"Prawns & Copper Creek Salmon" Robert H on 11/30/2017 8:18 AM Rating:
Review: Spot prawns were fresh and tasty, but the Copper Creek Salmon was out of this world!

"Roe is an unpleasant surprise" Meredith on 11/8/2017 3:56 AM Rating:
Review: Perhaps some people like roe in their shrimp but it would be nice to have this noted in the description. There was so much roe and red fluid that looked like blood from meat (which I don’t eat) that I couldn’t even stomach cleaning these. They went straight in the garbage -what a shame. I am normally so happy with my other purchases from VC. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the roe in each prawn. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today regarding your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Very Disappointed" Jana L on 10/6/2017 6:53 PM Rating:
Review: Difficult to clean and very small. I will not order these again! - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the spot prawns. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today. Thank you!

"Magnificent" Stephanie P on 9/6/2017 6:52 PM Rating:
Review: The freshness was obvious. I made shrimp scampi & put it over spinach noodles. Served with zucchini squash & garlic bread. Everyone Loved the meal & there were no left-overs!

"Excellent shrimp once you get past the cleaning" Judy L on 7/24/2017 1:14 AM Rating:
Review: I don't mind taking off shells or cleaning the band of "poop" from shrimp, but cleaning out the thick, red roe is, for me, a yucky job. I suppose this might be a delicacy for some, but I can't stomach anything slimy. Even so, the shrimp are large and very good once the cleaning is done. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. The Spot Prawns you recently purchased can contain some roe and digestion track. I will share your feedback with our team, because of when the prawns are harvested the roe is difficult to avoid. Our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you today. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Candy of the Sea!" Joan on 6/17/2017 2:30 PM Rating:
Review: These Jewels of shellfish are like candy from the sea! Beautiful, sweet, briny! Nothing compares! Love them!

"Great Tasting" Deb on 5/5/2017 1:21 PM Rating:
Review: I wish they came with the shell off because part of the shell is very sharp. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We will share your request with our product team to consider. The shells can be sharp and we have a short video on tips to remove they shell easily, https://www.vitalchoice.com/recipe/how-to-clean-spot-prawns . Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Service" DEBORAH O on 4/28/2017 9:13 AM Rating:
Review: My initial order arrived thawed. With just a brief phone call to a real person, the new order arrived shortly. I am totally impressed with this excellent customer service. Thank you!

"Spot Prawns" Allen F on 4/27/2017 5:09 AM Rating:
Review: Best ever, first tray gone. Have to slow down!

"Medium at Best Prawns" Jeanie on 3/9/2017 6:08 AM Rating:
Review: These are still very good, but not what I've seen before as labeled large. These were more of a medium size. Great quality, but not large.

"WOW!!" Lisle P on 3/3/2017 10:11 AM Rating:
Review: I was given these as my bonus for ordering many months ago and just had to purchase them. These were hands down the most tasty shrimp I have ever made. Full of flavor and such a perfect size. Highly recommend these even though they are pricier than I usually would spend. I will use them for special occasions. Looking forward to making them soon!!

"Excellent, but a pain to clean" Judy L on 2/19/2017 12:20 AM Rating:
Review: I had to rate these prawns 5 stars since the quality is wonderful. They are what I would consider to be large, are firm, and excellent when sauted with garlic and butter. They only thing that I don't like about then is the required cleaning to remove shells and the vein. Once that is done, I love them. Personally, using these in a salad I would consider a waste, but that's just my opinion. I use them as the main dish or a part of it.

"prawns" GARY BROWN on 2/10/2017 7:42 AM Rating:
Review: I thought I was getting large prawns, these are no bigger than a silver dollar. Very disappointed in this product. Everything on the order was o.k. Hello Gary, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. We are very sorry to hear your disappointment in the Spot Prawns Our Customer Service Department will be reaching out to your shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Lovely prawns!" Sharon N on 1/20/2017 1:03 PM Rating:
Review: These prawns are the best-tasting I have ever had, (except for the other prawns I purchased from Vital Choice last year). I can't stop eating these, just like all the other fish & seafood I purchase from Vital Choice. I have sautéed these beauties and used them in pasta dishes and served them just chilled as appetizers. Divine!

"Pacific spot prawns" helen scislowski on 1/19/2017 8:38 PM Rating:
Review: Very delicate, mild flavor. Unfortunately, very difficult to peel, fingers sore.

"Wild Pacific Spot Prawns: Large - 16 oz. Tray" Janice Leone on 1/14/2017 2:55 PM Rating:
Review: Tasty, but smaller than we envisioned.

"old shrimp" Susan S on 12/30/2016 7:32 AM Rating:
Review: Product was harvested over a year ago! Customer Service was not educated to handle the problem, and we did not have the holiday dinner we planned--please call me. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product and the follow up you received. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you by phone today to discuss. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Wild Pacific Spot Prawns" Charlotte C on 12/15/2016 5:32 AM Rating:
Review: tray came smashed and broken in many pieces had to throw the shrimp out - foam package was left in sun, at front door in 85 degree heat Fed Ex did not ring bell - label was ignored that said ring door bell for signature Fed Ex said this was not paid for by Vital choice - am disgusted that this happens almost every time I order - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the delivery and that the prawns were damaged. Our Customer Service Team will be in touch to discuss your orders. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"prawn" Esmond D on 12/8/2016 6:24 AM Rating:
Review: too small - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear you found the prawns to be too small. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss this product. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Spot Prawns not what I thought they would be" Patricia Y on 8/30/2016 4:00 PM Rating:
Review: The prawns were very tiny and I was unaware that they would be that small. The photo should be more accurate. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the size of the Prawns. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. One tip to get a good idea of the size of the Prawns is to review the number you will receive per pound. The higher the number the smaller the prawn. Our Large Prawn packages will contain 32 to 36 prawns per lb. Thank you - Vital Choice Team

"SMALL NOT LARGE" Janice S on 8/6/2016 12:03 PM Rating:
Review: these are not large , these are very small , they are sweet but way too small . only wish they were large as advertised. and some are mushy. i wont order these again. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the Spot Prawns. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you to discuss. Thank you, Vital Choice

"Awesome Prawns!" Lois on 6/28/2016 3:49 AM Rating:
Review: After eating these prawns, it is difficult to eat any other shrimp out there!

"excellent prawns" Donna L on 6/14/2016 6:08 AM Rating:
Review: Don't usually purchase prawns/shrimp because of poor experience with freshness/tenderness; however, these were excellent. Will purchase again.

"Sunday" - Debra on 5/24/2016 8:17 AM Rating:
Review: I have been ordering seafood from Vital Choice since 2011 -love them. I started ordering their shrimp in 2012 and it's amazing! Store bought shrimp has a thin shell. The shrimp Vital Choice sells has a very thick shell. I think the thick shell allows you to cook the shrimp easily throughout without overcooking (never rubbery). Shrimp tacos to elegant recipes. These shrimp work for everything, perfectly every time!

"Prawns" Ellen B on 5/2/2016 7:47 AM Rating:
Review: So small and not worth the money!! I will never order these again! I live in Fla and we get beautiful Gulf shrimp! I feel like a fool for ordering those. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you!

"Very good!" Norma on 12/22/2015 8:40 AM Rating:
Review: These prawns were fresh and tender. I would order them again.

"prawns" C. Chapman on 12/16/2015 5:43 AM Rating:
Review: difficult to separate from tray - dated too old - don't like eggs but taste is very good

"Delight!" Joan on 12/10/2015 10:43 AM Rating:
Review: These prawns are the best I have ever eaten. Very fresh, tender and delicious. Excellent experience all-around!

"prawns" Nancy Parsons Ulrich on 11/11/2015 10:18 AM Rating:
Review: these were supposed to be large prawns but they were very small. Some were extremely small. I feel I could not buy these again. Hello Nancy, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. Our Customer Service Team will be contacting you shortly to discuss your order.

"AWESOME" Betty Bryant on 1/23/2015 7:25 AM Rating:
Review: The best we have ever eaten. Fresh, firm and delicious. Does not leave a smell in kitchen when cooking. Easy to prepare, delicious and no lingering aftertaste. Excellent quality.

"superb" Brenda on 12/26/2014 6:42 PM Rating:
Review: These have fresh, top notch flavor! Some even have the roe!

"What a great taste" Diane thomas on 12/15/2014 12:12 PM Rating:
Review: Easy to prepare and very tasty. Will order again.

"Amazing" SLS on 12/19/2013 7:12 PM Rating:
Review: I think the is the best food I have ever put in my mouth! I boiled them frozen with some water and white wine and they were amazing. They were sweet and very tender and I am now spoiled forever. I have gotten them before in the "tub" but this was the free bonus and they came in a "tray" and it was much easier to handle them.

Return to product details >>