Product Reviews

King Salmon & Sablefish Duo 50/50 two-fish combo

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Amazing!" Jessica L on 11/1/2018 8:16 AM Rating:
Review: the best seafood we've ever had!

"Superb" Jo H. on 10/8/2018 5:41 PM Rating:
Review: This was a delicious combo. We often cook the king salmon - it's our favorite salmon but had never tried the sablefish so this was a great introduction for us. The Sablefish was fabulous and we will definitely purchase again. We cooked it stove top and added sauted spinach! Could not have been any better!

"Superb" Bill F on 5/10/2018 4:04 AM Rating:
Review: Fresh, clean tasting. Delivery on time in excellent packaging

"Awesome fisho" Jean M on 4/14/2018 5:38 AM Rating:
Review: I have never been disappointed. With the salmon I either bake or poach it. I don’t want to interfere with the wonderful flavor so the plainer the better Delivery is always timely and the packaging leaves nothing to chance

"Two-fish combo" Lenore F on 3/1/2018 6:46 AM Rating:
Review: This was about my 4th order from Vital Choice and decided to try the Salmon/Sable combo. Very happy I did as it provided nice variety. The Sablefish is very lightly smoked and it gives it wonderful flavor. Both taste incredibly clean and fresh. I would highly recommend this product and the company as a whole. They practice the kind of customer service we have experienced in the past. It, like their products, is refreshing!

"First time buyer" Don R on 2/24/2018 5:35 AM Rating:
Review: The fish was outstanding. I got this as a gift from my team. It was really very good. I will get more for sure!! Glad i know about you guys now!!!!

"love this product!" Lori M on 1/28/2018 9:15 PM Rating:
Review: Excellent quality! Best I have ever tasted. I will keep coming back for more.

"Sable Fish" John B on 1/27/2018 9:40 AM Rating:
Review: Buttery and delicious!

"jb13617" John B on 1/26/2018 8:57 AM Rating:
Review: Best Salmon ever experienced, as the recipe made it. We have yet to experience the Sable fish, saving that for special occasion.

"Excellent!" Carol W on 1/18/2018 5:49 PM Rating:
Review: This is a great combination! The piece size is just right for 1 serving. Defrosts quickly in the fridge overnight. Tastes wonderful. Just pan sear :)

"King Salmon & Sablefish Duo" Evelyn on 1/18/2018 6:40 AM Rating:
Review: It's wonderful

"Great quality" Larry on 12/28/2017 2:05 AM Rating:
Review: Always a favorite, arrives fresh, great dinner choice

"King and Sable Duo" Stephanie on 12/14/2017 5:45 AM Rating:
Review: I was so happy to see this combo offered. I am delighted and quite satisfied with my purchase. YUMMY says it all.

"King Salmon & Sablefish" Don in Colorado on 10/27/2017 7:40 AM Rating:
Review: Execellent quality, grilled using just some lemon and a light sprinkling of fresh black paper. Prefect taste and flavor. Product arrived on time and in perfect condition...no issues or problems with product or seller. A great place to do business we will be back

"Recent Order" Peter Egan on 8/11/2017 6:38 AM Rating:
Review: Delivered promptly in great shape. Of course the food is always the best!

"Sablefish" Susan Gehman on 7/15/2017 3:02 AM Rating:
Review: Buttery and delicious

"not great" Mimi O on 6/22/2017 5:06 PM Rating:
Review: I was really hopeful for my vital choice order. The high cost also made my expectations go up. Unfortunately, the salmon was really extra fishy & had the texture of sockeye, not king. I won't be ordering this product again, most likely none of your products. I've fished in Alaska & brought my own fish home frozen & it was much better than this. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the King Salmon from your order. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"FRESH" Amy W on 6/22/2017 5:50 AM Rating:
Review: The best, freshest tasting fish I have ever purchased. I will not buy anywhere else from now on.

"Absolutely my favorite!" Barbara K on 4/6/2017 5:02 PM Rating:
Review: Just the best tasting salmon ever! Can't wait to try the sablefish.

"Couple perfect" Robin on 3/10/2017 7:23 AM Rating:
Review: I love salmon and my husband likes a good white fish so this combo works great. Very fresh and tasty.

"Always Satisfied" Jill on 3/3/2017 9:06 AM Rating:
Review: The King Salmon & Sable Fish Combo Pack is the way to go!. I have always been satisfied with the taste and freshness Vital Choice provides.

"King Salmon & Sablefish Combo Pack" Stephen H on 3/2/2017 7:24 AM Rating:
Review: Dry ice was gone but the fish was still frozen. It might not hurt to put an additional piece in the make sure. We have had a very MILD winter

"Sablefish" Arly M on 2/23/2017 9:05 PM Rating:
Review: Good tasting fish but plenty of bones - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. The King Salmon is boneless, however the Sablefish does contain bones. We do our best to remove the majority of the bones but are not able to remove all without destroying the individual portions. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"King Salmon/Sable Fish Combo" Harry Kimes on 2/11/2017 10:45 AM Rating:
Review: My wife eats a lot of fish and no red meat and she loved it.

"Disappointed with the Sablefish" Cynthia Zuccaro on 2/10/2017 5:31 AM Rating:
Review: We our loyal customers & love the king salmon. We wanted to try the sablefish, so we ordered this combo. If you are new to sablefish, please know it is a very soft flesh fish - if you don't care for this texture don't order the sable fish. (flavor of sable fish was not to our liking either) thank you. Hello Cynthia, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice and placing a Product review. Our Customer Service Department would like to reach out to your shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Scrumptious" Diana on 2/3/2017 8:37 AM Rating:
Review: Ever since I discovered sablefish, I've become addicted to it's moist, buttery flavor and texture. I follow the directions in the Vital Choice pamphlet that was included with my first order, and have never had a dry or overcooked portion of either salmon or sablefish. I used to order from another pacific coast company, but have permanently switched to Vital Choice for quality, speed of delivery, and especially, free shipping availability.

"A gift order" Therese S on 2/3/2017 6:11 AM Rating:
Review: People, This was my first order with you and it was a gift order. It arrived a day late to the recipient, my sister. That was disappointing. And it was a gift, sent to someone else in another state, not me. I have no way of commenting on the quality of the fish. Sincerely. TSS Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the delivery of this order. We ship to Illinois using 2-3 day service. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding the delivery. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"combo Salmon/Sable pack" Darline R on 1/20/2017 9:50 PM Rating:
Review: oh how delicious!! Well packaged; clearly marked. cool packing better than [another] company I was dealing with.

"Is was ok" David Lackey on 1/19/2017 9:25 PM Rating:
Review: Fish as great as usual but not typical size. Seemed smaller

"Combo pack King salmon/sabelfish" Maryanne Hartigan on 12/11/2016 9:16 AM Rating:
Review: The very best

"A Flavorful Duo" Danella Schiffer on 11/3/2016 6:44 AM Rating:
Review: The sablefish black cod was delicious...flavorful, moist and rich tasting. The king salmon was fresh and flavorful but on the dry side. I usually expect king salmon to be rich in oil. Perhaps I over-cooked it.

"Best Salmon Ever!" Jeff on 9/23/2016 11:10 AM Rating:
Review: Got the King Salmon Sablefish Combo Pak - King Salmon was best salmon I have ever had. Preferred it over the SockEye - totally different texture moist flavor. Cant wait to try the Sablefish!

"simply the best" Linda on 9/23/2016 7:00 AM Rating:
Review: I am always impressed with the quality and consistency of my purchases from Vital Choice! I'm a big fan of the rich flavorful king salmon and buttery perfection of the sablefish. To purchase them together is simply the best... Honestly, you can't buy anything better!

"Delicious King salmon" Arly M on 9/22/2016 8:13 PM Rating:
Review: Fatty and tasty.Not fond of sablefish bec of the bones.

"Wonderful sablefish!" Tily C on 8/2/2016 10:53 PM Rating:
Review: I love the salmon and sable fish from Vital Choice. The fish is fresh and tasty and the quality is the best! I especially love the sable fish, because with salmon, you have to make sure not to overcook, but not so with sable fish. You can cook for a while but the fish will stay buttery and tender. Just the best dinner treat!

"Excellent" Barbara L on 7/4/2016 10:56 AM Rating:
Review: I loved the texture, freshness and taste of both items. I've never had Sablefish before and found it to be delicious. I used a gift certificate to purchase these so due to my budget may not be able to purchase them very often.

"Combo pack" Catherine K on 7/4/2016 10:11 AM Rating:
Review: We love the fish we get from you and the combo pack is perfect for variety.

"Thawed fish." Betty B on 6/30/2016 8:46 AM Rating:
Review: I was disappointed and concerned when my order arrived with one box of sablefish thawed. I called customer service and was told if it was still cool to the touch I could freeze again safely. I did freeze again and ate some of the fish without any issues. I believe the order could have been packed differently so the thawing would not have happened. I love your company and products are fantastic. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your order arrived with some portions thawed. Provided that these portions were still cold to the touch they can safely be placed in the freezer and consumed at a later time. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you! Vital Choice

"King salmon is the best" Lina P on 6/7/2016 5:46 AM Rating:
Review: My husband doesnt like salmon but he loves this kind!!

"Yummy!" Cathy M on 5/18/2016 6:32 AM Rating:
Review: Very tasty and meaty.

"my review!" Bholi T on 5/9/2016 3:18 AM Rating:
Review: the most delicious salmon and sablefish! thank you

"Great fish!" Gwen H on 4/26/2016 5:32 AM Rating:
Review: I love this seafood! It's so tasty and convenient. Most importantly I known it's safe and healthy!

"great quality" Sylvia L on 4/14/2016 12:47 AM Rating:
Review: Best fish i ever tasted. Love it. Will never buy fish anywhere else now that i tasted the best.

"Amazing quality" Laurie on 4/5/2016 6:24 AM Rating:
Review: Love your products. My favorite is your King Salmon! I will definitely purchase again! Thank you Vital Choice!

"Wild Pacific King Salmon & Sablefish Combo Pack" Margo Proimos on 3/29/2016 2:54 AM Rating:
Review: The Salmon and Sablefish was absolutely delish!! My BFF turned me onto your products, she has been ordering form you for abut 3 years and loves all of your products! I will be placing another order soon! Thank You!

"combo pack" kim on 2/16/2016 5:51 AM Rating:
Review: The fish can not be better, you can literally smell the ocean when you remove them from the packaging. My biggest complaint is the pieces should be more equal in size for cooking purposes. I weighed a couple and they were a bit underweight, too.

"review" melissa w on 11/21/2015 9:14 AM Rating:
Review: way overpriced and undersized

"The Best King Salmon & Sablefish On The Planet" Latricia Sanders on 11/12/2015 6:06 AM Rating:
Review: For months, I have been searching for a high quality seafood store. I've had my eye on Vital Choice for about 7 months and finally decided to give them a try. Boy oh Boy am I so happy I did!! My family and I had never tasted King Salmon or Sablefish that tasted this fresh, delicious and savory!! We will definitely place another order in 2 weeks. Vital Choice has been voted our new and ONLY seafood store!!!

"Outstanding" Steve Johnson on 4/30/2015 5:54 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent fish - highly recommend! So good that little seasoning is needed. Perfect for anyone trying to focus on healthy eating.

"King Salmon & Sablefish" Bennett Smith on 4/23/2015 6:14 AM Rating:
Review: The King Salmon is cut and portioned beautifully. It has taken really well to grill and been delicious. I have been trying to replicate Nobu's Black Miso Cod recipe with the sablefish; however, my only issue is that there is variance in the cut and size of the portion. I love Vital Choice for the quality and freshness, but do feel at these prices the portion should be fairly similar with limited variance in weight and portions.

"Great combo pack" Robin on 4/16/2015 3:59 AM Rating:
Review: Love the Atlantic Salmon and Sable Fish combo pack. Used one of Vital Choice's recipes for the salmon - sautéing tomato with onions and spices - just delicious!

"Dee-lish" Gregory Fort on 4/15/2015 2:04 PM Rating:
Review: I started my grilling season with these and they were a really big hit with the family. I'll be reordering very soon.

"Love the Sable fish" PMK on 4/15/2015 11:47 AM Rating:
Review: I tried this combo pack for the first time and I love the sablefish. It very fresh and tasty. However, I got to say I am not so impressed with the King Salmon. It is also very fresh but the taste is kind of bland. Can't say it's the best salmon I've ever had. Maybe I should try a different type of salmon...

"More to Love from VC!" JLA on 4/5/2015 9:16 AM Rating:
Review: The Sablefish is mild and melts like "buttah" in your mouth, while the King Salmon is rich in flavor and deliciously moist. The only dilemma is deciding which of the two to have for dinner that night. Wonder if the portion of Sablefish could be bigger? There is a mistake in the Combo Pack description, first (correctly) mentioning that the Sablefish comes in 4 oz portions, but further down when selecting the number of portions to order, it identifies 6 oz. portions of both the King Salmon and Sablefish. The Sablefish is only a 4 oz. portion, and with the skin removed before serving, doesn't leave enough of this delicacy to satisfy - more please!

"Wild King Salmon" Geraldine Hurst on 4/2/2015 8:30 AM Rating:
Review: Very moist...delicious

"Never Doubt the Quality" Cindy Cox on 3/27/2015 1:58 PM Rating:
Review: My two favorite fish! I can never decide whether to choose salmon or sablefish...with this combo I can prepare a 5 star meal at home. Love love love your seafood. The quality cannot be beat anywhere!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"King Salmon and Sablefish combo" Janet Schmid on 3/22/2015 7:43 AM Rating:
Review: Superb taste as always! Our order was still frozen even with a bit of delay due to snowy weather. Wish we could buy this more often but appreciate that we are getting best quality, best delivery, and mercury-free.

"Still Best Ever" Judy on 3/19/2015 5:39 AM Rating:
Review: We have been ordering from Vital Choice for a number of years. The salmon and sablefish is consistently great!

"Moist and delicious" Dalia on 3/11/2015 3:49 PM Rating:
Review: One of the best!

"Salmon/Sablefish combo" Pat Lipford on 12/27/2014 6:21 PM Rating:
Review: Everyone loves when I send them this combo. The sable is a special favorite. Your shipping is quick, ordering easy.

"Wild Slamon and Sablefish combo pack" Robin Glantz on 11/21/2014 5:15 AM Rating:
Review: My husband and I love this fish. And having it in the freezer makes dinner easier!

"Best Fish" Doris on 11/18/2014 7:54 AM Rating:
Review: I love this fish. The best ever.

"Wild Pacific King Salmon & Sablefish Combo Pack" Helen Nemir Hanson on 10/24/2014 8:50 AM Rating:
Review: Fast delivery, firm, thick and delicious!

"Reliably great" J warner on 4/10/2014 3:53 AM Rating:
Review: We continue to order these two fish and we are always pleased.

"Delicious!" Kathrin on 8/4/2013 4:09 PM Rating:
Review: The Sablefish is the most delicious fish I have ever eaten. I just fried it in olive oil, added some tomatoes on top, and voila I had a quick and very delicious dinner. Vital Choice provides only the best quality products and extremely great packaging and fast shipping. I am impressed!!

Return to product details >>