Product Reviews

Wild Pacific Halibut Cheeks 16 oz bags, skinless/boneless

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
4.5

"Terrific Cheeks" Cheeks on 11/8/2019 9:07 AM Rating:
Review: Great taste, so fresh upon receipt!!

"CHEEKS" RODNEY BLACKWELL on 10/6/2019 11:13 AM Rating:
Review: JUST REORDERED ... LIKE HALIBUT ... LOVE CHEEKS ... JUST ADDED A LITTLE SALT AND COOKED IN OVEN

"Not what I expected" Teresa Harmon on 4/19/2019 1:48 PM Rating:
Review: I was looking forward to preparing them. Cooked them simply, butter, garlic herb. Stringy, tough. Almost like they were old. I cooked them within the six week recommended freeze life. Lesson learned. Hello Teresa, Our Customer Service Team would like to reach out to you shortly to discuss your order. The Vital Choice Team

"Halibut Cheeks" Lisa H on 11/19/2018 12:14 PM Rating:
Review: Absolutely delicious! Very decadent and completely worth every penny! Will definitely order again.

"Slightly fishy" Christine R on 5/10/2018 2:55 AM Rating:
Review: I had high expectations, but sadly these had a fishy smell to them. I will stick to what I know is great-silver and sockeye, always excellent! - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Incredible!" Margot on 5/5/2018 11:02 AM Rating:
Review: These are so delicious and wonderfully easy to prepare. Very much scallop-esque but maybe juicier??? I will definitely be ordering again. Highly recommend!

"THE BEST!" Jill K on 5/4/2018 10:41 AM Rating:
Review: YOU ARE IN FOR A TREAT WITH THESE HALIBUT CHEEKS. SO TENDER AND SO FULL OF FLAVOR.SIMPLY THE BEST!

"Halibut Cheeks" Mary Lou G on 4/27/2018 6:53 AM Rating:
Review: I sent a bag of halibut cheeks and a box of salmon burgers to my daughter for her birthday. I am writing just to let you know that the halibut cheeks were thrown away as part of the packing material. Fortunately the mistake was discovered in time so nothing was lost. Maybe you could improve the packing so it will be more distinct from the packing material. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We will share your comment with our shipping team to review our current packing. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"ALWAYS GREAT" Deanna C on 4/26/2018 8:52 AM Rating:
Review: This one of my favorite items from Vital Choice. I do not buy fish anywhere except Vital Choice. I could never eat fish until I found this store. The freshest fish I have ever had and now I order it all of the time. Now I eat fish all of the time and love it. These are so tender and fresh. I get these usually at least 2x per year...

"Salmon cheeks" Estelle E. on 4/20/2018 10:29 AM Rating:
Review: They are always consistently delicious and the perfect size for me.

"Sweet cheeks!" Patricia on 4/20/2018 8:39 AM Rating:
Review: Great portion sizes but not as tender or as flavorful as expected. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you today regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Wonderful!!" Dee on 3/31/2018 10:38 AM Rating:
Review: Just made these last night and they were absolutely delicious. Used butter and a little Sunny Paris seasoning (Penzey's) with salt and pepper. Baked in 375 degree convection oven for 12 minutes. Perfection!

"Halibut cheeks" Lori T on 1/26/2018 6:25 AM Rating:
Review: I have always loved everything I've received but the last 2 Halibut cheek have arrived full of ice crystals and had freezer burn. Very disappointed. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"The halibut cheeks are so good and similar to scallops" Judy L on 1/13/2018 2:45 AM Rating:
Review: I bake the halibut cheeks in a garlic butter sauce similar to the way I prepare scallops. They have a similar texture to scallops but are larger. We all love them

"First order" Cheryl ku on 12/29/2017 12:38 PM Rating:
Review: My son and I love the halibut cheeks they were sweet fresh and there was no wastage

"Halibut Cheeks" Ingrid S on 12/22/2017 5:22 PM Rating:
Review: I have been ordering seafood from you for many years. Thought I would try the Halibut Cheeks for a change. I was anxious to prepare this delicacy, but to my surprise when I opened the package a very smelly odor escaped. Cooked it anyway and several pieces tasted fishy. This disappointed me because your seafood always tasted fresh. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Halibut cheeks" Valerie L on 12/9/2017 8:02 AM Rating:
Review: The bags were hard frozen when they arrived but when I defrosted for cooking the halibut cheeks were very water logged. This tells me that they must have defrosted and refroze at some point. The taste was good but you can't get good browning under such conditions. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. We do suggest patting the cheeks dry after they have thawed. This product is individually quick frozen in a water glaze. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Disappointed" Barbara S on 10/28/2017 5:29 AM Rating:
Review: Recent order seemed different, they have been stringy instead of flackey. Taste was also different, maybe a different catch but not seem like Halibut. Will not order for a while as I did not like the Cod either with a recent order. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"need more" marie b on 10/19/2017 3:14 PM Rating:
Review: I cooked them in lemon juice, butter, vermouth, salt and pepper. Less than 10 mins they were ready. Best fish ever. Flaky, sweet, amazing. such a treat. Will get them again for sure

"Tasty" Martin on 9/13/2017 12:22 PM Rating:
Review: These are very tasty I bought these along with some scallops to fill out an order.

"Chewy cheeks" Eilleen M Joy on 8/18/2017 4:32 AM Rating:
Review: I will probably not get these again - too chewy Thank you for sharing this feedback. A customer service agent will contact you today.

"halibut cheeks" Timothy A on 7/29/2017 10:36 AM Rating:
Review: Arrive frozen solid. Delicious.

"Simply Elegant" Deborah W on 7/1/2017 5:12 AM Rating:
Review: Halibut Cheeks are delicate and rich. A wonderful surprise. They are a favorite.

"Halibut Cheeks" dawn p on 6/5/2017 9:35 AM Rating:
Review: for some reason this product was not good. the texture was off and there was no flavor. first disappointing product . Thank you for sharing these comments. Our customer service will contact you today.

"Something Different" KBJ on 4/14/2017 4:52 PM Rating:
Review: I always wanted to try the Halibut Cheeks. Today I pan fried the cheeks in butter spray for 5 min. on one side and 3 min. on the other side. Just used spray on cheeks with Lemon Sea Salt rub. Along side the cheeks we had red potatoes and a veg. blend. Made for a very nice meal. The cheeks were firmer than I had thought and sweet.

"Super Cheeks" Patricia N on 2/24/2017 3:48 PM Rating:
Review: I cooked these cheeks in some garlic butter and OH, MY. Talk about yummy. These are as good as the halibut we had when we were in Alaska on vacation. Delivery was prompt and came in excellent condition.

"Sweet and Wonderful" Regina on 2/20/2017 12:57 PM Rating:
Review: These little cheeks have a nice slightly sweet scallopy taste that I enjoy

"Delicate and Decadant" Deborah on 2/10/2017 6:27 AM Rating:
Review: Halibut cheeks are a delicacy. I love serving them at dinner parties. The Vital Choice wild halibut cheeks are the best. So fresh, delicate and flavorful. Vital Choice is truly the best and freshest seafood you can purchase online.

"So Good!" Jill on 10/22/2016 1:04 AM Rating:
Review: These are amazing! Kind of sad to think your eating Halibut Cheeks...but you'll get over it pretty fast when you taste them. The meat is so tender and almost reminds me of lobster meat (sort of) Next time I will have some melted butter & garlic to dip these tasty cheeks in. Thanks for having them available.

"Halibut cheeks" Christine on 10/20/2016 6:56 AM Rating:
Review: They seemed tougher than the halibut 4 or 6 oz pieces. Maybe I overcooked them only had them on grill wrapped in parchment for about 6 minutes. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice and sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with the Halibut Cheeks and you found them to be tough. The Halibut Cheeks are a different texture than the 4 or 6 ounce portions more similar to a scallop in texture. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you, Vital Choice Team

"Halibut Cheeks" Bendetta H on 10/10/2016 9:20 AM Rating:
Review: This was my first order of the Halibut Cheeks Most delicious taste, wonderful delight.

"Delicious" Angie on 8/31/2016 7:03 AM Rating:
Review: I love these cheeks. They're super tender and work well with stir fry or on their own. They thaw quickly and the taste is smooth and sweet. If you like the halibut portions, then you'll love the cheeks. They're the best.

"Quick & delicious" Melissa Oskvig on 8/16/2016 8:01 AM Rating:
Review: These little gems pack a big punch in nutrition & flavor. They are quick to prepare, just lightly coat with bread crumbs &:pan fry, & taste so much better than fish sticks. My husband loves them.

"cheeks" ted&sandy on 8/8/2016 6:12 AM Rating:
Review: very sweet meat. great taste

"so mild and tasty" Jan on 7/6/2016 6:42 AM Rating:
Review: Not since we lived in Alaska have I had halibut cheeks and our order did not disappoint. So mild and full of flavor.

"Halibut Cheeks" M K Morgan on 6/20/2016 4:31 AM Rating:
Review: Great it is difficult to find cheeks on east coast. I love the soft buttery flavor.

"Succulent and tasty" V. Carole J on 6/8/2016 3:48 PM Rating:
Review: These halibut cheeks are fabulous. I always order them from Vital Choice whenever they are available. Love!

"Halibut Cheeks" Janine S on 5/28/2016 8:10 AM Rating:
Review: I really like this form of Halibut, however, my husband doesn't care for the texture. Heck, what does he know!?

"Halibut Cheeks" Vincent Orlando on 4/12/2016 7:16 AM Rating:
Review: Haven't used yet, but have experienced cheeks before. Thanks

"halibut cheeks" Kitty S on 3/22/2016 8:31 PM Rating:
Review: Fabulous entree and easy to prepare

"Very Disappointed" Jeff B on 1/26/2016 5:50 AM Rating:
Review: I was truly looking forward to receiving the Halibut Cheeks. From all that I read about them the anticipation was high. I am considered to be a fairly good cook and I made these simple as I wanted to enjoy the "cheeks" for what I thought they would be based on things I read. Sorry, but nobody enjoyed them near as much as the Halibut pieces and portions. Not even close to the texture and flavor. I cooked the Halibut pieces and portions the same way and the response was completely different (all positive) as compared to the negatives on the cheeks. I was sincerely disappointed. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment with the Halibut Cheeks. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you soon to discuss. Thank you!

"Halibut Cheeks" Susan S on 12/31/2015 8:58 AM Rating:
Review: These were less than favorable. A bit "fishy" especially for Halibut cheeks and very stringy. I have had and prepared several times in the past... was very disappointed. Had them shipped to where I was for holiday and less than favorable reviews from my guests. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear of your disappointment in the Halibut Cheeks. Our Customer Service team will be in touch soon to make amends. Thank you! Vital Choice

"Halibut cheeks" Patti on 12/18/2015 7:08 AM Rating:
Review: So good. This was my first time having these but it will not be the last.

"Great products" Ron on 11/25/2015 4:27 AM Rating:
Review: you can't beat the products. Having lived in Alaska for 24 years and catching my own, now having moved I can still get the quality of fish I enjoy.

"fun size!" Stephanie Payne on 10/29/2015 5:37 AM Rating:
Review: Wonderful, tasty, fun size portuions1 It is almost impossible for us to get a fish head to use the cheeks. A special delicious treat for us! Would like to see King salmon cheeks, too!

"Halibut Cheeks" Cathy on 10/22/2015 5:18 AM Rating:
Review: Have ordered this item a couple of times before - delicious and so easy to prepare

"Like Eating Butter" Harriet M on 10/2/2015 12:47 PM Rating:
Review: These are sweet, scrumptious Halibut bites are melt in your mouth delicious. I have never had better anywhere or at any price.

"So Good" Deanna C on 8/12/2015 7:19 AM Rating:
Review: These are so good I always wait till they are in and then stock up.....great service.

"Halibut" Mary Boyd on 1/21/2015 2:03 PM Rating:
Review: Excellent!! Very tasty and perfect piece size. The only negative feed back is that I only received 4 pieces in package; I thought you advertised 6-10.

"delicious" Vernita on 1/21/2015 3:19 AM Rating:
Review: This was the first time having this fish, I saw people having it in a movie, separate tables. they say it was delicious. I was frying some whiting , so I fry that too. Next time I'm going to broil it, see how that goes.

"Amazing Halibut cheeks" Nathalie de Vazeille on 12/31/2014 4:38 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious! Wonderful texture, great taste.

"Tasty and Economical" SAH on 12/17/2014 9:11 AM Rating:
Review: First time purchasing halibut cheeks, didn't know what they were....the pieces are just right for a quick dinner and purchasing 3lbs was very economical. Very pleased with the taste, delivery, and price!!!!

"Delicious" Arly Magallanes on 12/12/2014 10:14 PM Rating:
Review: I will continue to order this item.Very tasty.

"Always in my freezer" Susan Thomas on 12/11/2014 5:37 AM Rating:
Review: I never want to be without halibut cheeks. They are conveniently packaged.

"Tootsie" Louise Saunders on 11/12/2014 5:46 AM Rating:
Review: Love these. Can fix dinner quick. Tasty, sweet and can make many different dishes.

"MaryAnn M" MaryAnn Mattaliano on 10/30/2014 11:38 AM Rating:
Review: Never had these before and was really surprised how delicious they were ...just wasn't crazy about the different sizes/portion...

"Really, really good!" Lacy Loar on 10/24/2014 6:54 AM Rating:
Review: I use these for a quick and elegant meal...last night sauteed in white wine with a dollop of cream fraiche with baby Yukon gold potatoes and fresh asparagus. Makes weekday dinner special with little effort. I love these halibut cheeks!

"HALIBUT CHEEKS" DAVID on 10/8/2014 4:53 PM Rating:
Review: Sweet and tasty. So many ways to make. Love these !!!!

"Outstanding.!!!" Kate on 10/8/2014 5:31 AM Rating:
Review: I served this Halibut with a citrus sauce, and from the first bite everyone said Wow.!! So tender, so wonderful.!!!Amazing.!!

"Great cheeks" joe peshie on 4/7/2014 10:44 AM Rating:
Review: The best cheeks ever!!

"great fish" Reesa Tatro on 2/7/2014 5:23 PM Rating:
Review: Excellent quality and well worth the price. I am far from a coast, so good fish is hard to find.

"Absolutely delicious!" Janice on 9/21/2012 3:00 PM Rating:
Review: This halibut was, by far, the most tender and best-tasting I have ever had the privilege of eating! It is truly mouth-watering.

Return to product details >>