Product Reviews

Wild Atlantic Sea Scallops 1 lb, individually quick-frozen, 10-20 ct

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Incredible" Kelly on 5/27/2019 5:28 AM Rating:
Review: I live in Florida so getting fresh seafood is not a problem. But these scallops are incredible. Far better than anything I can get here. Tender, fresh, clean, no fishy smell. The flavor is delicate and works well with a cream dill sauce. Again....incredible.

"Consistently excellent" Jbmissouri on 4/14/2019 4:10 PM Rating:
Review: We've been ordering these for several years and have yet to be disappointed. We do a quick pan sear and usually serve with a seafood based pasta. The best!

"Great Scallops" Linda S on 4/14/2019 3:33 PM Rating:
Review: Excellent flavor - I just seared them on both sides in my Brava oven and they were perfect

"Disappointed" Carie on 3/31/2019 6:36 PM Rating:
Review: For the price, I was expecting something special, but they were not. Too much sand for me. I won't order again. Hello Carie, Our Customer Service Department would like to reach out to you shortly to discuss your order. The Vital Choice Team

"Delicious flavor, but..." Elizabeth Q on 3/20/2019 9:53 AM Rating:
Review: We absolutely love scallops and thought we'd add a pound to our order of salmon. I felt there was a good amount and no broken pieces as others have reported, but there was so much grit in every single scallop. Not sure how that happened, but we were disappointed. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today. Thank you!

"Excellent Scallops" Alison B on 9/17/2018 2:43 PM Rating:
Review: Although I grew up close to the Atlantic ocean, I now live far inland and it is hard to get good seafood. I ordered these scallops and found them to be as sweet and tender as the ones I had fresh from the sea. They were free from sand, and browned beautifully when seared. Not watery like some frozen scallops. I also want to mention that my shipment took 3 days to arrive, and I was worried that the summer heat would thaw everything in the box, but I needn't have worried. To my delight, everything I had ordered was still frozen hard. Thanks Vital Choice.

"Scallops" Thor on 8/23/2018 6:44 PM Rating:
Review: Amazing! It’s costly but tastes great! They do seem fresh and knowing it’s freshly caught in the wild is refreshing. Thanks!

"So delicious!!" Carol V on 6/22/2018 9:42 PM Rating:
Review: This was my first attempt preparing fresh scallops. I was almost afraid to purchase them, for fear I'd either over or under cook them. I followed the directions of 3-4 min. over medium heat, each side, and they finished beautifully! Outstanding flavor. I just placed my 2nd order. Thank you!!

"Delicious, fresh and sweet" Mihaela O on 6/13/2018 11:26 AM Rating:
Review: These scallops had flavor and texture similar to the fresh ones you would eat in a coastal area. Great quality product!

"wild sea scallops" Denise L on 6/9/2018 6:46 PM Rating:
Review: I will not use any scallops other than from Vital Choice .They are so fresh that you could eat them raw! The scallops are large and tender. I only saute them for a few minutes in a little olive/garlic oil.

"Atlantic Sea Scallops" Linda H on 5/10/2018 7:16 AM Rating:
Review: fabulous and fresh, absolutely delicious

"Sea Scallops" Ethel on 5/4/2018 4:31 PM Rating:
Review: Been a long time since I've had such a delicious meal. Housebound and not able to shop or eat out the one thing I have missed is a good scallop and these met all my expectations. Well worth it.

"OH MY WHAT A TREAT!" Jill K on 5/4/2018 10:46 AM Rating:
Review: THESE SCALLOPS ARE TRULY THE BEST I HAVE EVER HAD...HANDS DOWN! BETTER THEN A SEA FOOD RESTAURANT AND WHAT IS EVEN BETTER IS THIS...YOU KNOW WHERE YOUR SCALLOPS ARE COMING FROM..A COLD WATER ATLANTIC OCEAN!

"Sea Scallops" Francine F on 4/20/2018 6:36 AM Rating:
Review: These scallops cooked up so well -- especially on my Himalayan salt block. They were better than some that I ordered in a high-class restaurant.

"Best scallops ever" Kathy S on 4/12/2018 6:34 AM Rating:
Review: As soon as I opened the bag of defrosted scallops a fresh sweet smell came forth! We vacation in Cape Cod each year and love eating the fresh scallops, these were just as good or even better.

"Delicious" Keith on 4/6/2018 3:07 AM Rating:
Review: Large and delicious. Met every expectation.

"Atlantic Sea Scallops" Denise Lalor on 4/5/2018 6:19 PM Rating:
Review: I love scallops and these are the best! Hate to admit it, but eat the whole lb. by myself. I try to share a few with my husband. These scallops saute very quickly in olive oil and lemon.

"Best Scallops" Jan F on 3/31/2018 12:17 PM Rating:
Review: These are the sweetest scallops I’ve ever had. I keep a bag around for quick meals. Makes me look like a gourmet cook.

"Wonderful" JBrecher on 3/22/2018 6:38 AM Rating:
Review: Tender delicate and delicious!

"Great!" debra on 2/27/2018 4:57 PM Rating:
Review: absolutely the best scallops i have ever purchased. such a great flavor, texture and very clean. will be a customer for life.

"Excellent quality" Judy L on 2/24/2018 1:41 PM Rating:
Review: I've ordered these a few times and they are always excellent. My only complaint is that you changed the packaging of the Alaskan scallops. Those are even more delicious. Wish you would go back to quick freezing those as well.

"Excellent" Gloria S on 2/17/2018 1:51 PM Rating:
Review: Very delicious just as expected

"YUM!" Catherine on 2/15/2018 5:09 PM Rating:
Review: YUM!

"SCALLOPS" CHARLOTTE C on 2/1/2018 5:42 AM Rating:
Review: SUCCULENT SCALLOPS - THE BEST EVER FOR WONDERFUL PASTA GARLIC AND OIL COMBINATION And Hannah is the greatest rep of your company!!

"Scallops" Susan Hoag on 12/28/2017 4:44 AM Rating:
Review: They are delicious and will order again and again!!

"Wild Atlantic Sea Scallops" Barbara George on 12/15/2017 2:28 AM Rating:
Review: These scallops are so delicious and easy to prepare. A frequent repeat “must reorder” at our house. Thank you Vital Seafood for the quality you provide.

"Perfect" Pamela Underwood on 12/14/2017 2:45 PM Rating:
Review: Good size, delicious

"Great taste , but needs more thorough cleaning" Mary on 10/26/2017 2:44 PM Rating:
Review: Great tasting sweet scallops, but these are expensive and I feel they should be cleaned better, I always have to take the side muscle off the scallop before cooking them. They are usually still attached and should not be eaten.also, the description says 10 to 20 ct per bag. I usually only get around 12 and some of them are very small. They are not consistent in size either. Some are very small and others are giant. They don't cook evenly being different sizes. I would order these much more frequently if they were all the same size. The taste is just succulent and sweet though, that's why I gave 4 stars - Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our scallops are a wild product and unfortunately, that does mean there will be variation in the size. We will share your feedback with our team regarding the side muscle not being removed. We appreciate your feedback. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"👍👍. Two thumbs up! 👍👍" Robin Diane on 10/21/2017 3:07 PM Rating:
Review: Delicious! Fresh and tasty with a bit of sweetness. Surpasses what you would get in most restaurants 👍👍 Excellent Customer Service too.

"Very sweet" Joy B on 10/13/2017 5:03 AM Rating:
Review: Very sweet and tasty scallops. Slightly different sizes as you would imagine but plenty big enough for 3-4 to be a nice portion. I only rated it a 4 because we did find some "sand" in a couple of them.....

"sea scallops" William G on 10/6/2017 3:15 AM Rating:
Review: the best

"atlantic scallops" maureen oundjian on 10/5/2017 9:38 AM Rating:
Review: So good... almost makes me think I'm somewhere back home!

"So good" Aviatrix on 9/30/2017 2:03 PM Rating:
Review: I quick thawed half a package of scallops and sautéed them in 1 tablespoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of olive oil on high heat. 2 minutes (don't touch them) on one side, then flip them and saute for 2 minutes on the other. So sweet.... such high quality! No sand or toughness. I will be ordering more!

"Scallops" Charlotte C on 9/28/2017 6:07 AM Rating:
Review: Although the scallops are always delicious

"Basically" Kristie G on 9/28/2017 5:05 AM Rating:
Review: Their terrible packing method caused me to miss/waste the shrimp/scallops in my order. The warnings about the dry ice made me scared to touch anything- I assumed what was underneath the top box was just more dry ice- and never dug past it. So, I took the box and put in the freezer, when I went out today to use it- lo and behold, just fish. I went to the trash to look in the box and saw buried under the dry ice was ANOTHER box with the now stinky and old shrimp and scallops. I don't understand why the order was packaged in two different unmarked boxes when they could have fit in just one. Not only was it wasteful I lost over $70 worth of food - so angry! - Thank you for sharing your feedback. Our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you today to discuss your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"I Luv Scallops!" Kim G on 9/8/2017 7:19 PM Rating:
Review: I was very happy to receive these individually frozen scallops. The last time I ordered them, for some reason they were frozen in a block! I discovered my spiralizer, made zucchini noodles, coated them with a pesto sauce, and dumped sautéed scallops (with a little lemon, pepper and sea salt) on top! Yum! About 6 of these will do it!

"Scallops so tender" Stephanie P on 9/6/2017 7:12 PM Rating:
Review: I browned the scallops in butter & coconut oil, with garlic & white wine. Then made light sauce with Parmesan cheese & cream. Served with mixed green salad, wild rice & cauliflower. If you could taste them... it would say it all!

"Very tender and tasty" Emma-Louise B on 9/1/2017 5:56 AM Rating:
Review: I baked them in the oven; they were very tender and tasty!

"Yummy" Cindy Lou Duvall on 8/11/2017 7:01 AM Rating:
Review: Loved them!

"yummy" Marti on 8/11/2017 5:26 AM Rating:
Review: delicious, tender, can be prepared in a variety of ways.

"Sweet and fresh" Sal & Jo Ann on 8/5/2017 3:31 PM Rating:
Review: Sweet and so fresh you can taste the sea. Prepared scallops with your spot prawns like a scampi over angel hair pasta. Delicious.

"Atlantic scallops" Clair on 7/22/2017 10:02 PM Rating:
Review: Always very good and I would never buy them from any other outlet

"Rasberried" Catherine on 7/20/2017 6:49 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious

"Delicious!" Ruth Ann D. on 7/4/2017 9:00 AM Rating:
Review: Had these for dinner last night - very tender and great flavor. I like that fact that I can take out as many as I want from the bag since they are not all stuck or frozen together. Will be buying these again and having more often.

"First serving was good though gritty." A on 6/30/2017 9:07 PM Rating:
Review: I have eaten one meal incorporating several of these scallops. They were fresh and delicious though did have grit which definitely compromises my enjoyment of scallops.

"best scallops ever" Shubha on 6/30/2017 6:32 AM Rating:
Review: Very fresh, buttery soft and tasty. Felt like i fished them myself. They were packed very nicely and you can only take out as many as you want. and reseal the left over for next time. Simply delicious

"scallops" Patricia F on 6/16/2017 9:11 AM Rating:
Review: Delicate and tender in taste; cooking them properly is the secret. Always buy my fish products from Vital Choice....have been a customer since 2007. Never disappointed.

"Sea scallops" Margaret on 6/16/2017 6:00 AM Rating:
Review: Absolutely delicious

"Absolutely Delicious" Camille O on 6/12/2017 7:33 AM Rating:
Review: These are by far the best scallops I have ever had. They were large, tender and and delicious . I will definitely be ordering more in the future.

"Delicious" Sheryl Fisher on 6/5/2017 11:47 AM Rating:
Review: These scallops are big and very good. I'm definitely going to keep purchasing these

"yummy, tender scallops" Marti on 6/2/2017 11:54 AM Rating:
Review: these are very tasty & tender - have ordered several times & will in future

"Atlantic Sea Scallops" Danita F on 5/7/2017 7:32 PM Rating:
Review: We were very pleased with the scallops. Tender and flavorful!

"AWESOME" Lyn S on 5/5/2017 5:39 PM Rating:
Review: These scallops were absolutely divine, the price was absolutely great as was the delivery of everything I ordered...my food was frozen and FRESH. Glad VitalChoice found me!

"Scallops" Clair on 5/4/2017 9:30 AM Rating:
Review: I never knew scallops tasted so good until I ordered yours. I am so spoiled by the seafood I purchase from Vital Choice that I will never buy it from local outlets. It is all so fresh, pure, and great tasting. Also like that I can buy in 4oz sizes.

"sea scallops" Rich F on 5/4/2017 4:48 AM Rating:
Review: WOW- wrapped in bacon and bbq after spraying with teriyaki sauce- they were devoured

"Atlantic Sea Scallops" Kay P on 4/28/2017 3:18 AM Rating:
Review: I'm giving it 5 although I haven't tried them yet but they arrived packaged so securely and hard frozen (and beautiful) that I know they must be delicious.

"A Pleasure..." Diane T on 4/23/2017 12:47 PM Rating:
Review: This is my second purchase of scallops this season and I've become comfortable with the convenience of having them in my freezer. I just grab a few each time I want some and just close the bag. They are fresh and cook well.

"I really love sea scallops" Regina on 4/20/2017 3:06 PM Rating:
Review: These scallops are tender and sweet and a quick cooks.

"Scallops" Charlotte on 4/20/2017 5:58 AM Rating:
Review: good but very expensive

"Sea Scallops Were Huge" Jeffrey M on 4/15/2017 11:20 AM Rating:
Review: Never seen scallops so fresh and big. Never though they could get that big. Wow. But they cooked nicely and tasted wonderful.

"Very good" Drew on 4/14/2017 4:14 AM Rating:
Review: These had a very clean taste. I would buy them again.

"NOT AS GOOD AS PACIFIC SCALLOPS" ELAINE S on 4/13/2017 11:35 AM Rating:
Review: I like the fact that these are individually frozen, but they are not anywhere near as good as the ones I have had in the past, which I think must have been the Pacific scallops. I don't think I would re-order these. Thank you for giving us this feedback. Our customer service team will reach out to you today.

"Best Scallops/Best Cust. Service" Jeanie on 4/8/2017 1:52 PM Rating:
Review: My first order had a lot of broken pieces and I was disappointed. Customer service took care of it and sent new ones out that were perfect. I cannot say enough about all my experiences with Vital Choice. Every time I've been more than pleased, or they make it right. These scallops were delicious.

"Delicious" Bem on 4/6/2017 1:12 PM Rating:
Review: These are the best and most tender scallops we have ever had.

"Perfect in everyway" Leiisa B on 3/25/2017 8:25 PM Rating:
Review: Exceptional flavor. Huge! Will buy again.

"simply delicious" Shubha on 3/25/2017 11:01 AM Rating:
Review: Scallops were so soft,fresh, and buttery, they melted in my mouth. I have never had such nice quality scallops anywhere. It was as thought I was at the sea shore!!

"Scallops" Denise L on 3/24/2017 12:21 PM Rating:
Review: The scallops are absolutely delicious. They are very large and probably the best we have had.

"great" Vicki W on 3/10/2017 3:08 AM Rating:
Review: delicious

"Disappointed - broken pieces" Jeanie on 3/9/2017 6:05 AM Rating:
Review: I'm very disappointed this time. Most of the scallops were not whole, but broken pieces and very small pieces at that. Very difficult to cook as nothing was uniform in size. I don't know if I'll buy this product again, even though I bought once before and they were ok. Thank you for sharing your feedback. One of our customer service agents will be in touch with you today.

"DELICIOUS!" Daniel W on 3/2/2017 4:41 AM Rating:
Review: OK, so they may be more expensive than the frozen fare at your local grocery store, but these scallops are AMAZING! They are very tender, clean, and very easy to prepare (a little salt and pepper and sauté in butter). We definitely will be buying again!

"Excellent!" Diane T on 2/24/2017 9:47 AM Rating:
Review: I only needed three of these gigantic scallops to complete a spaghetti meal I prepared for myself. They cook well and taste great.

"Very Fresh Scallops!" Lisa H on 2/20/2017 7:01 AM Rating:
Review: These scallops are so fresh! We absolutely love them and would recommend them in a heart beat!

"Scallops" Virginia B on 2/18/2017 6:57 PM Rating:
Review: Have prepared them yet but trust it will be of the same quality as the salmon and halibut we have ordered many times in the past.

"Such a treat!" Linda Roy on 2/3/2017 6:02 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious scallops that we know are healthy because they are from Vital Choice.

"Not that great" Lynn on 1/27/2017 4:58 AM Rating:
Review: Scallops were big and looked good but were pretty bland. Hello Lynn, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice and sharing your review today.Our Customer Service Team would like to reach out to you shortly to discuss your order. The Vital Choice Team

"Mostly good" Jean Walbridge on 1/26/2017 7:37 AM Rating:
Review: The scallops were huge and mostly sweet. However, in one or two of them I detected a pretty strong iodine taste???? Not sure why that was in there. Wonderful to cook with fish that you didn't have to worry about getting sick from if not cooked all there way through...assured me they were of sushi quality.

"atlantic sea scallops" Donita J on 1/20/2017 9:30 AM Rating:
Review: These are beyond best---super best

"Supper Scallops" Roger M on 1/19/2017 6:25 AM Rating:
Review: These were some of the very best scallops I've enjoyed anywhere.

"Atlantic Sea Scallops" Joy Johnson on 1/17/2017 9:59 AM Rating:
Review: Defrosted and then saluted the scallops in olive oil and butter mix. They were fantastic! Easy to cook and delicious.

"Atlantic Sea Scallops" Virginia on 1/16/2017 4:47 AM Rating:
Review: Big and sweet. We will have fun trying new recipes with these.

"Atlantic Sea Scallops: 1lb. Bags" Janice Leone on 1/14/2017 3:02 PM Rating:
Review: Perfect and delicious!

"Sweet, tender and absolutely delicious." Joan on 12/29/2016 1:03 PM Rating:
Review: Very happy with the quality and taste of the Atlantic Sea Scallops. Although it was our first experience purchasing them, we were not disappointed. Our all time favorite, Weathervane Scallops were not available, however, the Alantic Scallops were sweet and delicious! We will be purchasing them again! Thank you for all the great seafood! It made our Holiday extra special!

"Breezer" Judith C on 12/23/2016 10:21 AM Rating:
Review: wonderful scallops better than what I get locally

"scallops" Mary W on 12/16/2016 11:04 AM Rating:
Review: fresh easy great flavor

"Scallop Good But With Minor Isses" Ed on 12/10/2016 3:15 AM Rating:
Review: Always tasty and good flavor. Only issue always get some in a bag that has freezer burn.... bummer. Hello Ed, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. We are very sorry to hear your disappointment in the Scallops. Our Customer Service Team will reach to you shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Great!" Toshiko S on 12/9/2016 8:43 AM Rating:
Review: I wanted Alaskan scallops but they were out of stock. We ordered this instead. It turned out these are just as tasty and fresh. We seared them and served with greens. Great light meal.

"Three days may be too long" Toshiko Stone on 11/24/2016 2:59 PM Rating:
Review: The scallops were partially thawed but they were cold so I cooked after a few days. The only problem with partial thawed fish is that they form a coat of ice after freezing. The taste was fine. Perhaps I should only order what I use on the day of arrival. Ikura was fine. 3 day shipping may not work well for every item.

"sea scallops" Kim C on 10/6/2016 7:16 AM Rating:
Review: wonderful so tender and sweet.

"Outstanding" Mary B on 9/8/2016 1:01 PM Rating:
Review: Juicy & tender. No fishy taste. Excellent! Way better than what I have been purchasing at my local meat market.

"Atlantic Sea Scallops" Vivian M on 9/4/2016 5:19 PM Rating:
Review: Great seafood! The service was even better. Will recommend Vital Choice to my family and friends.

"Wonderful!" Heather Lawrence on 8/16/2016 1:26 PM Rating:
Review: Will be buying again and again!

"scallops" Kitty Shildt on 6/21/2016 12:34 PM Rating:
Review: Best ever. We have ordered this item several times and it is always superb.

"Wonderful - Wild Atlantic Sea Scallops" Debra on 5/24/2016 8:32 AM Rating:
Review: I have been buying scallops from Vital Choice for years and they are wonderfully sweet and they don't shrink (if they do you won't notice). I started buying from Vital Choice out of frustration, I got tired of getting home from the grocery store, opening the plastic bag of what I asked was that days fresh seafood... and then thrown back by the smell. All of Vital Choice's seafood items are wonderful. I have ordered seafood in the Spring, Late Sumer, and Fall for years and I always receive the correct items, with my seafood order still completely frozen. I have never experienced an issue.

"Best Ever!!!!" Cathy F on 12/25/2015 10:59 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious and a wonderful treat!!!

"Appreciated change in packaging" Gilda Brodsky on 12/17/2015 10:13 AM Rating:
Review: I haven't had a chance to cook the scallops yet but I did want to say that I had tried them before - they were the best ever - but I was hesitant to get them again because they came frozen in one lump in a plastic container - and as a single person it was difficult to just use half of them at one time. I was concerned with defrosting. However I took the chance to order again and was delighted that they came separate and apart in a plastic baggie. I could use whatever amount without worrying about how to defrost. Good change. Thank you.

"scallops" C. Chapman on 12/16/2015 5:45 AM Rating:
Review: very expensive

"Scrumptious!!!!!!" Beverly B on 11/12/2015 5:15 PM Rating:
Review: Scrumptious, need I say more? I LOVE these! Literally, I have to ration these so I can make them last because they are so yummy I want to eat the entire bag in one sitting!!!!!

"Wild Atlanticc Sea Scallops" Carolyn N Kemper on 10/28/2015 7:20 AM Rating:
Review: This is one splurge for myself I thoroughly enjoy. Very tasty, large fresh scallops. Much better than those at grocery.

"Wild Atlantic Sea Scallops" Heloisa on 10/15/2015 4:02 AM Rating:
Review: Just as I was told: delicious and very sweet

"Just delicious" Leah on 10/4/2015 7:50 PM Rating:
Review: These sea scallops were sweet and not chewy at all. My favorite scallops by far!

Return to product details >>