Product Reviews

Wild Alaskan Sea Scallops 1.25 lb compressed block, 13-25 ct

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
4

"Great scallops" Bud on 3/17/2019 7:48 AM Rating:
Review: Over the years we tried many types, but these tasted the very best. The big difference is "dry" as opposed to "wet", soaked in a solution. I do have to agree that for 2, the packaging gave us too many left over which seems wasteful given the price.

"Sweet and Delicious!!!" KF on 2/20/2019 8:42 AM Rating:
Review: Hands down the BEST scallops ever! They are so sweet and delicious, and the texture is perfect. I eat them sashimi-style (I'm originally from Japan) because I don't want to ruin them by cooking - they are that good! :)

"Scallops" Debra Faulkner on 1/1/2019 5:05 PM Rating:
Review: These scallops were hands down the best I’ve ever tasted. My husband loves scallops and I am normally on the fence..I was a bit worried about having 1 1/4 lbs to cook and it being way too much. I cooked the smaller ones first seared with just a little salt and pepper..we ate those as an appetizer. I cooked the remaining med to large ones to serve with my lemon orzo recipe and we polished them off. I seriously could have eaten them all night. So good!

"Good sized scallops and delicious" Judy Leach on 6/30/2018 10:46 PM Rating:
Review: I have been buying scallops from Vital Choice for quite a while that have been packaged in a sealed zip lock bag so that the bag could be resealed it not used at one time. Since we buy all of our seafood in large bulk quantities, I have had to repackage the scallops to vacuum pack them to prevent freezer burn. With the compressed block scallops, I don't have to repackage them as they are already vacuum packed. These scallops, to me, are the same as the ones I had buying. They are wonderful when baked with a garlic butter sauce and topped with seasoned bread crumbs.

"So good" Summer W on 6/3/2018 3:32 AM Rating:
Review: Very flavorful on their own. Didn’t need to jazz them up with a bunch of sauce. A great addition to my summer menu rotation!

"Best ever!" Mary Ann B on 6/1/2018 7:13 AM Rating:
Review: These were by far the sweetest and best tasting sea scallops I have ever had. I used to live on the east coast and enjoyed the Stonington scallops, but these are even better. The smaller size was a positive as well!

"scallops" Linda Hall on 5/24/2018 9:43 AM Rating:
Review: as usual the scallops are fabulous --by mistake I ordered the Alaskan scallops in a block rather than individually frozen Atlantic scallops... we cooked half one night and the other half the next night... turned out fine...

"scallops" Linda Hall on 5/20/2018 4:25 PM Rating:
Review: do not like the compressed scallops. doesn't work for 2 people. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"compressed" Sandra Sowers on 5/5/2018 6:29 AM Rating:
Review: Do not like the compressed form which makes it impossible to use just a portion at a time. Will not reorder. Hello Sandra, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. Our Customer Service Team will be contacting you shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Customer Service Team

"Love them" Sheryl Fisher on 4/22/2018 11:41 AM Rating:
Review: Best tasting scallops.

"review" Christine Birdsall on 3/23/2018 3:49 AM Rating:
Review: haven't tasted them yet.. look great!

"Alaskan scallops are enormous" Gloria S on 2/17/2018 2:03 PM Rating:
Review: The size of these were a big surprise and the flavor was wonderful.

"Sea Scallops" m bryant on 2/12/2018 8:22 AM Rating:
Review: Best scallops I have ever eaten!

"Scallop Block" Susan H on 12/6/2017 2:34 PM Rating:
Review: The new "block" form of delivering the scallops isn't as good as the way they used to arrive - individually frozen and one could take out as many as desired from the package. I am accustomed to being able to do a quick defrost in cool water and I took the same approach with these but it's not working out. I am encountering scallops that have defrosted but trying to separate them from those still frozen is resulting in pieces of scallop shredding from the block. I am not sure why Vital Choice changed their packing method but it isn't better for the consumer. Overall, I still remain very impressed with Vital Choice and their mission. Thanks for listening. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. The Atlantic Scallops are individually quick frozen and may be more to your liking. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Very Tasty But Too Small" Eric on 12/4/2017 2:40 PM Rating:
Review: These scallops were clearly very fresh and tasty, but they were smaller than advertised. Our package had more than 30 scallops in it (we have a picture but I don't see a way to attach it), so the scallops were much smaller than I expected. - Thank you for sharing your feedback Eric. Our Customer Service Team will be in touch with you regarding your shipment. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Delicious!!" Dianna on 10/2/2017 8:29 PM Rating:
Review: Wonderfully mild flavor and excellent texture. These scallops were delicious and I will definitely purchase again.

"Scallops" Cindy on 9/7/2017 5:47 AM Rating:
Review: Great tasting

"RARE ALASKAN SCALLOPS ARE DELICIOUS" RM L on 8/10/2017 10:02 AM Rating:
Review: These may be the best scallops I've ever had, but at these prices, they better be. Specifically ordered the Alaskan, because not usually available to me in the Arizona desert. Solid 1.25 lb block is not the easiest to derfrost, but the proof is in the eating, and that is sublime. Also, (frozen) delivery was quick, efficient and successful-

"Best Scallops Ever" Mary C on 7/14/2017 4:38 PM Rating:
Review: I am a scallop fanatic. Vital Choice scallops are the most awesome scallops I have ever had the pleasure to taste. They are absolutely awesome-so sweet, plump and juicy.

"Tula" Ann-Marie C on 5/11/2017 5:57 AM Rating:
Review: The best ever! Every single item has been scrumptious! So fresh! 10!

"Scallops" Barbara W on 4/16/2017 5:34 AM Rating:
Review: Not used as of 4/16 Our customer service agent will reach out to you today on this.

"Wild Alaskan Sea Scallops" Carol Dietz on 3/17/2017 6:53 AM Rating:
Review: I love scallops and these look great, but I won't order them again because they are not individually frozen, as you can get at Whole Foods. This is very inconvenient, and to have to partially thaw them and refreeze them I don't believe is safe.

"Weathervane Scallops" Virginia B on 2/4/2017 3:00 PM Rating:
Review: This is the first time I ordered the Weathervane Sea Scaiiops and they are delicious! I would order them in the future.

"Ms." Betty W on 2/3/2017 10:34 AM Rating:
Review: Product excellent. My worst rating refers to the new packing which is awful. It is hard to break apart, not worth the effort, and I will not reorder. All else re. the products I order and the company itself excellent! - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the packaging of our new Alaskan Scallops. You may prefer the Atlantic or Patagonia scallops that are individually quick frozen. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you today. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Alaskan sea scallops" Cynthia Cremeans on 2/3/2017 9:03 AM Rating:
Review: Disappointed that scallops are frozen together in large package. Not feasible for one person Hello Cynthia, Thank you for your Product Review today. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the Alaskan Scallops. Our Customer Service Team would like to reach out to your shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Wild Alaskan Sea Scallops "Weathervane"" Janice E on 1/20/2017 3:50 PM Rating:
Review: My husband and I enjoyed these succulent scallops so much. They were tender and sweet and easy to eat. One time I put flour on them before sauteing another time just put saute'd without the flour and they were just as good. Add a little chicken broth and/or bone broth if you don't use any flour. Tasty either way!

Return to product details >>