Product Reviews

Sablefish Nova Lox 4 oz pkgs, sliced, vacuum sealed

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"variable quality" EM on 8/6/2018 12:24 PM Rating:
Review: I really enjoyed the first package of this I tried, so I ordered the duo pack. Unlike that first package which was firm and silky, the one I tried out of the duo was waterlogged and mushy in taste and texture. Pretty gross. Hopefully my remaining two packages will be more like the first. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"The Best" R.Apple on 2/24/2018 9:56 AM Rating:
Review: As always, the very best

"Great taste and quality!" Liz on 2/3/2018 12:00 PM Rating:
Review: Used to eat this on holidays back in Chicago. It’s great to be able to source it again. Excellent quality and service,

"okay" Kathleen C on 12/14/2017 10:10 AM Rating:
Review: It was my first time trying this. I did not care for it and won' get it again. I'm sure it would be great for someone that likes lox. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Sablefish Lox. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you today. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Sable Lox" Stephanie on 12/14/2017 5:54 AM Rating:
Review: Move over salmon lox! These sable lox are incredible! So delicate and tasty. Such a nice treat to have this option in my refrigerator during the holidays.

"Sablefish Nova Lox" Barry S on 10/28/2017 3:11 PM Rating:
Review: Smoked flavor is very good. The flesh is a little fibrous. This is second time I ordered this and will do so again.

"ANOTHER WINNER" Jolita Arzbaecher on 10/13/2017 12:42 PM Rating:
Review: As rich and silky as described, your Sablefish is the best in all ways - taste, nutrition, and ease of preparation. In fact, this reminded me that I don't have to give any more thought to dinner tonight - it's going to be Sablefish on whole grain pumpernickel. Thank you for keeping some things in my life simple.

"Alaskan Sablefish Nova Lox 4 oz pkgs, sliced, vacuum sealed" Leonard S on 10/12/2017 8:23 AM Rating:
Review: Fantastic!

"Would not recommend" Patricia Baker on 5/12/2017 6:26 AM Rating:
Review: I don't know what compromised the taste of this Nova - perhaps that it was frozen? I was so excited to get this order as finding Sablefish Nova in this rural area is impossible. It just didn't taste good. Thank you for sharing this feedback. A customer service agent will contact you today.

"Delicious seafood" Flo on 4/14/2017 7:12 AM Rating:
Review: The sable/black cod from your company is the best I've ever tasted in my many decades, so sweet and fresh. I have since reordered and will continue to do so, thanks!

"Sable fish Nova lox" Merry Ryan on 3/17/2017 8:10 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious

"Excellent Sablefish Nova Lox" Quynh P on 12/30/2016 5:55 AM Rating:
Review: I had sent this Sablefish Nova Lox to our friend and she said they were "excellent".

"sablefish lox" Glenn on 11/26/2016 1:56 PM Rating:
Review: excellent product will reorder

"Sablefish Lox" Agnes on 11/10/2016 11:20 AM Rating:
Review: My entire family enjoys this lox. I make a big salad, garnished with kalamata olives and capers, and top with the lox

"An Unusual and Rare Treat" Danella S on 11/3/2016 6:36 AM Rating:
Review: Sablefish nova lox from VitalChoice is an extraordinary product. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys bagels and lox and wants to savor a real treat.

"Seemed salty" Anna on 6/28/2016 11:12 AM Rating:
Review: When I received they were thawed out. Was told that they are ok. We had each one that day. We felt they were a bit salty. And there were bones in them. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hare you did not enjoy the Sablefish Lox. The bones in the Sablefish are very common however they should not seem overly saltly. Our customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you! Vital Choice

"Sweetfeet" Marie S on 5/24/2016 10:08 AM Rating:
Review: This is the best tasting sablefish I have had in a long time. I was raised in a Jewish neighborhood as a child and this brings back fond memories of sable and lox.

"A great alternative to salmon lox" John Parker on 2/9/2016 8:46 AM Rating:
Review: I have enjoyed salmon lox for years and decided to try the Sablefish Nova Lox for a change last year, espicially since I like Sablefish fillets. I really enjoy the Sablefish lox on crackers with cream cheese, red pepper jelly and capers.

"Mr." Robert Applegate on 1/7/2016 7:33 AM Rating:
Review: The BEST,that says it all.

"lighter taaste" Charles H on 12/21/2015 9:52 AM Rating:
Review: The black cod portions are a marked difference from the salmon species. If you want a lighter tasting fish for a change, then this is the way to go.

"Excellent taste" Toshiko S on 11/19/2015 7:45 AM Rating:
Review: Ever since I tried these when I received as a bonus, I wanted to purchase this sable fish. Finally, I bought them. No disappointment. The taste is mildly smoky and full of flavor. It is best to thaw in the water, pat them dry. I will repeat this order when I have another opportunity.

"Fantastic Tasting Smoked Black Cod!" Patti K on 10/22/2015 3:34 PM Rating:
Review: Very tender, perfectly smoked black cod slices. Use it like you would smoked salmon. Perfection!

"Delicious!" Francesca Redwine on 3/12/2015 12:45 PM Rating:
Review: Just-caught-fresh taste, much tastier & better quality than I've found locally (and I live in a large 'cosmopolitan' city). With a topping of a few of your sardines, a sprinkle of capers and fresh dill, side of sliced cucumbers = easy, fast gourmet dining.

"staple in my house" Carolyn Reynolds on 10/16/2014 1:50 PM Rating:
Review: I keep Sablefish Nova Lox in my freezer all the time. It is such a delicious and hassle free way to keep healthy fish in my diet. It thaws quickly and goes so well with my crispy seed crackers.

"Black Cod Nova" Don on 9/3/2014 2:18 AM Rating:
Review: Very good lox. Highly recommend.

"Simply excellent!" Asya Starosta on 5/22/2014 8:01 AM Rating:
Review: The best I tried! Fresh, mild, spiced correctly, will order again. Thanks Vital Choice!

"Headed for the poorhouse" Linda Jo on 1/15/2014 8:04 PM Rating:
Review: I ordered 6 portions of this sablefish (growing up around bagels and delis we just called it sable). One 4 oz portion was devoured within the hour, delectable slice by delectable slice. By me. Alone. I can see many more orders in my future. Mmmmmm

"Sablefish" DeeDee Boyington on 8/18/2013 5:29 PM Rating:
Review: Selected sablefish as freebie with last order. Had never eaten sablefish. Prepared Honey-Broiled Sablefish (Black Cod) recipe (from VC Web site) for dinner this evening. This fish melts in your mouth. Absolutely delicious. I will add this product to next order!!!

"Hits the Mark" Lauren on 5/4/2013 7:57 AM Rating:
Review: Wonderful.

"Excellent!" Lynn Wright on 1/7/2011 10:53 AM Rating:
Review: I've eaten a lot of smoked fish/lox in my life and this Sablefish from Vital Choice is the best I can remember!

"Five Stars" Niki LaMont on 1/4/2011 7:25 AM Rating:
Review: I love this product. Stores well in freezer. Defrosts in a jiffy. And is delicious. My favorite way to use: Separate the individual slices. Lay on large plate and squeeze lemon to infuse with juice. Put your favorite greens, slivers of red onion, halved grape tomatoes dressed with homemade mayonnaise on plate with sablefish. Add a crusty baguette and enjoy.

Return to product details >>