Ad

Product Reviews

Oven-Ready Sablefish 4 oz portions, lightly smoked

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Fabulous oven ready sablefish" Karen Lyke on 9/4/2020 6:02 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is my favorite treat and comfort food, cooks quickly & easily in the toaster oven. The fattiness is sustaining and satisfying; the light smoking makes superb flavor even better. Add a few veggies and it's a complete meal.

"My former favorite fish is now overly salty" Donna D on 4/28/2020 5:22 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: First, I love VitalChoice. I regularly treated myself to the lightly smoked Sablefish from 2007 until 2011 and I was smitten. After a time away from VitalChoice, I finally ordered a 24-box and couldn't wait for my beloved butterfish to arrive! Sadly, I found that the level of salt compared to my past experiences overwhelmed the delicate taste of the Sablefish. I am aware that many people love salt, but IMO, fish this briny/salty can only be served as an appetizer with crackers and other garnishes. It is overpriced for this purpose. Next time I will certainly try the unsmoked version, in hopes of rediscovering the beautiful taste of Sablefish. (I still love VitalChoice.) - We are sorry to hear you found this product to be overly salty. Our team will follow up with you today regarding this product. Thank you!

"Pure Love" Martha W on 11/18/2018 1:24 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My mouth/body feels loved once the buttery flaky fish enters my mouth. I love the lightly smoked cod & wish I could afford to eat it daily :-). I love salmon but I love the lightly smoked cod better.

"One of our favorite treats." Joe K on 6/14/2018 10:04 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Super easy and super yummy. We love it!

"Inedible due to excessive salt" Cynthia Lewis on 6/3/2018 3:10 PM Rating:
Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: I had this before, years ago, and loved it. But I just had a filet from my recent order and found it inedible due to the tremendous amount of salt. VERY disappointing. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Delicious" Rita on 5/26/2018 7:39 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: First time having sablefish. Never heard of it before. It was easy to prepare and so tasty. Wasn't sure how long to cook it on the stovetop so I probably fried it longer than necessary and it still was moist and tender. Definitely a reorder item. Interested in trying the regular sablefish as well.

"A tad too smoked" Toi Y on 3/2/2018 5:06 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: We really like these smoked portions. the cook very nicely on the infra-red grill& in the convection oven. Just a bit too much salt for our palates/health.

"The Very Best of the Best!" H. Chandler on 2/23/2018 2:00 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: There's really nothing left to be said...this fish IS the best of the best! We love it and are addicted. Vital Choice has changed our way of purchasing fish. Never, no more, will we buy it in a store!

"Lightly Smokedm, Oven-ready Sablefish" F Gregory Baker on 2/22/2018 6:42 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: The flavor of this product was excellent but it was mushy instead of flaky. I am thinking it might have been trawl caught or mishandled before it was frozen, but in any event it was not the flaky product I expected. And, I am in the business so I understand the challenge in handling Sablefish. I still have a few portions to try, I will let you know. Greg - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!" H.R. Chandler on 2/5/2018 4:25 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This was a homerun! It is the best! It has a buttery, silky, delicious smoked flavor. Everyone should give this a try...you won't regret it I promise!!!

"Lightly smoked Sablefish" H.R. Chandler on 2/1/2018 3:46 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Nothing can compare to this...absolutely nothing!!!! Anyone who hasn't tried this is missing out on a real treat! Its our favorite of all your products! It has such a wonderful flavor!!

"Smoked Sablefish" Mike O on 12/16/2017 9:14 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Perhaps just personal taste, but too salty for me. It overwhelms the taste of the fish. Too much salt in the brine or too long in the brine? I’ll just order the regular sablefish next time. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Just WONDERFUL!" H. Chandler on 12/7/2017 7:28 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: We LOVE your sablefish...we LOVE it!!! Will only buy this from Vital Choice!

"Buttery Sablefish" H. Chandler on 10/26/2017 9:57 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I can't rave and rant enough about the buttery tasting sable fish that melts in your mouth...it is WONDERFUL!!! We love it and will order more in the future.

"Delicious!" Lois on 8/10/2017 2:14 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I tried the lightly smoked Sablefish and it was really delicious. Very buttery tasting with a rich flavor. Will order this fish again!

"Sablefish" Barbara Sigismund on 12/23/2016 7:13 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: If the number went up to 100 I would vote even higher. This is, without a doubt, the most delicious fish I have ever tasted. We scrapped roast beef this year for a sable fish dinner. My entire family keeps absconding with pieces from my freezer, which means I will order more soon! Truly delighted, B

"Only one problem" Lynell B on 12/8/2016 9:52 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: There is only one problem with this sablefish: It's so delicious I want to eat 2-3 of the 4-oz pieces! It has it all: flaky texture, amazing flavor, pre-cooking that makes it a breeze to prepare, and an appetite-enticing appearance. I just saute a little garlic in olive or coconut oil, then cook it into a crust on the fish. Sometimes, I'll add a few reconstituted dried cranberries (creates a gorgeous reddish glaze), plus a few squirts of coconut aminos for extra color and flavor, and WOW! What a treat! Thank you for this delectable fish! Even better than your salmon – and that's saying a lot!

"Sablefish - yum!" Flo on 11/11/2016 11:22 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: It was buttery and delicious. I can't wait to have the scallops!

"Favorite treat" Judy C on 10/28/2016 9:17 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Never want to run out of this delicacy. It is delicious, and our guests are bold enough to ask for more...

"Smoked Sablefish" Jim R on 9/16/2016 5:47 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: In my opinion, the smoked Sablefish is the most flavorful product that Vital Choice offers. I reorder it frequently.

"Smoked Sablefish" Brenda P on 8/3/2016 3:01 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Your smoked sablefish & salmon are 2 of my very favorites. All your products are wonderful & exceptional...quality is unequaled. Thank you for the wonderful staff & customer service as well as your accommodations on all products & information. Feel free to publish my review if you like. I recruit customers for you all the time.

"Amazing" Bobbie H on 6/27/2016 3:00 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I steamed the fish in our steam oven, they were delicious ! Amazing flavor!!!

"Amazing Oven-Ready Sablefish" Eva on 5/3/2016 11:50 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I loved this product so much I've ordered another large batch after the first 6 portion pack. Now I have enough of the melt in the mouth buttery tastiness to satisfy my dinner guests hungry palates. Lovely, thank you.

"Smoked Sablefish" J T Smith on 5/3/2016 6:15 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Recipe for smoked sablefish with lemon vinaigrette which recipe I shared with you a few years ago is still one of the best foods on this planet!

"just ok" R & M on 2/24/2016 12:14 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: My husband and I ordered the Sablefish along with several other things. My piece was extremely salty and both of our pieces had a very "fishy" taste and just too slimy for my preference. Will not order this again. But we love and continue to order many of your other offerings. -Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the Oven Ready Sablefish. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you!

"Sablefish" Becky C on 1/25/2016 8:30 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: This is my first order for Sablefish. I like it, but not as much as I like the King Salmon. It's a bit smokey and very rich.

"Oven Ready Sablefish smoked" Lisa B on 12/24/2015 6:10 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is by far our family's favorite fish. Even though it has little bones, which is a bummer, we still love it enough not to care. I will continue to buy this over and over again. However, if you could find a way to take out the little bones, that would be awesome!

"Delicious fish" Dawn on 12/10/2015 10:53 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: We love the fresh & very healthy fish we bought through Vital Choice. The Sablefish has a delicious smoky flavor and is very rich - so smaller portions suit us perfectly. The wild salmon is lean & delicious & the Halibut is just delicious also. It's important to trust the fish you eat and although the price is high - as long as it's fresh, healthy & preferably not harvested - we are happy!

"Smoked Sablefish" anne C. wilson on 11/20/2015 9:06 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Your products & helpful employees the best of the best.

"The fish is " Bodica on 11/18/2015 4:20 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: We have been purchasing our fish from Vital Choice for over seven years. We love: the freshness; the sustainable practices; the service we receive and the taste. Because of Vital Choice we eat more fish than we did before. We are grateful!

"wisp of smoke and sooo tender" Peg F on 10/22/2015 10:23 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Great - like all Vital Choice stuff

"we have not prepared any of the order" curtis on 10/14/2015 3:54 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: however from previous orders we expect it to fantastic, we were running low and wanted to stock up ;,besides we wanted to use our gift e-card

"Customer" Wendy Bevan on 8/26/2015 2:35 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I have been so torn!!! I love it SOOOO much.......that part of me wants to eat it all myself.......but then I keep telling all of my friends how amazing it is.......and so I am either giving it away..or making it for them to try!!

"THE BEST!" MICHAEL T on 8/26/2015 3:00 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: There's nothing finer tasting than smoked black cod Vital Choice does a fantastic job. It is scrumptious. I wish I could afford to eat it everyday!

"Taste great but a bit salty" Pat Knorr on 1/22/2015 6:14 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: This was a gift to my mother, according to her, the taste was great but a bit too salty for her. I personally have not tried it.

"SABLEFISH" CURTIS on 12/12/2014 7:07 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: IT MELTS IN YOUR MOUTH,SUCH A FANTASTIC BUTTERY TASTE

"my favorite fish on the planet" Hellie Neumann on 10/17/2014 5:20 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This lightly smoked fish has the most delectable flavor. My eyes always roll with pleasure at my first bite. I get a 6 pack every year and am always very sad when I eat the last piece.

"exquisite" catherine hellman on 10/15/2014 9:12 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The sablefish literally melt in your mouth ! Great addition to your website the you tube videos for recipe !

"smoked sablefish" Harriett Light on 7/31/2014 9:11 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Wonderful - I LOVE it and could eat it every day! Only one negative - a bit too salty for my taste.

"Sablefish...Best fish i have ever tasted" Diana Nelson on 2/3/2012 8:02 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This smoked sablefish is the finest piece of fish I have ever tasted at home, in my own kitchen! Absolutely sumptuous, 110% "a melt in your mouth" experience yum!

"Oven ready Sablefish (lightly smoked)" Brian Watts on 4/24/2011 8:11 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I cooked this fish on a pellet burning BBQ, and after ten minutes enjoyed the finest piece of fish I have ever eaten. Anywhere. Better than any $40 piece of fish I have had in any number of fine seafood restaurants. I am Hooked! (pardon the pun)

Return to product details >>
Ad