Ad

Product Reviews

Pacific Blue Mussels Live, 5 lb bag

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
4

"blue mussels" Garry Hegg on 2/25/2021 9:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Never got them. I had to refuse the order from USP because they came six days after shipment. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your delayed shipping. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Pacific Blue Mussels" Nancy Hemleben on 1/7/2021 4:41 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Absolutely delicious!

"Pacific Blue Mussels Live, 5 lb bag" Gerald K on 1/1/2021 7:34 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Ordered the Pacific Blue Mussels Live, 5 lb bag. 40 of the mussels were smashed, broken or cracked open. The shells were very dirty. Years ago Vital Choice sold frozen mussels in vacuum packed bags. They were very clean shells and none broken. Those were the best mussels my family and I ever had. So we decided to try these live version mussels with poor results. I have photos of the broken mussels but no way I can see to upload them here. Consider selling the frozen version mussels you used to. Until then I will not order these mussels again. - Thank you for sharing your experience. We are so to hear your order arrived in this condition. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today regarding this situation. Thank you!

"Mussels" Marianne Bagley on 12/31/2020 8:06 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Fat, juicy and scrumptious!

"SUPERBLY FRESH" LUIS CABALQUINTO on 11/16/2020 8:48 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: FRESH, FAT, TASTY. CAN'T BE BETTER.

"Mussels" Pat Hatleli on 11/6/2020 1:14 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: They were wonderful and very flavorful. My daughter and I ate them for supper. Yum

"Mussels" Edward O on 9/24/2020 5:28 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: All good, thank you

"Delicious but hot weather almost spoiled the batch" Meredyth on 9/10/2020 11:14 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: I've ordered these mussels twice. The first bag was very fresh with the ice packs almost created an icy covering. The second bag arrived with the ice packs melted except for one. I was concerned about the freshness, but they hadn't opened up so we ate them. I did have to throw away the mussels that already opened. Overall, these mussels are delicious. But be sure to watch the weather due to packaging problems.

"Fresh!" Judee Lund on 9/5/2020 5:32 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: First, the customer service is on point. They called to verify my address. My mussels arrived packed really well with plenty of still frozen packs. The mussels smelled like the ocean, like it should and tasted great. The only criticism is that there were several broken ones (at least a dozen or so) that had to be thrown out. The price is a bit expensive so it will be a long time before I order this again.

"So Yummy" Toshiko S on 4/12/2020 10:13 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I steamed one bag in French style and two days later tried Italian style with another bag. Both were really tasty. Because the broth is so wonderful, we boiled some Japanese soba and stirred in the broth for light meals. That was a wonderful discovery. It gave a nice aroma of mussels mixed with herbs. I will never waste another broth.

"Mussels Require Muscles" L T on 1/7/2020 8:18 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: I wish these mussels were available in a smaller quantity. It was tiring to wash and de-beard them, even after splitting the work in half (over two days.) With so many pieces, not one seemed to be female (orange), so there was no variance in the color of the dishes, but they still tasted good. Nearly a pound's worth arrived cracked or broken, understandably.

"review" Christine Birdsall on 3/23/2018 3:48 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: very fresh and sweet

"wonderful mussels!" Ruthann on 12/31/2017 11:44 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Live mussels arrived in TX in excellent condition. with dry ice still intact. Plump and delicious according to my mussel loving grandchildren.

"Disapointed :(" Moira O on 9/17/2017 10:28 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: I had high expectations for these mussels since everything else Ive ever gotten from VC has been superior quality. These mussels arrived less frozen than usual in a box that was wet through to the outside. In addition the mussels were very small but did not come out of the shell in one piece nor did they come out easily. My guest and I had to use fingers to pick multiple pieces out . The flavor wasn't terrible but there was really nothing there. I have at least half left and kind of dread cooking them again. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. These mussels ship live and are not frozen. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the overall product. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today. Thank you, The Vial Choice Team

"Blue Mussels" Matthew A on 7/6/2017 4:33 AM Rating:
Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: A previous purchase arrived frozen and could be used over a period of time. This order arrived fresh (MAYBE I GOOFED WHEN I PLACED MY ORDER) so I froze them to disappointing results when they are defrosted and used. I may have to through them all out. Matt Thank you for providing this feedback. A customer care associate will contact you today.

"Mgnificent Mussels" Jill on 6/26/2017 4:39 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The best musseIs I ever had. I steamed them in the broth and then used the leftover broth for linguini in mussel sauce, and chowder.

"Live Pacific Blue Mussels" Marcell M on 6/2/2017 9:55 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Love it.

"mussel shipment" Jean Vertefeuille-Cutler on 1/1/2017 5:49 AM Rating:
Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Ordered over $300 worth of mussels for our family Christmas. Paid for OVERNIGHT shipping. Did not arrive on the day scheduled! In fact did not arrive at all!!!!!! When I tried to find a tracking number I could not!!! Two days after scheduled arrival day I finally managed to get a live person on the phone and they had no clue as to which carrier used to shop! NO way to do business and will never use this company again nor can I recommend them! VERY disappointed! Ruined the meal we had planned. Hello Jean, We are very sorry to hear the Mussels did not arrive on time for Christmas. Our Customer Service Team will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss your order. The Vital Choice Team.

"a little disappointed" Barbara J on 4/8/2016 6:01 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: This is the third time we have ordered mussels. Unfortunately, this had quite a few broken shells. At least a pound. That is a lot. Our other two shipments were great. Hardly any broken shells. The box was totally intact. So, I don't believe it was due to shipping. The good thing is it was still the same great taste and freshness!! - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear many of the Mussels arrived broken. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you!

"Mussels" Gary O on 2/16/2016 7:33 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: A bit of work to deal with this quantity, but very much worth it. These are fine, tasty mussels, and amazingly, they all opened in the steamer (four batches)! I strained the broth, but hardly needed to, they were so clean. Some we ate fresh, dipped in vinegar, garlic, salt and pepper, and the rest are in the freezer awaiting being made into Billy Bi. Highly recommended for anyone who likes mussels and enjoys their kitchen.

"Arrived with broken box" Toshiko on 10/1/2015 8:04 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The box was broken and the contents were contaminated but I am rating this a five star as Vital Choice customer servie promptly refunded my purchase amount. I will order when it is a little cooler here.

"Mussels" Ellis P Pascual on 5/7/2014 10:03 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I prefer mussels to gold. One can't eat gold, thank you.

"Scrumptuous mussels" Lacy Loar on 5/6/2014 9:37 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The day we received these I cooked them all and froze 1/2. The ice was still intact, even though they had to travel to Florida. They smelled wonderful, just like the ocean! Every mussel opened and they were just delicious! Cooked them in a sake broth with scallions and ginger and soba noodles. We ate every last one of them!

Return to product details >>
WHAT OUR CUSTOMERS ARE SAYING:

quote-icon Purchasing from Vital Choice is always seamless, and the fish is superior to everything else! We love Vital Choice! quote-icon

WHAT HEALTH & NUTRITION EXPERTS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
Vitalchoice.com is my favorite source for wild Alaskan salmon, sablefish, sardines, and other fish rich in omega-3s... I can't tell you how many messages I get from people thanking me for recommending Vital Choice.
quote-icon
WHAT OUR CUSTOMERS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
Simply put Vital Choice offers the best seafood and related products available. We have always recommended Vital Choice to clients, friends, and family. As health practitioners we value the sustainable practices and trust this company implicitly!
quote-icon
WHAT FOOD EXPERTS ARE SAYING:

quote-icon Without a doubt the best canned seafood I’ve ever tasted. quote-icon

WHAT HEALTH & NUTRITION EXPERTS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
Unlike anything you've seen from the grocery store…I recommend Vital Choice—my personal favorite for delicious, fresh, healthy, and completely safe canned tuna and salmon.
quote-icon
WHAT THE MEDIA IS SAYING:
quote-icon
Vital Box captures the fresh-caught quality of succulent, sustainably harvested Alaskan salmon and northwest Pacific seafood by cleaning and flash-freezing it within hours of harvest.
quote-icon
WHAT OUR CUSTOMERS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
I purchased for my brother (difficult to buy for) and he loved it!! He can’t stop raving about the fish! Thank you for quality!
quote-icon
WHAT THE MEDIA IS SAYING:

quote-icon The Best Places To Buy Seafood Online, Including Fresh And Frozen Fish quote-icon 

Find out what others are saying about Vital Choice Ad