Call Anytime 800.608.4825

Product Reviews

Ikura Keta Salmon Caviar (Roe) 6oz. Jar 6 oz jar

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Excellent quality" Paul on 4/12/2019 6:28 PM Rating:
Review: Really great quality Ikura. As this was my first order with VCS I checked reviews first and noticed a few less than good reviews, but now 6 jars in and ready to reorder the next 6, I don't think they were correct at all. This stuff is super flavorful and compared to what you get in a sushi restaurant in one order, I"ll take a six ounce jar any day for this price. Excellent shipping to boot!!

"Salty and fishy!" Denise on 3/10/2019 3:43 PM Rating:
Review: This was way too fishy tasting and salty. I loved caviar at sushi places, but this stuff is just canny tasting. Very overpriced. Hello Denise, Our Customer Service Team would like to reach out to you shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Unbelievably good" EM on 8/6/2018 12:06 PM Rating:
Review: I'm looking forward to buying the large tray when this comes back in stock.

"Showstopping appetizer" Wendy S. from Maine on 6/24/2018 10:27 AM Rating:
Review: I served these beautiful, tasty Ikura as part of the first course at a French-themed gourmet dinner party and got applause. That's a rave review! Very pleased with how rapidly I got my order & the excellent quality. Thanks, Vital Choice. (Recipe: 1-1/2 T. egg salad mixed with chopped arugula topped by 1/2 T. Ikura on buttered, toasted baguette slices.2 slices=1 serving)

"Ikura Keta Salmon Caviar (Roe)" Manuela Paronzini on 5/18/2018 5:30 AM Rating:
Review: It's delicate, tasty and delicious.

"Salmon Roe" Cory Anglin on 5/14/2018 4:35 AM Rating:
Review: My daughter and niece beg for these like they are chocolates.

"Salmon Roe" Sheetal Sharma on 4/6/2018 3:30 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent taste. Salmon roe has the highest bioavailable phospholipid content of any food that I know of. Our son enjoys it at sushi restaurants. But the quality here is far superior.

"Ikura Keta Salmon Caviar in Glass Jar" Alla R on 3/31/2018 5:58 AM Rating:
Review: Ikura keta in glass jar It is my second order from this company. I ordered 4 jars with 6 oz each of ikura Keta salmon caviar and it is not fresh and dry. It is a big disappointment because I need this caviar for the family holiday dinner. I am not sure if I got the old batch. In my first order I had 4 jars with 2 oz each jets salmon caviar which was not fresh and had a very strong fishi smell. In my first order was also 17oz tray of Sockeye salmon caviar, and it was very good. That is why I decided to try again caviar from Vital Choice. But now I got impression that caviar in jars is not fresh. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Ikura in glass jar" David C. on 3/27/2018 4:26 PM Rating:
Review: After ordering a wide variety of items from Vital Choice, I’ve been impressed at the quality and consistency of their offerings except their Ikura. I’ve tried two of the three jars of ikura I ordered and found them both to be sodium laden and “fishy” in flavor. Not sure if I just got sent an old batch but unfortunately I wouldn’t order it again. Hello David, We are very sorry to hear your disappointment in the Ikura Caviar. Our Customer Service Team would like to contact you shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Customer Service Team.

"Ikura keta salmon caviar" Maria Snear on 3/18/2018 4:20 PM Rating:
Review: Perfect in every way!!!!

"Mr." Chee Ho on 3/16/2018 3:06 PM Rating:
Review: It tastes very much like that of cod liver oil and bigger than any supermarket-bought one.

"Excellent quality very delicious healthy ikra" Daisy on 3/10/2018 7:34 PM Rating:
Review: Excellent quality, very delicious healthy ikra

"very disappointed with my last order of ikura in the jars" Letta on 3/5/2018 10:01 AM Rating:
Review: I have bought these jars of ikura many times from vital choice and always loved it as it was fresh and no fishy smell or taste at all as it was fresh; however the last 3 jars I have ordered last time are all smelled and tested very fishy and not fresh; I have tried the last 3rd jar (out of 3 jars ordered ) and I'm very disappointed. Was ithe old batch of ikura placed into my order? Just to let you know I'm always following the instructions the same way I did for all my other orders. I have ordered ikura in plastic container which is cheaper but after comparing the ikura in the jar I loved ikura in the jar much better. I started to buy ikura in the jar only which more expensive. But recently I'm very disappointed and the quality of ikura in the jar is very poor. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Excellent" Nancy on 3/2/2018 11:27 AM Rating:
Review: Perfect quality

"Great product but the packaging..." Nathalie M on 2/10/2018 2:35 PM Rating:
Review: Great quality product. The only complain is the packaging. Really hard to break into small portions, please provide smaller sized trays!

"New staple" Teresa on 2/4/2018 7:19 AM Rating:
Review: This is delicious and healthy. Excellent with the seaweed salad and an avocado. My current go to breakfast and fuels my brain for hours.

"Salmon Caviar" David W on 1/18/2018 8:36 AM Rating:
Review: Nice tasting roe..that is if you like salmon roe. I am a big fan of roe.

"delicious" Amy on 1/5/2018 6:15 PM Rating:
Review: So delicious!

"best tasting caviar!" Andrew on 12/28/2017 11:44 AM Rating:
Review: Title says it all. Going to reorder more!

"ikura" Steve B on 12/19/2017 10:53 PM Rating:
Review: I spent 32 years in SE Alaska around the fishing industry. For about 7 years we had a master Japanese fish tech who made better but this is the best I have found since then.

"ikura salmon caviar" Valentina on 12/7/2017 3:16 PM Rating:
Review: Fresh and wonderful!

"Cavier" Michelle B on 11/3/2017 9:07 AM Rating:
Review: What can I say - I love this product!

"Excellent!" FL Squirrely Girl on 10/30/2017 8:28 AM Rating:
Review: I will usually order Ikura sushi when at a Japanese restaurant and have found this to be far superior in taste. I also love that I can keep jars in the freezer to keep the Ikura fresh until I want some. I've started eating some Ikura with breakfast to get the benefits of starting the day with some protein and omega-3s and I look forward to my morning treat.

"Delicious!" Julie on 10/27/2017 2:20 PM Rating:
Review: Absolutely the best salmon caviar out there. Huge eggs, pop in your mouth, unbelievable taste. If it were cheaper I would order it more often. I love, love love it.

"great ikura" martha m on 10/27/2017 1:36 PM Rating:
Review: It is both delicious and good for my osteoarthritis (omega 3)...also its got incredibly high vitamin D... I put in on buttered toast and love it for breakfast

"Wow." Jillian on 10/6/2017 5:10 AM Rating:
Review: This is fabulous. On its own, as a garnish, on a raw quail egg, with creme fraiche.....it is beautifully textured, perfectly briney and simply magical.

"Wow" Jill on 9/8/2017 4:56 AM Rating:
Review: I wish I purchased more than 1 jar the first time. A favorite....absolutely delicious!

"Great Ikura" greg on 8/19/2017 1:26 PM Rating:
Review: I loved the Ikura...

"Good" Anita Henslin on 8/19/2017 4:54 AM Rating:
Review: Great product

"Delicious Ikura" Eugene Ingram Jr on 8/12/2017 12:38 PM Rating:
Review: The four jars of Ikura arrived fresh in dry ice, were very well packed, and delicious! I have it with organic sour cream or vegan cashew cream cheese spread on a gluten free whole grain rye toast with my morning coffee.

"Delicious, Briny, Succulent Roe" Maryanne R on 8/3/2017 6:10 AM Rating:
Review: There are a variety of Japanese grocers in my area, but haven't found a salmon roe product to match the quality of the Ikura Salmon Caviar I bought from Vital Choice. It was packaged frozen, which I allowed to defrost in the refrigerator. It is so yummy I put it on everything, but savor it since it'll be gone before I know it.

"Delicious" Wendy on 7/15/2017 3:28 AM Rating:
Review: So fresh, delicate and delicious!! Very well worth the cost, which is truly so reasonable. I'm a repeat customer and highly recommend Vital Choice to anyone seeking top quality seafood!!

"Good" Anita H on 7/6/2017 6:10 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent!

"Exquisite" Deborah W on 7/1/2017 5:06 AM Rating:
Review: This Ikura Salmon Caviar is stunning in quality and freshness. The taste is pure and unmatched.

"GO FOR IT" Jolita A on 6/25/2017 12:00 PM Rating:
Review: I'll admit I started craving Ikura after a character in a favorite television show mentioned caviar, and immediately thought of Vital Choice to supply me. Like other VC products, the salt content of this salmon caviar is lower and thus far more delicious for my taste. Ways to use it are endless, from topping eggs to make brunch feel more special to adding a dollop over my bean pasta with edamame for a full Japanese flavor at dinner. Will re-order soon to always have an extra jar in the freezer.

"Excellent Product" Anne M on 6/19/2017 9:50 AM Rating:
Review: Certainly one of the best salmon roe that I have had. Particularly enjoy it with sunny side up eggs for breakfast - or at the end of a warm day with a glass of white wine.

"Perfect!" Marlene on 6/10/2017 4:06 AM Rating:
Review: So good, Try a spoonful with a dollop of sour cream or yogurt on a baked potato. Deelish. Or added to an omelet.

"Ikura" Sveta P on 4/16/2017 9:29 AM Rating:
Review: Smells very natural and tastes great. What I like about it most is that it is salted in moderation. It is evidently fresh, and it is good to enjoy it from time to time.

"Inure" T. Williams on 3/30/2017 2:57 AM Rating:
Review: I enjoyed the Ikura

"Ikura" Nancy Early on 2/12/2017 7:42 PM Rating:
Review: Nothing but superb!

"Superb Product" H Hosking on 2/11/2017 7:30 AM Rating:
Review: I am a sushi lover and this Ikura is the best. Not too salty and bursts in your mouth with heavenly flavor. I purchased 3 6 oz jars hoping it would last for a while but my family finished it in a week. Getting ready to reorder.

"Exquisite" Deborah on 2/10/2017 6:20 AM Rating:
Review: This product is stellar. I have ordered Ikura Salmon caviar for years when having Sushi. It is one of my favorite caviars. It's is fresh in the purest sense and exploding with flavor.

"Salmon Caviar" M Larkin on 1/20/2017 11:04 AM Rating:
Review: Superb!!!

"Ikura Salmon caviar" Helen S on 1/19/2017 8:28 PM Rating:
Review: Fresh, flavorful and delicious!

"ikura" GARY B on 1/19/2017 6:46 AM Rating:
Review: good-but not great. I prefer the black osetra caviar, but most is too expensive for an old retired vet.

"Ikura salmon review" Leslie M on 12/29/2016 5:25 AM Rating:
Review: Great, but I am wondering how long the Ikura lasts in the refrigerator. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. Once fully thawed we suggest consuming the Ikura within 7-10 days, provided it is well sealed and stored in the refrigerator. We will reach out to you by email with this information. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Ikura" Michelle B on 12/5/2016 12:46 PM Rating:
Review: I love this product. It is my main food splurge but worth ever dollar. Thank you for providing an amazing food.

"Ikura" G on 11/3/2016 3:18 PM Rating:
Review: Am happy with the Ikura...

"Ikura" Hogue on 10/27/2016 4:06 AM Rating:
Review: We absolutely love the Ikura - Salmon Caviar. Almost every evening while preparing dinner, my husband has 3 crackers with Creme Fraiche and Ikura as an appetizer. It is fabulously healthy and tastes wonderful.! We are grateful that we are able to secure this quality product from you, a valued source. Thank you.

"Good stuff!" Abby M on 9/9/2016 9:18 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious way to get raw, healthy protein. I am basically raw vegan, but want some healthy animal protein. This is a great way to get it with a trusted company.

"Ichi Ban" Janine Schenck on 7/25/2016 11:58 AM Rating:
Review: I positively adore this ikura. It feeds my cravings.

"Salmon caviar" Yumi I on 7/19/2016 5:52 AM Rating:
Review: good as always

"the best ikura" Elaine on 7/5/2016 11:08 AM Rating:
Review: the best ikura I could find : ) delicious !

"Dorminy" Michael D on 6/24/2016 3:11 PM Rating:
Review: I just received two 6-oz jars in the mail yesterday and I was really intrigued to see how my one year old daughter would react.... Once she actually open her mouth for me, instead of popping them between her fingers, she was sold! Begging for more like it was candy. Awesome buy!

"sub-par quality" Alex Q on 6/20/2016 12:09 PM Rating:
Review: i had good ikura and bad ikura before , the quality was definitely on the lower side of the scale... it was too salty and had a overpowering lingering fishy taste at the end... maybe i had a bad batch ... - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the Ikura. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you!

"Ikura" Janine S on 6/14/2016 12:35 PM Rating:
Review: Excellent, as always.

"caviar" pat p on 4/18/2016 7:49 PM Rating:
Review: The eggs are rather larger than I expected, and have an interesting pop in your mouth. Not bad, but nothing I would order again.

"Excellent Find" King Fisher in AZ on 4/12/2016 9:39 AM Rating:
Review: The Salmon roe arrived in its perfectly frozen state, which was packed in its insulated, dry-iced box. The first jar was thawed and sampled for just a little taste. That jar was emptied within minutes! The other jars have been rationed for special occasions and for another feed or two of delicious Salmon roe!

"Ikura Caviar" Larissa S. on 3/29/2016 5:05 AM Rating:
Review: Spectacular! The best I've ever had. Every egg is whole and so fresh. Delish!

"The Best" Janine S on 3/17/2016 2:11 PM Rating:
Review: This is as good, if not better, than the Ikura I purchased in Japan.

"Ikura - Wild Salmon Caviar - 6 oz" Natalie NP on 2/23/2016 8:39 AM Rating:
Review: Not too salty or too fishy. No preservatives. Will reorder again.

"excellent" Iuliana V on 2/16/2016 4:00 AM Rating:
Review: I just love, love this caviar. It'a a little pricey,but top quality

"Excellent" Chris and family on 2/9/2016 1:07 PM Rating:
Review: So fresh and delicious! Everyone loves this even the non fish lovers. I regret getting the super large size last time and had to throw away! Goes bad very fast. The glass jars are perfect and keep Salmon caviar fresh enough to be eaten (only 2 oz). Rather pay more and enjoy than to save money and Toss.. lol.Thank you for the savings you have sent as I cannot wait to reorder.

"Excellent" Carol Wasserman on 2/9/2016 8:30 AM Rating:
Review: So delicious - best ever!

"caviar" Larry F on 1/25/2016 3:27 AM Rating:
Review: Very tasty, may buy again

"Out of this world good!" Iuliana V on 12/30/2015 1:54 PM Rating:
Review: Love, love love this caviar.mit is top notch quality. Eggs are huge and firm and burst in your mouth with a wonderful flavor. Did I mention the packaging? Unbelievable attention to detail. Never seen such carefully packaged goods.

"Ikura" Janine S on 12/27/2015 2:13 PM Rating:
Review: I adore this stuff! It's as good as what I had in Japan.

"favorite food" DAVID on 12/7/2015 11:45 AM Rating:
Review: one of my favorite foods esp served with eggs. eggs with eggs

"Delicious" Anne on 12/2/2015 2:23 PM Rating:
Review: I have ordered Ikura quite a few times now and have always been pleased with the quality and taste. It's a real treat! Delicious. I would highly recommend.

"Ikura is Delicious and Versatile" Kay on 11/18/2015 10:45 AM Rating:
Review: High quality ikura that is great served on hot rice, sushi topping, and makes a delicious and colorful addition to appetizers.

"Ikura - Wild Salmon Caviar" Nancy R on 10/14/2015 4:43 AM Rating:
Review: Love it !!! thank you ...

"Perfect!!" Jane W on 8/12/2015 5:11 PM Rating:
Review: This salmon caviar is so perfect. I am so happy I found this company. Each pearl bursts in your mouth and it so delicious. I will be ordering more. Thank you for all your advice while I was trying to figure out how to order.

"Wild Salmon Caviar" Everest on 8/7/2015 4:28 AM Rating:
Review: The best! Very fresh!

"Ikura" Richard A G on 7/31/2015 9:34 PM Rating:
Review: I ate right from the jar...with a oyster shell spoon...in 3 sittings!!

"Ikura" Janine Schenck on 7/26/2015 10:00 AM Rating:
Review: I got hooked on salmon roe (Ikura) when we lived in Okinawa Japan. I didn't bother with the rice & seaweed, I could buy small boxes of roe in the grocery stores. Living in Iowa is hard on people who like fish and sea products: you can have pork or beef. I'm grateful Vital Choice sent a catalog and I took advantage of their products. It gets a rating of five.

"best salmon caviar ever!" birdloverus on 7/3/2015 4:34 PM Rating:
Review: I've had salmon caviar from many vendors, but this is hands down the best. Large, firm eggs with the perfect consistency and taste. I will never order from anyone else again!

"Ikura - Wild Salmon Caviar" Janine Schenck on 4/18/2015 12:00 PM Rating:
Review: We lived in Okinawa Japan five years and VitalChoice salmon roe is as good as that in Okinawa.

"Love the Ikura!!" PKM on 4/15/2015 11:42 AM Rating:
Review: Love the taste of this Ikura and even my 3 year old nephew loves it. My only problem is to keep the remaining Ikura fresh once I opened it. I feel compel to finish the whole 6oz in one go. Next time, I will purchase three 2oz bottles instead :)

"Caviar" Marina on 4/6/2015 5:11 PM Rating:
Review: This caviar is so good! I don't really like caviar, but still decided to try it. I can eat it everyday, but it's too pricy.

"So great." Barbara Hill on 4/2/2015 7:40 AM Rating:
Review: I love the health benefits of salmon but don't really like salmon, except for the row. I like to have Ikura on hand for a healthy snack. A little on a couple of slices of cucumber is satisfying and so good.

"Great source of cholesterol" Laurie on 4/1/2015 8:19 AM Rating:
Review: I take a spoonful of this caviar morning and at lunch. It's supposed to be the best source of good cholesterol.

"Great Salmon Caviar" Bob Sinatra on 3/19/2015 4:15 AM Rating:
Review: Wow, these eggs are wonderful. They arrived quickly in terrific packaging. So great service from Vital Choice. Try of the caviar on a mild cracker or toast ponts slathered with creme fraiche, a squeeze of lemon on top Yummy! . Also on top of scrambled eggs. Good quantity in the jar and excellent quality.

"It is the Best" Barbara Buck on 3/12/2015 4:43 PM Rating:
Review: Absolute delicious. Eat with a mother of peal spoon, so you do not get any metal flavor. It goes well with Tito Vodka.

"Ikura Is Love" Liz M on 1/4/2015 8:07 AM Rating:
Review: The salmon caviar provided by Vital Choice is beyond spectacular! Such a treat! Excellent decision to buy 3 at a time. Goes very well with their seaweed salad too!

"salmon roe" Pat Major on 12/12/2014 10:46 AM Rating:
Review: This is my favorite, and I always include it in my order.

"Salmon roe" Marjie Andrejciw on 12/12/2014 4:33 AM Rating:
Review: These are absolutely delicious!

"Wild Caviar" Debi Charles on 12/10/2014 12:25 AM Rating:
Review: I wasn't so sure when I ordered this if it was something that I would really like. I've never had any sort of "caviar" before and had some trepidations. Invited a small group of friends over and served this with cheeses, smoked salmon, pickled ginger, veggies.....It was a hit! Wonderful! I will be purchasing again! Thank you.

"Yummy Change From the Usual" Candace Wade on 11/24/2014 8:01 AM Rating:
Review: Firm, not too salty. Ate with a spoon! Nice change of pace for the usual caviar.

"caviar" Olga on 11/12/2014 11:37 AM Rating:
Review: Very delicious, love this product:-)

"Great food" David on 10/30/2014 5:59 AM Rating:
Review: My wife and I love this product. Our favorite way is to use as a topping on fresh eggs. Eggs with Eggs, great .

"caviar" Bella on 10/9/2014 12:17 PM Rating:
Review: Best caviar I ever tasted!!!

"try it, you'll get hooked" marlene spigner on 10/8/2014 4:06 AM Rating:
Review: So yummy, just too expensive

"best caviar" Elena on 9/25/2014 1:07 PM Rating:
Review: This is the best caviar!!! The texture, moist, salt and taste, everything is top notch, perfect!!!! I will buy only from this seller from now on. I'm expecting, and I belive this is the best choice for me and my baby!!! It is not first pregnancy for me, and I can say my kids is extremly smart, I contribute that to constant consumtion of caviar. So, this product is not my first, but it is going to be my last, until death do us part :)!!! No more searching for better quality!!!!

"Outstandiing" Nicholas Harmon on 9/2/2014 7:52 AM Rating:
Review: I love these Ikura. They are always tasty and fresh. I highly recommend these.

"Salmon Carviar" Isabella on 7/24/2014 10:04 AM Rating:
Review: So good! My 5 years old loves it and we try to have that in the house most of the time!!

"nourishment beyond calculation" esha kaplan on 7/17/2014 9:25 AM Rating:
Review: Nourishment beyond calculation

"Ikura" Gary Stowell on 7/14/2014 10:20 AM Rating:
Review: Price is high. Taste is not good. High in Omega 3.

"SUPERB & VERSATILE" Debi on 10/24/2012 3:29 PM Rating:
Review: I use many ways - but - most recent I made a glorified egg salad and added salmon chunks as well as a container of this very scrumtious Caviar. S-O-O-O G-O-O-D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"Ikura" Janet Williamson on 11/17/2011 4:31 PM Rating:
Review: I just tried the ikura for the first time, and it is wonderful. It has a very fresh taste. I sliced a cucumber, put a timy bit of cream cheese on it followed by a hefty spoonful of the ikura and topped with fresh dill. DELICIOUS! Will most certainly get it again.

"Amazing taste" Kathryn Garson on 11/21/2010 11:48 AM Rating:
Review: This is by far the best salmon roe I have found. It comes frozen so I can buy it in bulk (good because I'm shipping to Canada) and leave some in my freezer. Once thawed the flavour and texture of these are amazing. Better than anything I can find around here!

Return to product details >>