Ad

Product Reviews

Wild Portuguese Mackerel 4.4 oz tins, no added salt or oil

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"good omega 3 low metals fish" denise on 3/23/2021 5:53 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: taste... well its not wild alaskan salmon or sea bass... but this fish is such a nutritional powerhouse.... I put my own homemade dill/parsley vegan green goddess dressing on it and in a salad yum!

"Product review" Paul Lamontagne on 2/12/2021 6:51 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Great Product, fast shipping.

"Mackerel" Gary Krow on 1/10/2021 6:39 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: A product that is very tasty and convenient to store and serve. I have reorderd this fish and will continue to do so.

"Mackerel and tuna" Chreryl Mills on 11/27/2020 3:42 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My two English Setter dogs have only been fed the mackerel packed in water and recommended by my vet. They look amazing for 10 and 13 years old. Thank you for keeping them healthy!

"These are a good source of DHA for us." Mike on 10/10/2020 2:03 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: We like these for DHA when we are short on time for cooking our local cold water fish.

"Very Good" Blanche Douma on 9/4/2020 11:41 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Absolutely delicious - my first time to try this product and I'm loving it.

"Excellent Mackerel" Eric E. on 3/7/2019 11:05 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This Portuguese Mackerel, with no added salt or oil, is delicious out of the can. Also, I like that I am able to control how much olive oil I add to it to make a salad for a sandwich or a side dish.

"So delicious" Danielle on 1/7/2019 8:36 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I really love these. The taste is outstanding, and the quality is top-notch. I appreciate the no salt and no oil option. I'll be buying these again.

"Container Issues" Ron K on 6/15/2018 3:03 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Mackerel is excellent. Container has been more difficult to open than sardines.

"Excellent quality!" Mina on 6/10/2018 2:50 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Not a fishy smell and very meaty!

"tasty and not fishy" Jeff on 6/9/2018 10:08 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: What other reviewers stated is true. It's a very mild fish. My mom doesn't like the fishiness of sardines, so I recommded these to her as an omega 3 alternative to sardines. She has ordered them and also ordered the sardines in tomato sauce based on my recommendation. We'll see if she can tolerate either.

"Mild" Sharyn on 4/13/2018 7:50 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These mackerel are so mild, fresh and clean. There is no horrible strong spell either. They're wonderful. Give them a try especially for snacking

"Delicious, convenient, nutrient dense" Megan H on 4/1/2018 6:18 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These little fishes are super tasty. They are mild and go well on a salad or by themselves.

"Nice & Meaty Mackerel!" Bonnie on 3/17/2018 1:33 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I am never disappointed with the fish I order from Vital Choice. These canned mackerels are so nice & meaty .. very satisfying for a meal.

"smackerel of mackerel" Bond Perry on 3/17/2018 8:39 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My guy is Japanese and he loves what he calls "blue fish". (rich in oils and fragrant). He had picked up some cans of fish products at the Asian store.....and even he had to say they smelled fishy and not good. Since mackerel is one of his favorites...I ordered the above item. We Both Loved Them! Delicious

"Unbelievable Out Of A Can" J. Tuttle on 2/16/2018 6:05 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is by far the best canned fished of it's kind. Very high quality.

"Mackerel canned" Linda C on 9/15/2017 4:55 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: also my favorite.

"Best little mackeral" Jean S on 4/24/2017 8:18 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: You will never taste any better mackerel. They are small but that makes them even better. If you like sardines you will love these not only for their nutritional benefits but they are a great addition to your salads or eggs.

"Mackeral in Water" Franklin H on 3/16/2017 3:18 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Tried VitalChoice sardines in water and loved them, so had to try the mackerel in water - no salt added. Just found my all time favorite! Fresh, mild flavor, VitalChoice is first class!

"Great Mackeral" jhwdrw on 2/17/2017 5:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I like these so much better than sardines. They have a much lighter taste. I use them in salads for a healthy meal or eat them plain.

"canned mackerel" Linda C on 11/4/2016 5:53 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Love this mackerel. Very tasty

"Canned Mackerel in Water - No Salt or Oil added" Toni R on 9/24/2016 5:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Now I understand the term "HolyMackerel" the Taste is Heavenly!😇

"WARNING THIS TAKES DAYS AND DAYS to arrive" Denise on 8/29/2016 5:37 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Note, I ordered fish for before I went away a full week ahead of time and this did not come. Only the frozen products come in 2-5 business days. I did not have this for my trip, which was the point of ordering. It's good mackeral. I just think when I receive book rate books from FL to CT in 2 days that this should come at least in a week!!!! - Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent order. Our canned goods are shipped standard ground and will arrive in 3-7 business days from the date shipped depending on where you are located from our warehouse in Ferndale, WA. We are always happy to discuss shipping options when orders are needed in a quicker time frame. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you to discuss future options. Thank you, Vital Choice Team

"canned mackerel in water no salt" Sharon Rush on 7/27/2016 6:00 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent product. Very happy

"Vasilescu" Gabriela on 6/18/2016 12:00 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: So far, the best canned food I had.

"Canned mackerel in water no salt added" Olga Silver on 4/28/2016 2:56 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Very healthy and tasty mackerel without any salt in water. Delicious!

"Canned Mackerel in Water" Diane Miskiewicz on 4/4/2016 6:31 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Husband said it was very good.

"Mackerel" Freda P on 3/19/2016 12:28 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I cant say enough about this usually when you buy it in the can they are small and fishy smelling it would hurt my stomach. The seafood here is just awesome. Keep doing what you do!!!!

"Superior products and service" Danny S on 12/9/2015 3:00 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I have ordered many times from vital Choice and have always received the best tasting fresh products - bar none. And their customer service/shipping? Truly superior in every way from exceptional service to shipping a product that arrives virtually overnight. This company cannot be beat. Sincerely, Dan Sakraida

"CANNED MACKEREL IN WATER" MARY D on 11/5/2015 2:41 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: WE LOVE IT THE BEST OF ALL THE CANNED FISH (EXCEPT SOCKEYE). TASTES A BIT LIKE TUNA WE THINK.

"Canned mackerel" Ed Polfus on 4/2/2015 6:26 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Very good product

"Canned Mackerel, no salt or oil" Melvyn Halbert on 2/21/2015 10:20 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: We have not yet opened our most recent shipment of 12 cans (which arrived promptly). Some months ago we ordered, as a trial, Vital Choice's assortment of sardines and mackerel. The one can of no-salt, no-oil mackerel in the assortment was excellent in taste and all other qualities that was why we ordered the 12-can shipment of the same product.

"canned mackerel in water" Linda Corcoran on 2/19/2015 10:57 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Love Mackerel. I only eat canned fish and from Vital Choice because I know it is BPA and safe. Plus easier for me since I do not fry foods.

"Canned Mackerel in water" Kathy on 11/24/2014 7:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I love the one in water, lower calories and tastes great.

"Canned Mackerel in Water no Salt" Ann Edelman on 11/12/2014 2:15 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Delicious canned mackerel that I love to eat for lunch or a snack. They are good straight out of the can, or mixed with light mayo in a sandwich.

"Canned Mackerel in Water" Timothy Staton on 11/1/2014 9:44 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The Canned Mackerel in Water is a favorite of mine. I often add them to a salad, incorporate them into a sandwich or just eat them straight out of the can when I'm on the go. They are delicious and nutritious, good and good for you!

"canned mackerel in water" Linda Corcoran on 10/23/2014 1:22 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: excellent

"mackerel" lucia on 10/9/2014 3:37 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: best ever

"Fantastic canned mackerel" Ian Gillson on 4/12/2014 12:19 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These canned mackerel are the business. They are meaty and moist, unlike most canned mackerel, and you can even see the blue lines on the skin! I really like the no-salt option as it keeps my sodium intake lower. I rotate these for breakfast with the no-salt, canned sardines. The calories aren't bad either, especially for mackeral...just 120 calories a can. They are also a good source of omega-3s (though not quite as high as the sardines) and protein. They fit great with my macros for bodybuilding.

Return to product details >>
WHAT OUR CUSTOMERS ARE SAYING:

quote-icon Purchasing from Vital Choice is always seamless, and the fish is superior to everything else! We love Vital Choice! quote-icon

WHAT HEALTH & NUTRITION EXPERTS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
Vitalchoice.com is my favorite source for wild Alaskan salmon, sablefish, sardines, and other fish rich in omega-3s... I can't tell you how many messages I get from people thanking me for recommending Vital Choice.
quote-icon
WHAT OUR CUSTOMERS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
Simply put Vital Choice offers the best seafood and related products available. We have always recommended Vital Choice to clients, friends, and family. As health practitioners we value the sustainable practices and trust this company implicitly!
quote-icon
WHAT FOOD EXPERTS ARE SAYING:

quote-icon Without a doubt the best canned seafood I’ve ever tasted. quote-icon

WHAT HEALTH & NUTRITION EXPERTS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
Unlike anything you've seen from the grocery store…I recommend Vital Choice—my personal favorite for delicious, fresh, healthy, and completely safe canned tuna and salmon.
quote-icon
WHAT THE MEDIA IS SAYING:
quote-icon
Vital Box captures the fresh-caught quality of succulent, sustainably harvested Alaskan salmon and northwest Pacific seafood by cleaning and flash-freezing it within hours of harvest.
quote-icon
WHAT OUR CUSTOMERS ARE SAYING:
quote-icon
I purchased for my brother (difficult to buy for) and he loved it!! He can’t stop raving about the fish! Thank you for quality!
quote-icon
WHAT THE MEDIA IS SAYING:

quote-icon The Best Places To Buy Seafood Online, Including Fresh And Frozen Fish quote-icon 

Find out what others are saying about Vital Choice Ad