Ad

Product Reviews

Wild Portuguese Mackerel EVO 4.4 oz tins, in organic EV olive oil

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Best canned mackerel you can find outside of Portugal!" Li no on 6/1/2020 11:35 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Plain and simple: the best canned mackerel you can find outside of Portugal! On the pricey side, but well worth! Don't settle for the usual mackerel you can find in stores, go with this! Canned with the best olive oil ... worth every penny!

"Delicious, best tasting mackerel" Georgina on 2/17/2019 12:18 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This mackerel is the best I have had in a long time. I have tried so many brands without finding a good mackerel. Now, I found not a good but the best tasting mackrel. I have purchased 6 to begin with and to see if i liked the fish. It was so delicious that i ordered 24 more. My husband loves it too and to my surprise we starting eating it every other day. The no salt added is a plus when we’re trying to eat a healthy diet. I tried both varieties, in water and in ev olive oil. We love both!!!! Finally we found the best mackerel!

"the best there is" Georgina on 1/15/2019 9:55 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The mackerel is so delicious I wish I had ordered the 24 cans instead of the 6. Superb, delicious mackerel. The portion is just right, for me. Only 3 pieces per can but enough for a meal.

"Love It!!!!" June on 5/25/2018 7:44 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I’ve been ordering can mackerels from VC for over ten years and recommended to others. Taste very good and quality I trust. I’ll continue to order and recommend for many years to come.

"Yummy, Yummy!" Clemonce H on 4/20/2018 10:21 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Delicious!

"Simply Tasty!" Kulie on 4/16/2018 1:12 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent quality and tastes AMAZING!!

"Wow!" Linda M on 4/1/2018 1:00 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Fantastic flavor and texture!

"Fantastic flavor and quality" Rebecca O on 3/26/2018 7:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I almost exclusively order the sardines so I forget how good this mackerel is - fresh, flavorful, and packed with nutrition. I popped open a can at work and even a coworker said, “I can’t believe that’s fish - I can’t even smell it!” That’s how fresh and wonderful this stuff is. You’ll never think of canned the same way again.

"Delicious" Amber H on 3/25/2018 9:04 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I enjoy these fish. They arrived quickly and well packed.

"Wild Portuguese Mackerel" H.Chandler on 2/1/2018 10:52 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I originally wanted to order your sardines, but was unfortunately told you were sold out...so I opted to try your mackerel. It was a pleasant surprise...exactly what I hoped it would be! We all enjoyed it, and will definitely order it again. Even the young ones thought it was good. Wow...another homerun with Vital Choice!

"Mackerel" Maestro488 on 1/27/2018 5:32 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Very tasty.

"ms" v haj on 1/19/2018 5:00 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: very mild taste, not strong or fishy

"Wild Portugese Mackerel" Geri P on 1/8/2018 5:45 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I think they are yummy. Thank you

"North Country" Judith F-B on 12/11/2017 12:34 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Good eating!

"Healthful...and Delicious" Cecile on 11/13/2017 1:51 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Once I opened my first can, I was hooked (pun intended). I was making a sandwich for lunch, but it was breakfast time. I had to resist eating more of this can of mackerel than just a taste at that early-morning hour. I haven't eaten mackerel in years, and I won't let that happen again.

"mackerel" marilyn on 11/11/2017 2:52 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: I am not a mackerel eater, but my doctor has recommended it. This is surprisingly good. Not alot of bones and I wipe off the oil after warming

"Healthy mackerel" Charles Hicks on 11/10/2017 8:51 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Tasty, healthy mackerel are one of 15 foods rated to help clean the plaque from your arteries.

"Mackerel" Friederike C on 10/27/2017 12:57 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I miss fresh Mackerel. This is the best I have had in a can, which is also very hard to come by in this country.

"Mackerel in Oil" Lou on 7/13/2017 7:08 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Good taste; generous serving

"Yum" Lydia on 6/24/2017 3:51 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My husband's favorite canned fish. Loves it. His go to when hungry and does not want to fix anything for himself. Bought 24 tins.

"Tasty and Nourishing" Rene K on 6/5/2017 5:17 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These are tasty and nourishing. They have a mild flavor so I can slip them into a salad or fish dish and my husband doesn't notice (like he would with sardines). They make for an easy protein source that complements any vegetable.

"Mackerel Fantastic" Aaron on 2/25/2017 5:45 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The Mackerel is fantastice, cooked to perfection, but it is the olive oil they used that really hit the spot, I even drank the left over oil it was so good and had a slight fish taste to it. Thanks so much.

"Good product" Larisa L. on 1/20/2017 8:13 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: It was good on toast and butter. Would be nice to have it offered in tomato sauce.

"Amazing taste in a can! Who knew!" Stephanie S on 10/9/2016 3:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: A couple weeks ago at PBC2016 I had a sample of this canned Mackerel in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil and it was so good I bought 2 cases! I make a delicious Breakfast/Lunch Bowl with this yummy mackerel in a skillet I also add… avocado, greens, hot fresh pepper (like jalapeno) and a few tablespoons of bone broth. Saute until the greens wilt and serve on top of sunflower sprouts, microgreens, sauerkraut, salt and more olive oil to taste!

"pretty good" David B on 9/25/2016 6:20 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Not as tasty as the sardines, but because of the variety they offer when included with sardines and the ease of adding flavor, I always get them.

"Mackerel" Freda P on 8/5/2016 5:36 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The best I have ever had in the can. It's not fishy it doesn't upset my stomach they are really the best quality fish. Vital choice yes I just brought more.

"Canned Mackerel" Emma S on 5/19/2016 6:11 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Delicious

"Holy Mackerel" Manuel G on 3/28/2016 4:31 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: good stuff, great for a light nites snack. no sweets r greasy burgers. with crackers out of site. glad i found these.

"Canned Mackerel in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil 4-3/8 oz (24)" Manuela on 2/11/2016 5:59 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is my reliable source of Omega 3. Excellent product and excellent company.

"Best canned mackerel bar none" James S on 1/19/2016 12:58 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: As an avid fan of mackerel in all forms, I can say without reservation that, having tried MANY different canned mackerels, this is by far the best one out there. I'm also impressed by how much mackerel is packed into the can, in contrast to competing products.

"Delicious and Healthy Eating" Charles H on 1/18/2016 7:24 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Sardines are good, mackerel is better. I use it as a healthy topping on tasty green salads. However, any way you use it is a tasty, healthy and delicious meal.

"Canned Mackeral in extra olive oil 4-3/8 oz" Luanne D on 10/14/2015 12:36 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Very delicious

"Mackerel" Noah on 8/2/2015 3:10 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: These are quite good. Less oily than the sardines. I would buy again

"Excellent!" Steve Johnson on 4/30/2015 5:59 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I have compared this product to mackerel I have bought in specialty markets, and this product is superior. A great addition to a healthy dier!

"cvcvcvccvcvcvvcv" Manuela Paronzini on 4/24/2015 10:16 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: I thought mackerels would be bigger. Excellent product, though. Came one day after delivery day.

"Canned Mackerel" Cyrene Aksman on 4/18/2015 11:25 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Very tasty and nicely seasoned. No strong flavors, just delicious right out of the can. Reasonably priced.

"Canned Mackerel" Julio Zamora on 2/13/2015 10:33 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My family loves the Vital Choice canned mackerel!! Great taste and texture, only you can get here.

"A great find" James S on 1/22/2015 9:09 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Being a long-time mackerel fan, but having had to settle for canned mackerel from Asia (with all their unknown additives, etc.), I'm feel like I've found nirvana with VC's canned mackerel in olive oil. It has a wonderful, pure taste, and I know it's a healthier way to go. Thanks for a great product!

"My perfect lunch" Mike Rose on 12/12/2014 7:54 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I've always been a sardine fan but this mackerel is even better in my opinion. I get the type in extra virgin olive oil, dump about half the oil then add the juice of half a lemon and enjoy with some whole grain crackers, just an outstanding lunch. And I always order them in bulk because once in awhile Vital Choice is out of it and I hate to not have it available to me. Highly recommended.

"Mackerel in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil" Savannah Sophia on 12/11/2014 8:30 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: There are no words that explains how wonderful these Mackerels are from Vital Choice, as everything I've ever purchased from them is of supreme quality, fresh, and of the greatest taste no matter how I cook or use the foods - it shines each time! Thank you Vital Choice for being there for those of us looking for high quality foods today that enhance our well being! Savannah, Florida

"mackerel" Bonnie Taylor on 12/10/2014 5:44 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Like the sardines, these also are delicious! Nice pinky color, too. i'll definitely keep eating mackerel in organic olive oil.

"Just right" Diane on 10/9/2014 6:35 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Opened a can last night and like it so much I put an order in for mom.

"Hooked on mackerel" Ginny C. on 10/2/2014 1:25 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I've been buying Vital Choice canned salmon and sardines for years and recently tried the mackerel. Wow! If you love Vital Choice canned salmon and/or sardines, you'll love the canned mackerel!

"very tasty" Ayse on 8/22/2014 2:43 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: It is pretty flavorful fish. Garnishing with lemon, parsley, and paprika improves the experience..

"The Best" Michael Estell on 5/5/2014 12:17 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Absolutely the best canned mackerel I have ever eaten. Nice and mild. I truly enjoy these for a light snack or for lunch. Marvelous to say the least.

"Holy mackerel!!!" Vivian K. on 6/17/2013 1:04 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Sorry, couldn't help myself... these are NOTHING like the glass-jar mackerel I've had from Whole Foods which were skinned, deboned and tough. I'm a huge fan of VC's spiced sardines, so I thought I'd give the mackerel a shot given the super-high omega 3 scores it boasts. They are JUST as delicious as the sardines... only wish they made them spiced too!

"First time eating Mackerel" CadyMae on 2/2/2012 3:21 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: They were slightly larger than sardines, firmer, and the spine was easily removed. They were very good. I put lemon juice and pepper on them and ate them on saltines. I'd buy again and recommend to anyone on the fence about trying them. I will probably eat these every 3rd can of sardines. I liked the sardines just a little bit more but both were a tasty snack. Just enough to get you to your next meal.

Return to product details >>
Ad