Product Reviews

Canned Wild Dungeness Crab 6 oz can, hand packed

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
4.5

"Lined Cans" Debra Grant on 3/9/2019 11:22 AM Rating:
Review: The product is great. However, it is packed in lined cans. I would not have made this purchase if I had known about the lining. Hello Debra, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. The can linings add to protect against corrosion from the high acidity of shellfish. Our Customer Service Team would like to reach out to you shortly to discuss your order. The Vital Choice Team

"canned wild dungeness crab" helen on 1/31/2019 8:23 AM Rating:
Review: I was very disappointed with this product this was my first time buying very salty the crab itself was not as pictured and only very small amounts this is the first product I was not happy with. Hello Helen, We are very sorry to hear your disappointment in the canned Crab. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you shortly, Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Uses" Stephen A on 12/21/2018 1:38 PM Rating:
Review: Mine is going into a crab and shrimp macaroni salad for Christmas Day. After that I plan to make crab cakes.

"Ready" Elaine on 4/26/2018 9:18 AM Rating:
Review: Sweet succulent just right size for salad or sandwiches.

"Dungeness crab" Would rather not say on 4/12/2018 7:48 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent quality. Just like when we gathered our own crab by the sea.

"wild Dungeness Crab" WANDA O on 4/1/2018 9:55 AM Rating:
Review: All items are consistent, product and shipping.

"I love it, too expensive" Barbara on 3/11/2018 7:36 AM Rating:
Review: This is delicious stuff. I've used it in salad and pasta recipes and it's very good. This is my 2nd or 3rd order and I've never had a bad experience with any of it. It's an occasional treat for me due to the price being quite high, however. Wish I could afford it more often.

"Dungeness Crab" L West on 2/22/2018 4:21 AM Rating:
Review: Very, very good albeit very expensive. It is a lovely treat!

"Too salty, Not Enough Meat" Myra H on 2/9/2018 6:14 AM Rating:
Review: This was a disappointment and I won't be ordering again. It is not worth the cost since you do not get very much solid meat. It is a lot of wispy pieces in liquid and is too salty. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Tiny shreds of crab" Greg S on 12/21/2017 1:08 PM Rating:
Review: There is one decent sized piece of crab per can. The rest is tiny bits and pieces and shreds of crab. Not even 1/2 bite sized. If I buy a big alaskan king crab leg or two for the same price, I get giant pieces of crab. This was the only disappointing thing I got in my order. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"It’s worth the price" Lorraine P on 12/6/2017 11:04 AM Rating:
Review: I put the Dungeness crab in a big salad and my husband and I love it.

"Love this crab" Jack W on 12/2/2017 5:17 AM Rating:
Review: This crab is great just right out of the can .. Highly recommend !!!

"Not as good as last order" susan on 11/10/2017 4:50 AM Rating:
Review: The crab meat did not taste as fresh and sweet as the first time I ordered it. Thank you for sharing your comments. A customer service rep will be contacting you today.

"Best Canned Crab Ever" Mitchell M on 9/19/2017 9:31 AM Rating:
Review: I purchased this product to use at Burning Man. It lived up to its billing, wasn't much different than fresh crab meat. There was no tinny taste and it tasted like crab (nor surimi). Pricey product, but if you want real crab and fresh/refrigerated/frozen isn't an option, this is a good choice.

"Love this crab 🦀" Jack on 9/9/2017 6:04 AM Rating:
Review: Like everything else ordered through VC, bsolutely love the crab .. right out of the can or mixed as a dip .. Phenomenal !!!

"Excelent!" DK on 8/18/2017 6:17 AM Rating:
Review: No strong smell & tastes great!

"Wild Dungeness Crab wildly delicious!" Leigh Willmore on 8/17/2017 11:34 AM Rating:
Review: This sweet crab is a treat not to be missed. Nor is using Vital Choice. Their products are the best available and their customer service is unparalleled.

"canned crab" Larry G Welch on 8/11/2017 11:34 AM Rating:
Review: excellent

"Delicious!" ChicGiGi on 7/6/2017 3:23 AM Rating:
Review: This crab is delicious! There are some big pieces in the can along with mostly shredded meat. The crab tastes like the sea, a little salty, so use salt sparingly.

"Incredible Taste" Lynn on 6/23/2017 6:39 AM Rating:
Review: I don't ever buy canned anything - until this canned crab. Amazed at how delicious and fresh tasting it is. Love it and so does my family!

"Very Good" Dolores M on 6/19/2017 9:34 AM Rating:
Review: I do prefer to purchase your crab claws but when I can't afford it this is the next best thing to eating crab. I use it to make crab cakes & salads.

"Very Disappointed" Cynthia Z on 5/8/2017 5:16 AM Rating:
Review: I'm shock that Vital Choice sells canned crab of this quality & charging almost $20.00ea. We used 2 of the 6 cans purchased, - just shreds of scrap meat, nothing like the photo describing the product. I've been trying to get a return label to return the 4 unopened cans. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the Canned Dungeness Crab. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"CRAB" Karan Becker on 5/1/2017 2:42 AM Rating:
Review: EXCELLENT AS CLOSE TO FRESH AS CANNED CAN GET

"Great Eats" Delores E on 3/24/2017 10:13 AM Rating:
Review: This crab is pricey but is worth every penny. This is not my first time buying it; will not be my last.

"Unfortunately...." Michelle on 2/24/2017 8:23 PM Rating:
Review: Unfortunately I was disappointed in the Dungeness crab. Immediately upon opening the can I noticed the meat was a grey color and no decent sized chunks of meat. Just shreds like it was all joint meat. Same with the other two cans. I love that I can trust that it's super low mercury but the quality of meat was about as good as supermarket canned crab. I do love love love the smoked salmon however. Vital choice is the best....maybe this was just a bad batch of crab. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry that this was disappointing as we offer a 100% guarantee. Our Customer Service team will contact you today so that this can be resolved for you.

"Dungeness crab" Garry H on 1/20/2017 7:02 AM Rating:
Review: Best crab. New England rock crab also very good but my wife and I always enjoy dungeness

"Crab" Sandy Fernung on 1/13/2017 6:02 AM Rating:
Review: This is a reorder. Lovely pieces of crab without shells. Use this in tons of recipes. Well worth the price.

"Bad review" Mark Taylor on 1/12/2017 10:08 PM Rating:
Review: Bad. Not cleaned well, other stuff not meat in there. Didn't taste good. I do much better with Bumble Bee. At 19 bucks a can I expected it to be perfect. Hello Mark, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. Our Customer Service Team would like to contact you shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Sublime" Robin A on 1/9/2017 4:27 PM Rating:
Review: VItal Choice is the best! This crab is just sublime.

"Lunch" Bryan D on 1/7/2017 12:26 PM Rating:
Review: Had this for lunch, made a crab salad with organic mayo red onion salt and pepper over avocado. So good, well definitely buy more

"dungeness crab" Susan A on 12/8/2016 10:20 PM Rating:
Review: really the best canned crab I have ever used.

"Canned Crab" Linda S on 10/6/2016 6:35 PM Rating:
Review: I prepared it with just lemon, salt and pepper. I was just ok. Not worth it to me. I'd rather go with fresh crab in the future. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the Canned Dungeness Crab. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you, Vital Choice Team

"Canned crab" Christine on 9/19/2016 8:22 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent taste and texture

"So Good!" Norma on 9/5/2016 12:32 PM Rating:
Review: Absolutely delicious. It's expensive but I would buy it again.

"Canned Dungeness Crab" Jean C on 8/5/2016 2:15 PM Rating:
Review: It has very good flavor for a canned product. Tastes great in salad and crab cakes.

"Great" Robert S on 7/15/2016 1:43 PM Rating:
Review: Canned Dungeness Crab is great in spaghetti sauce

"Disappointing" David S on 7/14/2016 12:47 PM Rating:
Review: This is the first Vital Choice product that I found disappointing. The crab was stringy, the flavor was muted, and the cost was excessive, considering the quality of the product. Our Customer Service Team would like to contact you shortly to discuss your order. Thank you, The Customer Service Team

"Canned dugneness crab" Mir D on 6/15/2016 6:11 AM Rating:
Review: I was very satisfied with the texture & flavor.

"Great Product" Dennis K on 6/14/2016 7:32 AM Rating:
Review: This is almost as good as fresh crab. Living in Arizona, at times it's hard to find good fresh dungeness crab. This is the next best thing to fresh.

"Canned Dungeness Crab" Sheri on 4/19/2016 7:36 AM Rating:
Review: We love this dungeness crab for our salads, sandwiches, and soups. Of course, we love anything that comes from Vital Choice and have for many years. Always satisfied. Always. Thank you Vital Choice.

"Great Product" Vicky on 2/18/2016 4:30 PM Rating:
Review: The flavor of this crab is wonderful. It is worth the price.

"An acid revelation" Thomas McGuire on 2/12/2016 12:33 PM Rating:
Review: The order had to be returned because citric acid had been added to the crab, of which I was unaware at the time of the order. Unfortunately, I cannot tolerate citric acid and must avoid it. Hello Thomas, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. I am sorry to hear you cannot tolerate citric acid. I do see we are exchanging the product. Thank you, The Vital Choice Customer Service Team

"YUM" Tom R on 8/27/2015 1:09 AM Rating:
Review: Best canned crab I've ever tasted...

"Crab" B Wjoodmansee on 8/5/2015 11:27 AM Rating:
Review: Very delicious. Better than other canned crab I've had. Tastes like fresh crab.

"Canned Crab" Ann on 4/25/2015 8:46 AM Rating:
Review: I love crab and it is so convenient to have it in a can. I take it with me for a delicious lunch or snack.

"Dungeness crab" Peggy hughes on 4/23/2015 12:21 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent! Very convenient and tastes great. Love it! I'll be back for more.

"Order this every time" G. Metze on 4/15/2015 5:51 AM Rating:
Review: Best crab I've ordered in a can. Can't be beat.

"canned crab meat" Brenda Horan on 4/5/2015 5:36 AM Rating:
Review: Don't know only hope it's a 5...Haven't tried it yet....it just has to be good,like the old canned Geisha Alaska king crab....you are probably too young to remember that brand....you will know it was good, when I reorder multiple cans, to share s/h...thanks for your follow up...

"Quality!" Lisha Daigle on 2/25/2015 8:31 PM Rating:
Review: Delicious crab. I trust the quality of the crab meat provided by Vital Choice. Karen is the best customer service representative ever!

"great product" Elizabeth Rodriguez on 1/11/2015 4:03 AM Rating:
Review: This is so much better than your normal canned crab. It has large, meaty chucks of crab. I use it in so many recipes but my favorite is just to toss it into some hot pasta. Delicious

"Dungeness Crab" Renee Henry on 11/13/2014 4:03 AM Rating:
Review: This Dungeness crab tastes awesome and super convenient to have. It is great right out of the can but easy to use as a side with a salad or add a can to my fish soup. Good stuff!!

"Amazing" Trish DeThomas on 9/23/2014 11:46 AM Rating:
Review: I just tried the crab today for the first time. I was afraid to try it simply because I had gotten some at the grocery store that was so awful I had to throw it in the garbage. Thus, I was afraid to try crab again. I just have to say this stuff is amazing! There were large chunks of crab meat in the can and the taste was wonderful. I only ordered one can but I can tell you I will be back for more!

"The best canned Dungeness but pricey" Ian Gillson on 5/16/2014 4:23 PM Rating:
Review: This is my favorite canned Dungeness Crab and I have tried most. The crab is very sweet and tender. It's just a shame it is so expensive!

"Nice surprise" Nicole Pratt on 4/23/2014 11:08 AM Rating:
Review: This is my first time buying and eating this product. It's not something I enjoyed by itself and out of the can. However, I did mix it with the Thai Coconut soup from Vital Choice and boy it was delicious together! Some products are best mixed with others to get their full flavor.

Return to product details >>