Product Reviews

Wild Alaskan Sablefish 12 oz portion, skin-on/bone-in

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Best Fish Ever!" Shelley on 3/3/2019 12:30 PM Rating:
Review: Sablefish is possibly the most delicious fish on the planet! Thanks Vital Choice for making it available!

"Sablefish" Bill Q on 2/7/2019 10:34 AM Rating:
Review: My wife and I buy the 12Oz Sablefish and split it. Eat once a week. Unbelievable fish. Very tender, A little pricey but this is our treat for the week.

"Sablefish is Outstanding" Bob Quinn on 1/28/2019 3:48 PM Rating:
Review: Sablefish is easy to prepare and our family definitely loves it. Never any leftovers.

"Amazing Seafood!" Jo on 1/27/2019 9:23 AM Rating:
Review: Everything we order from Vital Choice is great. This sable fish is the top of our list for an amazing, moist and delicious fish. We most often pan sear it and then accompany it with sauted spinach! A perfect meal. This serving size of 12 oz makes it easy to serve 3 or 2 with some leftover for a salad the next day! Try it you will be delighted.

"Salmon and sable fish" Margaret I on 12/7/2018 1:47 PM Rating:
Review: I have been ordering from Vital Choice for over 10 years. I have loved every order, I have made. You can taste how much better Vital Choice is compared to the grocery store

"At last..." Audrey B on 12/6/2018 7:10 PM Rating:
Review: ...sablefish (black cod) in “decent-sized” portions!! I’m addicted to sablefish and the 4 oz. portions don’t quite make it ...always have to bake two portions (8 oz total) plus a veg to make a satisfying dinner. But the 12 oz portions hit the spot! Just divide them in half and voila...perfect!!

"Fabulous Black Cod" Sarah on 6/11/2018 9:35 AM Rating:
Review: As always, Vital Choice provides an excellent product. It came packed with ample dry ice so there was no thawing (a potential problem with the early heat in the West). My husband and I are big fish eaters so the portion was just right for the two of us. The 12 ounce portions are most economical. Something we will order and again especially given its omega - 3 FA profile.

"SABLEFISH" Joanj M on 6/1/2018 4:36 AM Rating:
Review: I had never tasted this fish before I was very surprised that everything you said about it was true.loved it

"Alway amazing! Buttery, flaky light white fish - best fish ever" Sunday on 5/20/2018 3:56 AM Rating:
Review: We love VitalChoice’s Alaskan Sablefish. Its light, buttery, mild delicate texture makes it an easy go to for our family. My husband and I split the 12oz portion. It does have small bones so, it’s better for ages that can pick out a fish bone.

"Sablefish" John Troy on 5/19/2018 11:27 AM Rating:
Review: Sablefish is my favorite fish and VitalChoice has the best you can find (if you can find it at all). Needless to say I am a permanent customer now. If you have never tried it you will be pleasantly surprised. Sablefish is extremely versatile, and its high-fat content makes it forgiving to the novice cook because the fat acts as a buffer against overcooking. It's the easiest fish to cook, impossible to screw it up!

"Sablefish 12oz" Nancy B on 2/15/2018 4:47 AM Rating:
Review: This fish has a delicate flavor and we love this size

"Excellent" KB on 12/30/2017 5:57 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent product. The best, great texture, not to flaky, clean, delicious taste.

"Perfect for Two" JR from Chicago on 12/7/2017 10:33 AM Rating:
Review: I broil this 12-oz portion, using one of my favorite dry marinades, either on the outdoor grill or in the oven. It's always moist and delicious -- and the perfect size for two fish-loving adults!

"The best" Cynthia F on 9/9/2017 7:07 AM Rating:
Review: This is the most delicious fish I have ever eaten. Period. You can do many things with it but mostly I just bake it in the over with salt and pepper. It really needs nothing else.

"Perfect for Two" Janet in Chicago on 8/3/2017 6:04 AM Rating:
Review: Whether grilled outside, or baked in the oven, this delectable 12-oz portion of Sablefish is the star of a perfect dinner for two!

"Comparing to SEA BASS" KBJ on 4/28/2017 4:57 PM Rating:
Review: I always wanted to try the Sablefish to see how it compares to a favorite - Chilean Sea Bass. I cut the roast into two 6 oz. fillets and slow cooked it at 275 for 29 minutes to just done. Used a little oil, lemon pepper and sea salt. Bones and skin not a problem. We found the fish to be very bland and soft. Flaked nice with a lot of water coming out between flakes. Still prefer the Sea Bass with more favor and firmer flakes.

"Simply Delicious" Lorna Bogues on 2/3/2017 9:09 AM Rating:
Review: This is the first time I purchased sablefish. It said black cod so I was anticipating a taste similar to the cod I'd always purchased. Well, surprise, surprise. This fish has a mild, sweet, delicate taste. Absolutely tasty delicious. The downside is, if you are watching your fat consumption, you are going to have to monitor portions.

"Black Cod" Monique on 2/3/2017 5:23 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious and as always excellent quality. Kids love fish when it's this good.

"Too Good!" anya on 1/15/2017 10:17 AM Rating:
Review: This fish is seriously so delicious I thought of writing a bad review so others don't buy it. I'm greedy and want it all to myself and want the price to stay reasonable. It's the best fish I've ever eaten! My new favorite fish. Package arrived frozen solid all the way to Maine! Great company, thank you!

"Excellent mild tasting fish" Glenn S on 12/25/2016 7:34 AM Rating:
Review: This fish when lightly baked with a little butter and lemon is like eating butter. Delivery was quick and in excellent frozen condition...will definitely purchase again.

"I just can't stay away from this stuff!" Nancy N. on 12/10/2016 7:08 PM Rating:
Review: This delicate fish has a mild, yet rich flavor and is a snap to prepare. Once thawed, I just bake at 325 degrees for 30 minutes and serve "as is" - no seasoning or sauce necessary (in my opinion). I keep meaning to try something else here, but just can't manage to pass this up,

"Delicious Black Cod" Lori B on 12/8/2016 8:08 AM Rating:
Review: I was hesitant to get frozen Black Cod, as we can frequently get it fresh locally. But I wanted to try the convenience of having it available at home. I was surprised to find it tasted as delicious as the cod I buy fresh. It was moist, tender. I will definitely stock up when it is on sale again. Thank you!

"alaskan sablefish black cod" Glenn on 11/26/2016 2:00 PM Rating:
Review: the cooked fish is like eating melted butter

"The six pack is a great value I ordered 2" Nancy N. on 11/3/2016 10:45 AM Rating:
Review: This is my second order - I love this tender and delicate fish. I cut each roast in half for 2 six ounce portions and bake as is - no extra seasoning needed.

"rich and flavorful" Jo T on 9/29/2016 11:12 AM Rating:
Review: I just salt & pepper, and grill for about 4 minutes per side. It's very rich and filling, and the 12 oz size easily feeds my family of four. The skin is particularly tasty.

"Tender, melting texture and rich taste...ahhhh" Nancy N. on 9/14/2016 2:27 PM Rating:
Review: Baked one roast plain last night - needs no seasoning whatsoever. I'm glad I bought the 6 roast package. A+ for awesome!

"Sabel Fish" Vincent Orlando on 4/12/2016 7:13 AM Rating:
Review: First time ever had it. Loved the unique flavor!

"black cod" Linda P on 1/7/2016 7:14 AM Rating:
Review: Absolutely delicious! I have been looking for a nice tender succulent type of fish and this is it! I could only be happier if you offered up some inspiring recipes to honor this gift from the sea.

"Sable roast" Terri on 11/25/2015 12:10 PM Rating:
Review: Fresh! Delicious! Recommended by doctor and will continue adding this tasty nutrient enriched food to my diet.

"Arrived completely thawed-did not eat!" Rita V S on 10/8/2015 8:15 PM Rating:
Review: Due to a wrong zip code on the shipping label, the package did not arrive on it's scheduled day of 10/1. I live in AZ and it was still 100+ degrees! The fish sat an entire extra day in the heat and a hot truck. Not happy! Hello Rita, Thank you for choosing Vital Choice. We are sorry for your disappointment. It appears that the zip code which you provided in your web order was off by a digit, which resulted in the delay of your delivery. We do our best to fulfill each order in a timely fashion and packaged well for the appropriate time in transit. We will contact you to discuss this unfortunate outcome. Thank you, The Vital Choice Customer Service Team

"Succulent and Tender" Janet on 10/8/2015 5:17 AM Rating:
Review: Cooked on the grill perfect flake, so tender and just delicious!

"I love this fish" Barbara on 4/1/2015 9:46 AM Rating:
Review: Glad to see the larger portion of this utterly delicious fish. This fish can be baked in the oven with a touch of lemon and garlic and taste like a gourmet chef was in the kitchen instead of me. And no worries about over-cooking, because it's still moist and delicious even after a few extra minutes in the pan. Good stuff!

Return to product details >>