Product Reviews

Wild Alaskan Halibut 6 oz portions, skinless/boneless

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Going downhill" Maureen D on 8/29/2019 3:15 PM Rating:
Review: Very disappointed in recent months with Vital Choice. Just got my 6 piece Halibut & 3 pieces were tails with brown streaks all over & didn’t taste super fresh. I was told the 6 piece quantity of Halibut would not contain tails so that’s what I’ve been ordering. My last two orders contained half of them tails & not good tasting. Not sure if I will order again. - Thank you for sharing your feedback with us regarding this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you today. Thank you!

"Never Disappointed" DeeDee Boyington on 8/10/2019 5:01 PM Rating:
Review: Have made many recipes with the wild Halibut. Most recently made Lemon Lime Citrus Halibut with Mango Salsa. Absolutely delicious! Even though I live in Florida, I still order seafood from Vital Choice. I am addicted to their quality!

"Halibut" ELIANE ROSENBERG on 6/26/2019 1:49 PM Rating:
Review: Have been buying from Vitalchoice for many years, always buy the salmon, cod and sable, occasionally I would buy the halibut but stopped doing so because the price went up. Recently I got again the salmon and decided to give another try on halibut and pay the high price... well, very disappointed that they really sent me small pieces and noticed they cut one side on the edge what makes even smaller and Thinner. Will no longer buy halibut from them. Not to say they were behind on my delivery day because of damage on shipping and they even didn't notify me. Hello Eliane, Our Customer Service Team would like to reach out to you and discuss your order. The Vital Choice Team

"Best Seafood" Steven M on 6/21/2019 4:45 PM Rating:
Review: I just loved the taste and texture of the salmon filets. Best fish ever. Well worth the price.

"Excellent" Deb A on 6/10/2019 8:16 AM Rating:
Review: We love the 6 oz. portions of Wild Alaskan Halibut. I usually prepare two portions and use leftovers in another dish during the week. The fish is always fresh and delicious. My go to recipe is to spread Dijon mustart over the top of the filet then sprinkle panko breadcrumbs that have been mixed with olive oil, a minced garlic clove, and fresh herbs (usually thyme and parsley). Bake at 400F 10-15 minutes until topping is golden.

"Reviewer was wrong" Dana on 5/23/2019 7:20 AM Rating:
Review: I came back to order more halibut and read some of the reviews. I was concerned that one reviewer said the halibut quality had gone down with lots of brown streaks... I went ahead and ordered anyways. The halibut I received was pure white, thick with no brown at all. It is very, very good and I will order again!

"OKAY" Suzanne Tedeschi on 4/18/2019 6:40 AM Rating:
Review: I was only happy with the halibut my first couple of orders. Lately the halibut has had a lot of brown going all through it where it used to be a nice solid white. The brown parts taste disgusting. I feel the halibut hasn't been as firm either, much more watery, Definitely not happy with the last 2 orders I received. Halibut is too expensive to have to pick around the brown & I am left with barely anything to eat! Not sure I will order again. Hello Suzanne, We are sorry to hear your disappointment in the Halibut. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you shortly to discuss your order. The Vital Choice Team

"Too simple (wink)" Shu M on 10/23/2018 4:20 PM Rating:
Review: Oh my, these are delishous! Thaw, rinse, dry, squirt of fresh lemon juice, salt pepper and butter .... bake 8-10 min at 400 degrees. Careful! Don’t overlook. I serve w jasmine rice and roasted organic baby Brussels sprouts coated w olive oil, garlic powder and Parmesan. Enjoy these subtle delicious flavors!

"Awesome!" Lynn D on 9/8/2018 9:20 AM Rating:
Review: Even though it was 95 degrees out, my package of Halibut was hard as a rock still; packed with care with plenty of dry ice. The Vital Choice Halibut tastes as fresh as if it came right off the boat! It doesn't even compare to the Halibut bought in the fish market of my grocery store. Thank you!

"Great tasting !" Barb S on 9/6/2018 8:50 AM Rating:
Review: This is wonderful grilled or broiled. Very flavorful —just make sure to not overcook it—as it can dry out quickly. But coked just the right amount it’s famtastic.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Jayne H on 7/21/2018 10:04 AM Rating:
Review: Love this product, love this company, love their customer service,educational emails, sustainability and environmental policies!

"Halibut" Kelli P on 7/18/2018 6:38 PM Rating:
Review: Always fresh and full of flavor I love this company because all the fish is wild-caught and the halibut especially is very good

"Special Treat" Megan A on 6/22/2018 6:44 AM Rating:
Review: Great quality! We love when Vital Choice runs specials on them. They are a special treat for for us!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Lynn on 6/11/2018 7:20 AM Rating:
Review: Really great product - extra good with red pepper coulis sauce!

"MyHusband LOVES it" Delores C on 6/9/2018 5:19 AM Rating:
Review: For 2 years I have been eating the great wild Salmon. My husband finally said he would try the Halibut. Now he eats it at least once every week. He loves the taste and the fact that it is always available in our freezer. Great quality, fair pricing, delicious and convenient.....

"Halibut" Ellen on 5/28/2018 5:34 PM Rating:
Review: Have been looking for a good source for Alaskan Halibut. The fish is perfect.

"Wonderful" Ed M on 5/27/2018 10:24 AM Rating:
Review: This halibut is delicious. Lightly breaded with Panko and sauteed in EVOO, it tasted so good that I never used the lemon I had sliced for it. Also still very good cold or warmed up the next day.

"HALIBUT" PATRICIA KOORS on 5/19/2018 12:36 PM Rating:
Review: DELICIOUS

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" John M. Kestler on 5/18/2018 10:15 AM Rating:
Review: Just received order so it is to soon, but i my second order, an am very pleased with the Halibut so far!!!

"Great halibut" Barb S on 5/17/2018 4:21 AM Rating:
Review: Great tasting fish--make on the grill or pan roast them. Very flavorful.

"Alaskan halibut" Trevor on 5/11/2018 5:27 PM Rating:
Review: I ordered the Halibut due to my inability to tolerate fat very well, and as halibut is a pretty lean fish it works out very well for my system. Now, in regards to the quality of the fish itself. It's truly spectacular and as long as you cook the Halibut well you will be rewarded with a tasty piece of fish. It's certainly some of the best halibut I've ever had. I might not recommend this fish for beginner Cooks because if you don't do it right there's not a lot of forgiveness. Of course, the best way to learn is try so maybe go ahead and order it anyways!

"Halibut" Susan F on 5/11/2018 5:37 AM Rating:
Review: Exceeded all expectations

"Halibut" Marty F on 5/11/2018 2:10 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent fish. And good, prompt service.

"Love the halibut!" Ronald S on 5/10/2018 6:32 AM Rating:
Review: Wild Alaskan Halibut has become a weekly tradition in our family! My wife has found many excellent ways to prepare it. I especially like no bones and skin.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Judith B on 5/5/2018 9:10 AM Rating:
Review: Your recommendation that halibut should be cooked for 7-8 min seems too long to me. I cooked mine on a high fire for five min and it seemed a little dry. I’ll try a lower fire next time, but definitely will not cook for more than 5 min.

"Great Halibut" Carol on 5/4/2018 8:24 AM Rating:
Review: The high quality, the flavor, the speed of delivery, the environmental packaging, it all adds up to the best fish. It's all I get. I always have Vital Choice fish in my freezer and use them weekly. Makes dinner so easy.

"Fish purchase" Janice R on 4/26/2018 3:34 AM Rating:
Review: Very happy with my purchase

"It doesn’t get any better" Jean M on 4/14/2018 4:48 AM Rating:
Review: I’ve been a customer for a number of years and have never been disappointed I generally poach it and either put in salad Or plain with chutney on it.

"Best halibut ever" Gail H on 4/12/2018 3:20 PM Rating:
Review: We are totally enjoying our halibut. The 6 oz portions are a perfect serving size, shipment was prompt, packaging perfect. Very happy consumer /customers! Thanks VC !

"Yum!" Allison S on 4/12/2018 9:22 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious! Very close to the fresh I fell in love with in my travels to Vancouver Island, BC!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Laura B on 4/8/2018 5:19 PM Rating:
Review: My husband and son said it was the best fish they have ever had!!!

"Satisfaction of Product & Service" Florence on 4/6/2018 6:34 AM Rating:
Review: I've ordered from Vital Choice for a few years now and am never disappointed in the product or the service.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut/bonelss" Donna Cowin on 4/2/2018 11:56 AM Rating:
Review: The best Halibut I've had in a long time ~ thank you!

"NOT AS GOOD AS WE EXPECTED" Joanna K on 4/1/2018 12:48 PM Rating:
Review: Maybe we are spoiled because we LOVE your sablefish, but we found the halibut to be tough, dry and very bland! I cooked it slowly and made sure it was not overcooked. The portions seemed small, but I weighed them with my scale and they were accurate. Being 6.0 to 6.3#. We liked the fact that they were skinless. We do not like skin on any fish, including salmon. It makes it taste way to fishy for us, and then I have to use a large amount of lemon juice. Nothing like the halibut my mom used to make when I was young. -Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"fabulous halibut!" Elisabeth on 3/30/2018 10:48 AM Rating:
Review: Top quality halibut...as good as any we've had in the best restaurants!

"Halibut" Donna G on 3/29/2018 2:36 PM Rating:
Review: Exquisite. Flesh is firm, and flavor is delicious! DG

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Kathy B on 3/29/2018 9:45 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent quality and taste. We BarBQ in basket and are pleased with results. Will try other types of fish in future

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Donna Marshall Ziehm on 3/29/2018 6:56 AM Rating:
Review: The Wild Alaskan Halibut from Vital Choice is the best! There are so many recipes on the Vital Choice website that enhance the flavor. The texture of the halibut is buttery and flaky.

"The best" Ray on 3/23/2018 4:10 PM Rating:
Review: Firm, fresh tasting in many different recipes, especially Halibut Picccata.

"Wild alaskan halibut" Joanne D on 3/22/2018 4:10 AM Rating:
Review: Never disappointed. Easy packaging, prompt delivery, excellent product.

"The Best!" Susie Sutton on 3/17/2018 3:20 AM Rating:
Review: Halibut is one of our favorite fish. This did not disappoint. The 6oz portions are quite large...will order 4oz next time.

"Good Fish" Vctor E. Giuffrida on 3/16/2018 10:58 AM Rating:
Review: All your shipments arrive in good shape, and the product has great taste!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Linda on 3/15/2018 8:38 AM Rating:
Review: Great fish...thanks for asking!

"Halibut" Barry Q on 2/22/2018 9:57 AM Rating:
Review: Taste was out of this world

"Great Halibut" Moorea on 2/16/2018 6:14 AM Rating:
Review: Prepared as “Halibut Alieska” was delicious, my only remark is about fish portions not being equal, I wanted 6oz and one of them was more like 4oz, difficult to even out but other than that it was perfect.

"love halibut" debra on 2/15/2018 6:12 AM Rating:
Review: so glad i found this supplier. this is very well packed, fresh and the perfect sized fillets. easy to grill, great flavor.

"Halibut 6oz" Nancy B on 2/15/2018 4:43 AM Rating:
Review: This size is good but the 12oz pieces are much better

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Sandra D on 2/9/2018 4:48 AM Rating:
Review: I read the reviews first and not one bad review. I decided to give it a try and it was well worth the price. Excellent, fresh and meaty fish!

"Outstanding Quality!" William S on 2/3/2018 8:24 AM Rating:
Review: Not only outstanding quality, but outstanding taste & freshness. Just like it came off the boat, out of the ocean!

"Wild Alaskan halibut" Kelli P on 2/1/2018 6:15 PM Rating:
Review: Very fresh and a really nice portion. Good flavor

"Halibut" Nancy on 1/21/2018 10:10 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent! We are so impressed, customers forever. Best halibut, couldn't have tasted fresher if we had just caught it ourselves.

"Halibut" Robert F on 1/20/2018 3:42 AM Rating:
Review: Vital, has by far the VERY best customer service.

"Halibut" John P on 1/19/2018 6:48 AM Rating:
Review: Vital choice fish are flash frozen once they are line caught. In other words, unlike wild caught fish you can buy from places like Whole Foods for less than half the price per pound., Vital Choice fish do not linger unfrozen, subject to absorbing water and worse yet, losing most of their flavor within the first two hours of being caught. You can still get amazingly delicious fish from deep off the Alaskan coast by small volume high unit cost businesses, like Vital Choice and maybe only Vital Choice. is it worth the extra cost? Once you taste Vital Choice’s halibut, salmon, scallops and other fish, you will conclude like myself that value is worth more than cost, much more. Bon appetite.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" ELIZA R on 1/18/2018 6:13 AM Rating:
Review: This is a good fish and the portions are just perfect.

"Delicious" Joyce B on 1/18/2018 5:17 AM Rating:
Review: Fresh and delicious! Arrives to my home in Florida in vacuum packed portions on dry ice. Vital Choice is my only choice for Halibut.

"Review of order" Mike D on 1/18/2018 4:48 AM Rating:
Review: Delivery as promised, product packed perfectly and frozen. Fresh looking and I had some the next day after defrosting and it was delish

"The best I have bought" Judy L on 1/13/2018 2:42 AM Rating:
Review: This halibut is the better than anything you can buy in the store. I bake it in the Nu'wave oven at 4 minutes per side and it comes out moist and flaky.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut 6 oz portions, skinless/boneless" Robert L J on 1/6/2018 6:51 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent ! Perfect sized !

"6 oz Halibut" Barbara T on 1/5/2018 4:13 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent Halibut

"Delicious" Marcia Mundell on 12/21/2017 8:56 AM Rating:
Review: This is the best halibut my husband and I have had. We are VITAL CHOICE customers for life now.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Anne B on 12/15/2017 11:31 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent service and packaging-here in several days from order. Halibut is perfect as usual.

"halibut" lucia on 12/9/2017 1:47 PM Rating:
Review: never had it..tried it the other night love it!!

"Always have it on hand!" Susan H on 11/23/2017 12:19 PM Rating:
Review: Tender, flaky, tasty. Our whole family loves your Alaskan Halibut!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Judith on 11/16/2017 6:19 AM Rating:
Review: this halibut has so much texture and flavor. Pan seared in butter and season salt and pepper. Perfect

"Very good" Cheri C on 10/27/2017 2:35 PM Rating:
Review: The halibut was fabulous. We pan seared it with salt and pepper and EVOO and finished with a little brown butter.

"So good" Laurie on 10/23/2017 8:09 PM Rating:
Review: My only regret is that I only ordered 6. Used four tonight for company. Will make it a bigger order next time

"Love those little fish fillets!" Nancy on 10/12/2017 8:43 AM Rating:
Review: Best Halibut and Salmon we've found. Thanks for the small fish they taste much better with less aging.

"Alaskan halibut" Gerhard S on 10/5/2017 11:32 AM Rating:
Review: Started to use it. Very good.

"Delicious!" Sheryl on 10/5/2017 7:34 AM Rating:
Review: Best halibut I've ever had, every time I order it it looks, cooks, and tastes the same, super delicious with no surprises.

"Everyone who eats, orders!" Sharon Gottsacker on 9/23/2017 5:04 PM Rating:
Review: I have ordered and reordered the salmon, halibut, sole and tuna poke kit for our remote lake house in Wisconsin. I will order more for our other house in Dallas. Love your fish!

"Wonderful halibut" Betsy S on 9/16/2017 5:50 PM Rating:
Review: I know this will be wonderful fish. My husband and I used to buy the random size 5 lbs of halibut and that was always fantastic. I have no doubt this will be fantastic too. Love Vital Choice.

"Halibut" Garry H on 9/1/2017 5:42 AM Rating:
Review: as always, perfect

"Simply, The Best!" Mo O on 8/28/2017 2:12 PM Rating:
Review: I live in a small town,very out of the way. My order,(halibut) came in 2 days! I'm from the coast where fresh seafood is a given. I've missed it greatly. Vital Choice delivered the ocean,100%!!! How I cook it: Dust in a mix of cornstarch, crushed panko and salt gives a light, crispy crust. Preheat skillet over med heat, Add a tbs. butter. Sear fish one minute, both sides.Lower heat a bit, cook 1 min 30 sec more each side, add more butter as necessary. Let rest 1or2 minutes. Off heat, add some more butter, deglazing pan, pour over the fish.Sprinkle with some dill or other herbs. Moist, tender, delicious! More satisfying than the best steak I've ever had. DO NOT OVERCOOK!!! If fish is tough or dry you have cooked it too long... (if underdone, can always cook a bit longer) Highest quality company. Highest quality seafood. Treat yourself!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Michelle D on 8/25/2017 5:58 AM Rating:
Review: Amazing... coming back for more!

"Great fish story" Weyman Squyres on 8/11/2017 4:29 PM Rating:
Review: Love the quality and fresh flavor of the halibut we received. Have bought it before and will buy it again.

"Halibut Filets Awesome" Mo O on 8/3/2017 6:18 PM Rating:
Review: As a transplant from Boston to New Mexico for almost 30 years my fondest memories included the fresh seafood that I shared with my Nana every week. I was missing it so much that I took a chance on your company mostly because of your description of processing and sustainability. I was not disappointed. I have heard many people complain that when they cook fish it makes the house smell 'fishy'. Well they should know that should not happen if your fish is fresh. When you open the packaging the fish should smell like the ocean. You guys passed the test with flying colors! And cooked very briefly, a bit less than 5 minutes total, it comes out tender and moist every time. Am about to order again as I so much look forward to having my fish dinner every week and it reminds me of times spent with my beautiful grandmother. Thank you and Bless you for the care you take.

"Always love and enjoy the halibut" Sandra on 7/27/2017 10:47 AM Rating:
Review: Love this product

"Excellent" Linda M on 7/8/2017 10:04 AM Rating:
Review: Best halibut

"Disappointed" Mary on 7/2/2017 7:53 AM Rating:
Review: I ordered the fish for a special occasion dinner where I was entertaining guests, my fish arrived with way too many end pieces. I would have preferred to see the fish before I purchased it so I could have had a better presentation for my guests, I was expecting better from Vital Choice. Thank you for providing this feedback. A customer service associate will contact you today.

"Delicious" Ronnie L on 6/29/2017 4:10 AM Rating:
Review: Wonderful tasting fish! Love that I can now keep it handy in my freezer.

"Family Favorite" Carol A on 6/16/2017 5:18 AM Rating:
Review: I have been buying Vital Choice Halibut for a couple of years now. It's by far our family's favorite fish. The quality of VC is excellent. We prepare them in one of two ways, but my fave is to wrap them in foil with fresh herbs, garlic & a little bit of olive oil and cook for 11 min on the grill. It is delicious and easy every single time!

"halibut" tom p on 6/10/2017 9:54 AM Rating:
Review: Outstanding white fish.Delicate flavor.

"Halibut" Sarah on 6/9/2017 3:35 AM Rating:
Review: Great product. Yes buy it.

"customer" Dona on 6/2/2017 10:13 AM Rating:
Review: I received my order on time. The fresh items were perfectly frozen. I baked some halibut filets in garlic, lemon, thyme butter, then browned them in the oven - superbe! So fresh, light and flavorful.

"6oz portion halibuts" Mary H on 5/21/2017 3:36 PM Rating:
Review: These were wonderful. Served to guests with a mango salsa. Very good.

"Halibut" Diane K on 5/19/2017 5:45 AM Rating:
Review: Haven't eaten any yet from my most recent order but have always been pleased in the past so I'm Sure it will be delicious.

"Good fish" madlyn on 5/18/2017 1:59 PM Rating:
Review: easy to cook

"Halibut" Karen R on 5/18/2017 11:59 AM Rating:
Review: Had a dinner party. Everyone enjoyed and I believe you are going to get new customers.

"You will never find better tasting halibut" John P on 4/27/2017 6:03 AM Rating:
Review: The best tasting fish you can get anywhere in the world right now unless you are wherever they catch the fish.

"Incredible" Eddie T. on 4/12/2017 1:50 PM Rating:
Review: The best. Period.

"HALIBUT" WANDA ONEILL on 4/1/2017 11:40 AM Rating:
Review: EXCELLENT

"LOVE THESE" DB on 3/31/2017 3:26 PM Rating:
Review: Delicious, would buy again!

"Best Seafood !" Delor C on 3/31/2017 5:35 AM Rating:
Review: Have purchased from you previously and will purchase again in the future

"Halibut" WANDA on 3/25/2017 9:52 AM Rating:
Review: Very good

"great purchase" delores c on 3/17/2017 5:38 AM Rating:
Review: My husband hates fish but LOVES these fillets. They are convenient to have especially during this Lenten season. They arrived quickly and were packed perfectly.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Richard F on 3/14/2017 11:45 AM Rating:
Review: Just grilled 2 Halibut portions and they were excellent. The 6 oz portions are the perfect size for the two of us. I believe these are really the smallest and purest halibut since they were tender and flaked easily after grilling.

"halibut" Paulette on 3/9/2017 7:08 AM Rating:
Review: good

"Love Love Love" Steve P on 3/9/2017 3:47 AM Rating:
Review: This fish - portion sized perfectly - tastes great - easy to cook. I purchased it several times already and won't buy any locally anymore.

"There is a reason I keep buying these" Kathy S on 2/17/2017 10:13 AM Rating:
Review: These halibut filets are very expensive. But I live in Iowa! I can't find anything like this unless I drive 100 miles to a fresh seafood shop in Omaha. I've got a fry bake recipe that we love and sprinkle macadamia nuts on top. These fillets are the best!!!

"Excellent" Trish B on 2/3/2017 11:59 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent.

Return to product details >>