Call Anytime 800.608.4825

Product Reviews

Wild Alaskan Halibut 6 oz portions, skinless/boneless

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
5

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Jayne H on 7/21/2018 10:04 AM Rating:
Review: Love this product, love this company, love their customer service,educational emails, sustainability and environmental policies!

"Halibut" Kelli P on 7/18/2018 6:38 PM Rating:
Review: Always fresh and full of flavor I love this company because all the fish is wild-caught and the halibut especially is very good

"Special Treat" Megan A on 6/22/2018 6:44 AM Rating:
Review: Great quality! We love when Vital Choice runs specials on them. They are a special treat for for us!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Lynn on 6/11/2018 7:20 AM Rating:
Review: Really great product - extra good with red pepper coulis sauce!

"MyHusband LOVES it" Delores C on 6/9/2018 5:19 AM Rating:
Review: For 2 years I have been eating the great wild Salmon. My husband finally said he would try the Halibut. Now he eats it at least once every week. He loves the taste and the fact that it is always available in our freezer. Great quality, fair pricing, delicious and convenient.....

"Halibut" Ellen on 5/28/2018 5:34 PM Rating:
Review: Have been looking for a good source for Alaskan Halibut. The fish is perfect.

"Wonderful" Ed M on 5/27/2018 10:24 AM Rating:
Review: This halibut is delicious. Lightly breaded with Panko and sauteed in EVOO, it tasted so good that I never used the lemon I had sliced for it. Also still very good cold or warmed up the next day.

"HALIBUT" PATRICIA KOORS on 5/19/2018 12:36 PM Rating:
Review: DELICIOUS

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" John M. Kestler on 5/18/2018 10:15 AM Rating:
Review: Just received order so it is to soon, but i my second order, an am very pleased with the Halibut so far!!!

"Great halibut" Barb S on 5/17/2018 4:21 AM Rating:
Review: Great tasting fish--make on the grill or pan roast them. Very flavorful.

"Alaskan halibut" Trevor on 5/11/2018 5:27 PM Rating:
Review: I ordered the Halibut due to my inability to tolerate fat very well, and as halibut is a pretty lean fish it works out very well for my system. Now, in regards to the quality of the fish itself. It's truly spectacular and as long as you cook the Halibut well you will be rewarded with a tasty piece of fish. It's certainly some of the best halibut I've ever had. I might not recommend this fish for beginner Cooks because if you don't do it right there's not a lot of forgiveness. Of course, the best way to learn is try so maybe go ahead and order it anyways!

"Halibut" Susan F on 5/11/2018 5:37 AM Rating:
Review: Exceeded all expectations

"Halibut" Marty F on 5/11/2018 2:10 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent fish. And good, prompt service.

"Love the halibut!" Ronald S on 5/10/2018 6:32 AM Rating:
Review: Wild Alaskan Halibut has become a weekly tradition in our family! My wife has found many excellent ways to prepare it. I especially like no bones and skin.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Judith B on 5/5/2018 9:10 AM Rating:
Review: Your recommendation that halibut should be cooked for 7-8 min seems too long to me. I cooked mine on a high fire for five min and it seemed a little dry. I’ll try a lower fire next time, but definitely will not cook for more than 5 min.

"Great Halibut" Carol on 5/4/2018 8:24 AM Rating:
Review: The high quality, the flavor, the speed of delivery, the environmental packaging, it all adds up to the best fish. It's all I get. I always have Vital Choice fish in my freezer and use them weekly. Makes dinner so easy.

"Fish purchase" Janice R on 4/26/2018 3:34 AM Rating:
Review: Very happy with my purchase

"It doesn’t get any better" Jean M on 4/14/2018 4:48 AM Rating:
Review: I’ve been a customer for a number of years and have never been disappointed I generally poach it and either put in salad Or plain with chutney on it.

"Best halibut ever" Gail H on 4/12/2018 3:20 PM Rating:
Review: We are totally enjoying our halibut. The 6 oz portions are a perfect serving size, shipment was prompt, packaging perfect. Very happy consumer /customers! Thanks VC !

"Yum!" Allison S on 4/12/2018 9:22 AM Rating:
Review: Delicious! Very close to the fresh I fell in love with in my travels to Vancouver Island, BC!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Laura B on 4/8/2018 5:19 PM Rating:
Review: My husband and son said it was the best fish they have ever had!!!

"Satisfaction of Product & Service" Florence on 4/6/2018 6:34 AM Rating:
Review: I've ordered from Vital Choice for a few years now and am never disappointed in the product or the service.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut/bonelss" Donna Cowin on 4/2/2018 11:56 AM Rating:
Review: The best Halibut I've had in a long time ~ thank you!

"NOT AS GOOD AS WE EXPECTED" Joanna K on 4/1/2018 12:48 PM Rating:
Review: Maybe we are spoiled because we LOVE your sablefish, but we found the halibut to be tough, dry and very bland! I cooked it slowly and made sure it was not overcooked. The portions seemed small, but I weighed them with my scale and they were accurate. Being 6.0 to 6.3#. We liked the fact that they were skinless. We do not like skin on any fish, including salmon. It makes it taste way to fishy for us, and then I have to use a large amount of lemon juice. Nothing like the halibut my mom used to make when I was young. -Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this order. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"fabulous halibut!" Elisabeth on 3/30/2018 10:48 AM Rating:
Review: Top quality halibut...as good as any we've had in the best restaurants!

"Halibut" Donna G on 3/29/2018 2:36 PM Rating:
Review: Exquisite. Flesh is firm, and flavor is delicious! DG

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Kathy B on 3/29/2018 9:45 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent quality and taste. We BarBQ in basket and are pleased with results. Will try other types of fish in future

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Donna Marshall Ziehm on 3/29/2018 6:56 AM Rating:
Review: The Wild Alaskan Halibut from Vital Choice is the best! There are so many recipes on the Vital Choice website that enhance the flavor. The texture of the halibut is buttery and flaky.

"The best" Ray on 3/23/2018 4:10 PM Rating:
Review: Firm, fresh tasting in many different recipes, especially Halibut Picccata.

"Wild alaskan halibut" Joanne D on 3/22/2018 4:10 AM Rating:
Review: Never disappointed. Easy packaging, prompt delivery, excellent product.

"The Best!" Susie Sutton on 3/17/2018 3:20 AM Rating:
Review: Halibut is one of our favorite fish. This did not disappoint. The 6oz portions are quite large...will order 4oz next time.

"Good Fish" Vctor E. Giuffrida on 3/16/2018 10:58 AM Rating:
Review: All your shipments arrive in good shape, and the product has great taste!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Linda on 3/15/2018 8:38 AM Rating:
Review: Great fish...thanks for asking!

"Halibut" Barry Q on 2/22/2018 9:57 AM Rating:
Review: Taste was out of this world

"Great Halibut" Moorea on 2/16/2018 6:14 AM Rating:
Review: Prepared as “Halibut Alieska” was delicious, my only remark is about fish portions not being equal, I wanted 6oz and one of them was more like 4oz, difficult to even out but other than that it was perfect.

"love halibut" debra on 2/15/2018 6:12 AM Rating:
Review: so glad i found this supplier. this is very well packed, fresh and the perfect sized fillets. easy to grill, great flavor.

"Halibut 6oz" Nancy B on 2/15/2018 4:43 AM Rating:
Review: This size is good but the 12oz pieces are much better

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Sandra D on 2/9/2018 4:48 AM Rating:
Review: I read the reviews first and not one bad review. I decided to give it a try and it was well worth the price. Excellent, fresh and meaty fish!

"Outstanding Quality!" William S on 2/3/2018 8:24 AM Rating:
Review: Not only outstanding quality, but outstanding taste & freshness. Just like it came off the boat, out of the ocean!

"Wild Alaskan halibut" Kelli P on 2/1/2018 6:15 PM Rating:
Review: Very fresh and a really nice portion. Good flavor

"Halibut" Nancy on 1/21/2018 10:10 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent! We are so impressed, customers forever. Best halibut, couldn't have tasted fresher if we had just caught it ourselves.

"Halibut" Robert F on 1/20/2018 3:42 AM Rating:
Review: Vital, has by far the VERY best customer service.

"Halibut" John P on 1/19/2018 6:48 AM Rating:
Review: Vital choice fish are flash frozen once they are line caught. In other words, unlike wild caught fish you can buy from places like Whole Foods for less than half the price per pound., Vital Choice fish do not linger unfrozen, subject to absorbing water and worse yet, losing most of their flavor within the first two hours of being caught. You can still get amazingly delicious fish from deep off the Alaskan coast by small volume high unit cost businesses, like Vital Choice and maybe only Vital Choice. is it worth the extra cost? Once you taste Vital Choice’s halibut, salmon, scallops and other fish, you will conclude like myself that value is worth more than cost, much more. Bon appetite.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" ELIZA R on 1/18/2018 6:13 AM Rating:
Review: This is a good fish and the portions are just perfect.

"Delicious" Joyce B on 1/18/2018 5:17 AM Rating:
Review: Fresh and delicious! Arrives to my home in Florida in vacuum packed portions on dry ice. Vital Choice is my only choice for Halibut.

"Review of order" Mike D on 1/18/2018 4:48 AM Rating:
Review: Delivery as promised, product packed perfectly and frozen. Fresh looking and I had some the next day after defrosting and it was delish

"The best I have bought" Judy L on 1/13/2018 2:42 AM Rating:
Review: This halibut is the better than anything you can buy in the store. I bake it in the Nu'wave oven at 4 minutes per side and it comes out moist and flaky.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut 6 oz portions, skinless/boneless" Robert L J on 1/6/2018 6:51 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent ! Perfect sized !

"6 oz Halibut" Barbara T on 1/5/2018 4:13 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent Halibut

"Delicious" Marcia Mundell on 12/21/2017 8:56 AM Rating:
Review: This is the best halibut my husband and I have had. We are VITAL CHOICE customers for life now.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Anne B on 12/15/2017 11:31 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent service and packaging-here in several days from order. Halibut is perfect as usual.

"halibut" lucia on 12/9/2017 1:47 PM Rating:
Review: never had it..tried it the other night love it!!

"Always have it on hand!" Susan H on 11/23/2017 12:19 PM Rating:
Review: Tender, flaky, tasty. Our whole family loves your Alaskan Halibut!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Judith on 11/16/2017 6:19 AM Rating:
Review: this halibut has so much texture and flavor. Pan seared in butter and season salt and pepper. Perfect

"Very good" Cheri C on 10/27/2017 2:35 PM Rating:
Review: The halibut was fabulous. We pan seared it with salt and pepper and EVOO and finished with a little brown butter.

"So good" Laurie on 10/23/2017 8:09 PM Rating:
Review: My only regret is that I only ordered 6. Used four tonight for company. Will make it a bigger order next time

"Love those little fish fillets!" Nancy on 10/12/2017 8:43 AM Rating:
Review: Best Halibut and Salmon we've found. Thanks for the small fish they taste much better with less aging.

"Alaskan halibut" Gerhard S on 10/5/2017 11:32 AM Rating:
Review: Started to use it. Very good.

"Delicious!" Sheryl on 10/5/2017 7:34 AM Rating:
Review: Best halibut I've ever had, every time I order it it looks, cooks, and tastes the same, super delicious with no surprises.

"Everyone who eats, orders!" Sharon Gottsacker on 9/23/2017 5:04 PM Rating:
Review: I have ordered and reordered the salmon, halibut, sole and tuna poke kit for our remote lake house in Wisconsin. I will order more for our other house in Dallas. Love your fish!

"Wonderful halibut" Betsy S on 9/16/2017 5:50 PM Rating:
Review: I know this will be wonderful fish. My husband and I used to buy the random size 5 lbs of halibut and that was always fantastic. I have no doubt this will be fantastic too. Love Vital Choice.

"Halibut" Garry H on 9/1/2017 5:42 AM Rating:
Review: as always, perfect

"Simply, The Best!" Mo O on 8/28/2017 2:12 PM Rating:
Review: I live in a small town,very out of the way. My order,(halibut) came in 2 days! I'm from the coast where fresh seafood is a given. I've missed it greatly. Vital Choice delivered the ocean,100%!!! How I cook it: Dust in a mix of cornstarch, crushed panko and salt gives a light, crispy crust. Preheat skillet over med heat, Add a tbs. butter. Sear fish one minute, both sides.Lower heat a bit, cook 1 min 30 sec more each side, add more butter as necessary. Let rest 1or2 minutes. Off heat, add some more butter, deglazing pan, pour over the fish.Sprinkle with some dill or other herbs. Moist, tender, delicious! More satisfying than the best steak I've ever had. DO NOT OVERCOOK!!! If fish is tough or dry you have cooked it too long... (if underdone, can always cook a bit longer) Highest quality company. Highest quality seafood. Treat yourself!

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Michelle D on 8/25/2017 5:58 AM Rating:
Review: Amazing... coming back for more!

"Great fish story" Weyman Squyres on 8/11/2017 4:29 PM Rating:
Review: Love the quality and fresh flavor of the halibut we received. Have bought it before and will buy it again.

"Halibut Filets Awesome" Mo O on 8/3/2017 6:18 PM Rating:
Review: As a transplant from Boston to New Mexico for almost 30 years my fondest memories included the fresh seafood that I shared with my Nana every week. I was missing it so much that I took a chance on your company mostly because of your description of processing and sustainability. I was not disappointed. I have heard many people complain that when they cook fish it makes the house smell 'fishy'. Well they should know that should not happen if your fish is fresh. When you open the packaging the fish should smell like the ocean. You guys passed the test with flying colors! And cooked very briefly, a bit less than 5 minutes total, it comes out tender and moist every time. Am about to order again as I so much look forward to having my fish dinner every week and it reminds me of times spent with my beautiful grandmother. Thank you and Bless you for the care you take.

"Always love and enjoy the halibut" Sandra on 7/27/2017 10:47 AM Rating:
Review: Love this product

"Excellent" Linda M on 7/8/2017 10:04 AM Rating:
Review: Best halibut

"Disappointed" Mary on 7/2/2017 7:53 AM Rating:
Review: I ordered the fish for a special occasion dinner where I was entertaining guests, my fish arrived with way too many end pieces. I would have preferred to see the fish before I purchased it so I could have had a better presentation for my guests, I was expecting better from Vital Choice. Thank you for providing this feedback. A customer service associate will contact you today.

"Delicious" Ronnie L on 6/29/2017 4:10 AM Rating:
Review: Wonderful tasting fish! Love that I can now keep it handy in my freezer.

"Family Favorite" Carol A on 6/16/2017 5:18 AM Rating:
Review: I have been buying Vital Choice Halibut for a couple of years now. It's by far our family's favorite fish. The quality of VC is excellent. We prepare them in one of two ways, but my fave is to wrap them in foil with fresh herbs, garlic & a little bit of olive oil and cook for 11 min on the grill. It is delicious and easy every single time!

"halibut" tom p on 6/10/2017 9:54 AM Rating:
Review: Outstanding white fish.Delicate flavor.

"Halibut" Sarah on 6/9/2017 3:35 AM Rating:
Review: Great product. Yes buy it.

"customer" Dona on 6/2/2017 10:13 AM Rating:
Review: I received my order on time. The fresh items were perfectly frozen. I baked some halibut filets in garlic, lemon, thyme butter, then browned them in the oven - superbe! So fresh, light and flavorful.

"6oz portion halibuts" Mary H on 5/21/2017 3:36 PM Rating:
Review: These were wonderful. Served to guests with a mango salsa. Very good.

"Halibut" Diane K on 5/19/2017 5:45 AM Rating:
Review: Haven't eaten any yet from my most recent order but have always been pleased in the past so I'm Sure it will be delicious.

"Good fish" madlyn on 5/18/2017 1:59 PM Rating:
Review: easy to cook

"Halibut" Karen R on 5/18/2017 11:59 AM Rating:
Review: Had a dinner party. Everyone enjoyed and I believe you are going to get new customers.

"You will never find better tasting halibut" John P on 4/27/2017 6:03 AM Rating:
Review: The best tasting fish you can get anywhere in the world right now unless you are wherever they catch the fish.

"Incredible" Eddie T. on 4/12/2017 1:50 PM Rating:
Review: The best. Period.

"HALIBUT" WANDA ONEILL on 4/1/2017 11:40 AM Rating:
Review: EXCELLENT

"LOVE THESE" DB on 3/31/2017 3:26 PM Rating:
Review: Delicious, would buy again!

"Best Seafood !" Delor C on 3/31/2017 5:35 AM Rating:
Review: Have purchased from you previously and will purchase again in the future

"Halibut" WANDA on 3/25/2017 9:52 AM Rating:
Review: Very good

"great purchase" delores c on 3/17/2017 5:38 AM Rating:
Review: My husband hates fish but LOVES these fillets. They are convenient to have especially during this Lenten season. They arrived quickly and were packed perfectly.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Richard F on 3/14/2017 11:45 AM Rating:
Review: Just grilled 2 Halibut portions and they were excellent. The 6 oz portions are the perfect size for the two of us. I believe these are really the smallest and purest halibut since they were tender and flaked easily after grilling.

"halibut" Paulette on 3/9/2017 7:08 AM Rating:
Review: good

"Love Love Love" Steve P on 3/9/2017 3:47 AM Rating:
Review: This fish - portion sized perfectly - tastes great - easy to cook. I purchased it several times already and won't buy any locally anymore.

"There is a reason I keep buying these" Kathy S on 2/17/2017 10:13 AM Rating:
Review: These halibut filets are very expensive. But I live in Iowa! I can't find anything like this unless I drive 100 miles to a fresh seafood shop in Omaha. I've got a fry bake recipe that we love and sprinkle macadamia nuts on top. These fillets are the best!!!

"Excellent" Trish B on 2/3/2017 11:59 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent.

"Wild Alaskan Halibut" Amy L Harding on 2/2/2017 5:51 AM Rating:
Review: Excellent packaging and delivery Fish was firm, flavorful, and easy to prepare Really enjoyed it Will definite reorder

"Halibut" Maryanne Lyons on 1/13/2017 5:18 AM Rating:
Review: Perfect portion, easy to defrost and delicious to eat.

"Elegant Meal" Christine M on 12/30/2016 6:06 AM Rating:
Review: I shipped the halibut just in time for Christmas because I have been traveling too much for work and wanted to make something nice for my family. The fish was beautifully packaged and easy to defrost in one day. I used one of the recipes on this site and it was amazing!! We will definitely order again soon.

"Best Seafood Ordered" John on 12/27/2016 5:10 AM Rating:
Review: We've been a Vital Choice customer for years and we've tried a few other companies. Nothing compares with the quality and service we receive from Vital Choice!

"Tasty and Fabulous" Marilyn V on 12/17/2016 11:56 AM Rating:
Review: Although I have not tried this myself, I sent as a gift to a relative. They called and told me how much they enjoyed the halibut; the best they have tasted in a long time. I also sent them the salmon and scallops. They promised to let me know after they have tried them. I definitely will order again as a gift.

"Always fresh!" DL Farrell on 12/12/2016 10:39 AM Rating:
Review: Some of the best halibut we've had! Enjoy ordering from you knowing that you've caught it fresh, in Alaska and then packaged it well for shipping.

"Alaskin Halibut" Linda W on 11/25/2016 2:07 PM Rating:
Review: what a wonderful fish it was so delicious it is one of my favorets my first is the salmon

"Excellent quality, perfect portion" Maryann on 11/17/2016 6:36 AM Rating:
Review: What a delight to find delicious halibut in just the right portion. This top quality halibut sits in my freezer until I'm ready, allowing me the opportunity to eat healthily any time I wish. Great for a single serving or company. Thaw, cook... you have restaurant quality dinner.

"First Time Ive Tried Vital Choice Halibut - Fabulous!!!" Karen Berry on 11/11/2016 9:41 AM Rating:
Review: Vital Choice continues to amaze me. This Halibut is just perfect. King Salmon is still my favorite, but I need some good recipes for the Halibut. I think it would make beyond fabulous fish tacos.

"Halibut filets" Carol K on 11/3/2016 9:14 AM Rating:
Review: I thaw these as directed, in the fridge overnight then unwrap them to finish thawing in the fridge thru the day. I cook them many ways and cook till just before they are done, let them sit in the pan and rest while I fix the plate. Perfect every time. As moist and delicious as if they were never frozen. Better than any restaurant around.

Return to product details >>