Ad

Product Reviews

Ahi Tuna Poke Kit tuna & seasoning: four servings in 1 lb bag

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Disclaimer: Product reviews are provided for informational purposes only and reflect the views and opinions of customers and not those of Vital Choice.
Vital Choice does not verify or endorse any health-based claims made in these reviews. Reviews containing health claims will be removed.
Average Ratings:
4.5

"Fresh" Toshiko S on 9/18/2020 7:47 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: this tune, like the saku, tastes very fresh and not fishy. I do not like poke that much so I use this tuna for variety of eating, sometimes mixing with grated yamaimo. It is the fresh taste I like, since I cannot buy blue fin tuna anywhere here.

"Great Ahi Tuna Poke" John B on 9/18/2020 2:37 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Takes me back to Hawaii. Super easy to assemble with cubed sushi grade tuna and poke seasoning packet. Just add soy sauce and sesame oil to taste, some seasoning (I suggest using just a small amount of the included seasoning), mix, chill and then dig in. Wonderful product!

"Delicious Poke" Maria C on 9/18/2020 3:44 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Ahi tuna poke is the best tasting and so deliciously fresh that my family ate 2 pounds in a day. Loved it and will buy more. Thank you vital choice for having this product.

"Yummy!" Marni Schneider on 9/10/2020 7:06 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I've had this before and it's always good but this batch was better than ever. Nobody does it better! Thanks.

"Fresh" Sandy on 9/10/2020 10:26 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: You can really taste the difference in the freshness and quality . Season packet really good.

"A Little too Fishy" Deavon W on 8/1/2019 8:31 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: I just received my first order and was pretty disappointed by the poke tuna. It is the first menu item we tried and the consensus was the same. Too fishy. The flavor of the seasoning was good, but the quality of the fish was not what we were expecting or hoping for. - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you regarding this review. Thank you!

"Best great stuff" Cocopu iti on 7/15/2019 3:45 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Love this! Great seasoning, easy to prepare, add a few veggies and warm rice you got a fulfilling meal.

"Love, love, loved it!" Donna M on 8/31/2018 3:37 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Because I love Ahi Tuna and have eaten at Poke restaurants so I wanted to try this and make my own. I have ordered frozen and canned fish and pet treats from Vital Choice for the last several years. As such I was confident the Poke kit would be delicious. I was not disappointed. It was fantastic! I will definitely order again and would highly recommend it. In addition, the recipes that can be found on their website are absolutely fantastic. When I cook the cod, sole or halibut I check the recipes on Vital Choice website before I even thaw the fish. Haven't failed me yet!!!!!!

"Tuna was a little fishy" Gina S on 8/9/2018 9:40 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Was so happy to find this product but thought the tuna came out fishy. Followed the directions; even marinated a few minutes longer. We made Sriracha, chili garlic and hoisin sauces to top our bowls which helped, but will stick to the local poke bowl take out here in NY instead. Sorry! - Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are sorry to hear your disappointment in this product. Our customer service team will reach out to you today to follow up. Thank you!

"Tasty!" Shannon on 8/2/2018 11:12 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: Love these Poke kits, very easy and delicious. If I had to be super picky, I wish the chunks were bigger, it would make them easier to eat with chop sticks. That said, they are delicious!

"THe best of several worlds" Eric Berman on 7/6/2018 12:40 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Top notch tuna nuggets, savory seasoning in the accompanying packet, memorable serving ideas--this has got to be the best of east and west. If you like sushi, like sashimi, like improvising, like buffet, a Poke Party is the way to go, and these kits do it best.

"Great easy meal!" Popoti on 6/19/2018 2:57 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Although an easy recipe to make from scratch , this kit is perfect and simple to assemble. Tasty with the right amount for three. Quality tuna is not always easy to find in store and this kit really helps. We have had many already and will most likely have more.

"A lot of food!" Karen on 5/18/2018 7:45 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: This was a ton of food! The serving size is great and much more than needed for 2 people in our opinions. The spices provided with the tuna kit took away from the tuna's flavor and we wished we had not added it so be sure to season lightly or with your own blend; that is the only reason for the 4 star rating...the seasoning.

"Great flavor" Dr. Barb on 4/27/2018 2:40 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is another crowd pleaser at our home. The flavor is complex with just a hint of "hot" spicy.

"Ahi!" Carol Rhodes-Rice on 3/22/2018 11:57 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This Ahi was so fresh and tasted great! We made an Ahi Poke salad and added MCT/ACV dressing with avocado and sesame seeds. It was sooo good! Highly recommended!

"Get your poke on" H GERLACH JAMES III MD on 2/16/2018 7:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Great tuna and good seasoning pac

"Yumm!" Moorea on 2/16/2018 6:08 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Fresh and tasty, very easy to prepare. Will come back for more.

"Delicious and Easy to Prepare" Frank on 2/9/2018 8:56 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This was wonderful for us. It was very easy to prepare, the spices included were perfect, and by customizing the finished product with our own cucumber, edamame, onions, and pickled ginger, we were thrilled. I don't eat rice so I put mine on a bed of greens. The rice eater in the house put his on the rice. The Ahi was PERFECT. We will order again and again for a special HOME POKE BOWL! We wondered if other types of sashimi will be considered for this preparation in the future. Terrific!

"Tuna Poke" Suzanne on 2/8/2018 7:39 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: My whole family loves this. We have purchased this several times. When it comes to seasoning, it can be a little salty, that is why I lean towards 'you can always add more'. I will continue to purchase.

"Yummy!" Catherine K on 2/2/2018 3:58 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Loved the poke kit; ample size to serve 4 people easily!

"Absolutely delicious!" Danielle B on 1/18/2018 4:35 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is the best, freshest tuna available! Great taste, great seasoning. A little pricey but worth it! They need to listen to the consumer and package the tuna in 4 separate smaller packs, instead of the 1 large package of tuna. It’s too much for 1 person to eat before it goes bad.

"Excellent" Gerard on 1/14/2018 3:27 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: We really enjoy poke bowls tuna and salmon. Fish is very fresh and we were very impressed and satisfied with our purchases. Highly recommended.

"Excellent healthy meal" Alexy, Boston on 1/1/2018 12:12 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Absolutely wonderful quality; easy to prepare. Delicious.

"Ahi Tuna Kit" Kristina on 12/29/2017 11:01 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: The kit is great. Like other reviews the seasoning is a bit much. I would use half of the recommended in the recipe.

"Awesome!" Tracy Watkins on 12/15/2017 8:09 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Wonderful product! Makes a quick, healthy meal.

"too salty" Debra on 11/22/2017 3:31 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: The first time I prepared this using the entire spice packet. It was too salty, even though I used low sodium tamari. Now i just use half a spice packet and add some thai chili flakes, tamari, mirin and a bit of fish sauce. Tuna is reallly beautifully fresh. delicious served over brown rice with some cucumber and green onion.

"Wonderful change occasionally" Toshiko S on 11/16/2017 8:06 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: This is the first time I tried a poke. Surprisingly pleasant flavor. When I prepared as described, it turned out too salty, so I reduced the amount of tamari. Because of the strong flavor created by sesame and roasted sesame oil, this is something to be enjoyed occasionally, not too often. As for convenience, I appreciate the ease of preparations.

"Ahhhhmazing" V Waller on 10/5/2017 11:55 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: If you like sushi or Ahi Tuna tartar, you will love this. Almost without fail everything I've tried from Vital Choice has been wonderful but the Ahi Tuna Poke Kit is GREAT.

"A Taste of Hawaii" Barbara H on 9/22/2017 11:06 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I add Avocado and green onion, 2 Tbls of soy, 1 Tbls of sesame oil and maybe 1/3 of the packet of spices, and serve over rice. It is the best thing ever, at our house we actually crave it. The tuna is beyond wonderful, so fresh and beautiful. every bit as good as anything i have tasted, called, Poke.

"New Sushi Grade Tuna" Linda Z. on 9/18/2017 2:09 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: The tuna was fresh and sushi grade as advertised. Made for a nice meal. I was unable to use the Poke seasoning as I can not have iodine and it contains seaweed. My only recommendation is to split this into 2 packages as other reviews have suggested. It was too much to use at one time but you had no choice so as not to have to throw it away. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We appreciate you sharing your feedback on this package and will share this with our product team. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Very tasty, will order again soon" MDH on 9/17/2017 6:07 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: Excellent! Tuna was very good quality and prep time was very short for such a delicious meal. Recommend for newbies to add soy sauce, sesame oil, and spices a bit at a time and taste. I liked the spice level with the whole packet but may be too much for some. Added Poke to brown rice, fresh ginger, carrots, cucumber, thinly sliced onion, and avocado. Only recommendation to VC is to split this into 1/2 pound packets so a couple can enjoy.

"Poke Tuna" Gretchen Bellinger - Please do not use my name. on 9/9/2017 8:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star Empty
Review: From time to time I try something new. Bottom line: Stick to what I know and love. Shall not purchase again. I am giving away to use up. Hello Gretchen, Our Customer Service Team will be contacting you shortly to discuss your order.

"Spicy" Janet C on 9/1/2017 10:25 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: This was easy to prepare but I found it too spicy for my palate. Would order it again if there were options for milder spice. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear you found the seasoning to be to spicy. We recommend seasoning to taste, some will use 1/2 of the package or less per 1lb package. Using less of the seasoning makes it much less spicy. Our Customer Service Team will follow up with you today regarding this product. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Tastes fine but pricey" Jacque on 8/31/2017 3:45 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: The tuna is good, not too much sinew and clean aroma. Spices are tasty but you have to add your own liquid to really "marinate" the fish. For 30 bucks + shipping, I'd hope that it would have been a little more spectacular. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice and sharing your feedback. We will share your recommendation with our product team to consider. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Poor packaging" Katie H on 8/24/2017 4:09 AM Rating:
Star Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty
Review: When I received my order, the packet of seasoning for the tuna was torn open and the seasoning was all in the box, unable to be used on the tuna. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hear your seasoning package arrived opened and damaged. We have made some changes to the packaging and have corrected this issue. Our Customer Service Team will reach out to you regarding this issue. Thank you, The Vital Choice Team

"Spectacular!" Stephanie Carlson on 8/17/2017 10:40 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is so fabulous! We added Avacado and served over jasmine rice. Yummm. We are ordering again.

"Excellent Fresh Ahi Poke" Eden on 8/15/2017 12:51 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This was Excellent! Really, really fresh flavour on the Ahi, and delicious spicing. Easy to make with stuff I already had in my cupboard. I spiced it up a bit with Sriracha too, but I tasted some, sans spicing, to make sure the tuna was fresh, and it was fantastic! I can't say enough about how tasty this was ~ and it impressed some discerning friends too. We live on an island - so we're snobby about fish, and everyone loved this! I served it on mixed greens (With cucumber and cherry tomato, and an 'asian' vinaigrette. I didn't use the full spice pack on the fish). Yum! what about Salmon or Halibut Poke?

"Fishy poke" helmut on 8/11/2017 2:26 PM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Empty Star Empty
Review: Tuna has some aromas that shouldn't be there which disappear once it is marinated with the Poke spices - all in all not bad Thank you for sharing this feedback. Our customer service agents will reach out to you today.

"Easy and Healthy Meal!" Sam H on 7/30/2017 7:20 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: I added some brown rice, coconut amigos, and a splash of siracha. We loved this meal!

"Ahí Poke" Maria C on 7/27/2017 8:36 AM Rating:
Star Star Star Star Star
Review: This is wonderful! All you need to add is toasted sesame oil and coconut aminos or soy sauce. I made it last night on a bed of lettuce and cucumbers...yum!

Return to product details >>
Ad