Product Reviews

Wild Sardines in Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil 4-3/8 oz

Write your own review | Return to product details >>

Average Ratings: 5

Rating:



Rate this product:


"Delicious sardines"

Judy Schachter on 5/7/2014 6:59:15 PM

Rating:


Review: The sardines are wonderful. I have them for lunch with a small salad of organic greens and little tomatoes. And for dinner, I saute an onion and garlic and then the sardines, just long enough to heat them up - spectacularly delicious and super healthy!


"my favorite product"

Guillermo on 5/4/2014 10:46:13 AM

Rating:


Review: when I tried it I knew I found a great quality product now I am addicted to it , it is part of my regular diet , taste great, lots of protein!!


"best sardines, ever"

kd in seattle on 5/4/2014 12:28:52 AM

Rating:


Review: these are by far the best sardines I've ever had. they are plump, not fishy tasting, not salty, just pure and delicious.


"Portugese Sardines/ExtrVirOliveOil"

Joan P Green on 4/25/2014 7:11:30 AM

Rating:


Review: Larger Org Sardines, tiny fishy taste (I love fish), best of all they are away from the West Coast of US & Fukushima run-off. . .difficult to find GOOD fish now-a-days !


"Sardines in Olive Oil"

Ann J. on 4/22/2014 9:50:42 PM

Rating:


Review: Are you used to buying the supermarket sardines such as King Oscar? I was raised on them. Then one day I decided to try the Vital Choice Sardines. Wow! what a difference. They are so delicious. Plump and larger than what I was used to. I am happy I ordered them a second time. A wonderful snack. A lovely lunch. My British friend likes them smashed and put on toast. However you want them, they are so healthy and sorry, good for you. I made a good choice.


"Heathy"

Doris Lehman on 4/21/2014 9:39:51 PM

Rating:


Review: I work night shift and it is very difficult to find something healthy and good but also light and filling to snack on. These fill the bill!


"Quality & Pure"

Lori on 4/21/2014 10:20:48 AM

Rating:


Review: I love good quality food, these sardine's rank right up there.


"I am now a converted sardine lover!"

sally axelrod on 4/12/2014 2:46:33 AM

Rating:


Review: I've never been much of a sardine eater. In fact, they have always given me indigestion. I was so intrigued by Vital Choice customer reviews of their sardines that I just had to try them. I wasn't disappointed: they are so delicious, with absolutely no fishy aftertaste. Served with a few squeezes of lemon, they are perfect as a light meal or snack. I find that half a can is more than enough for one sitting, although now that I am a converted sardine lover, I may go for the whole can one of these days. Vital Choice seafood is the best!


"Sardines in Organic EVOO"

Katherine on 4/10/2014 3:22:55 AM

Rating:


Review: Excellent tasting sardines and the absolute best I have ever tasted.


"Sardines in Organic Olive Oil"

Anthony on 4/4/2014 5:14:48 AM

Rating:


Review: Excellent sardines, best canned I've ever had.


"2nd Best"

Eric Evans on 10/28/2012 5:28:54 PM

Rating:


Review: These sardines have great texture and flavor. For me, they are second only to the Vital Choice spiced sardines, which are my favorite, and far superior to sardines available in grocery stores.


"Absolutely, no-close-second, the BEST sardines I've ever eaten"

Joy Gadaway on 5/9/2011 7:57:01 PM

Rating:


Review: Wonderful video! I've enjoyed Vital Choice sardines and in fact have given them as Christmas presents! They are absolutely, no-close-second, the BEST sardines I've ever eaten. I am very grateful for this lovely gift from the sea and for the care that is taken every step of the way.


"Best sardines but Omega 3 numbers flawed"

glenn on 4/28/2011 10:37:44 AM

Rating:


Review:

These are the best canned Sardines I have ever tasted, and I have purchased them many times from Vital Choice and will continue to do so, but, the Omega 3 content is highly suspect. If you look at the Sardines in water it says they have a total of 3398mg of Omega 3's per can.(1699mgx2=3398mg).The ones in olive oil have 5306mg per can. (2653mgx2=5306mg). The only difference in the ones with olive oil is the addition of olive oil. There is only a trace of Omega 3's in olive oil. Only a trace, and they are saying that there is an additional 1908mg in the ones with olive oil. Also they are saying that there is an additional 14% Calcium in the olive oil Sardines. Again, there's no Calcium in olive oil. I doubt that there is even 3398mg of Omega 3 in the Sardines with water. I have written to Vital Choice on this but they didn't respond [WE DID RESPOND ... SEE BELOW]. They should release their laboratory numbers. Still awesome sardines though.
 
VITAL CHOICE RESPONSE:
The omega-3 figures for our water- and oil-packed sardines come from validated laboratory tests, which we can provide upon request.
The numbers suggest that the omega-3s in sardines leach into surrounding water more than into surrounding olive oil. This is counterintutive, but we are confident of the accuracy of our lab results because they dovetail with other numbers we've seen. 
The explanation for the higher calcium content in the oil-packed fish is also a function of the differing interactions between the calcium in the fish and the surrounding oil or water, with water apparently leaching more calcium from the fish than olive oil does.


1 2

 

For orders, questions, or assistance call 800-608-4825 any day or time. © 2014 Vital Choice Wild Seafood & Organics, Inc. All Rights Reserved