Get special offers, recipes, health news, PLUS our FREE seafood cooking guide! I'm on Board Hide 
Got it, thanks! Click here for your FREE seafood cooking guide & recipes e-booklet.Hide 

Product Reviews

Sablefish (Black Cod) Nova Lox - 4oz

Write your own review  Return to product details >>

Average Ratings: 4.8

Rating:



Rate this product:


"Seemed salty"

Anna on 6/28/2016 11:12:20 AM

Rating:


Review: When I received they were thawed out. Was told that they are ok. We had each one that day. We felt they were a bit salty. And there were bones in them. - Thank you for ordering with Vital Choice. We are sorry to hare you did not enjoy the Sablefish Lox. The bones in the Sablefish are very common however they should not seem overly saltly. Our customer Service Team will reach out to you today to discuss. Thank you! Vital Choice


"Sweetfeet"

Marie S on 5/24/2016 10:08:49 AM

Rating:


Review: This is the best tasting sablefish I have had in a long time. I was raised in a Jewish neighborhood as a child and this brings back fond memories of sable and lox.


"A great alternative to salmon lox"

John Parker on 2/9/2016 8:46:37 AM

Rating:


Review: I have enjoyed salmon lox for years and decided to try the Sablefish Nova Lox for a change last year, espicially since I like Sablefish fillets. I really enjoy the Sablefish lox on crackers with cream cheese, red pepper jelly and capers.


"Mr."

Robert Applegate on 1/7/2016 7:33:21 AM

Rating:


Review: The BEST,that says it all.


"lighter taaste"

Charles H on 12/21/2015 9:52:29 AM

Rating:


Review: The black cod portions are a marked difference from the salmon species. If you want a lighter tasting fish for a change, then this is the way to go.


"Excellent taste"

Toshiko S on 11/19/2015 7:45:38 AM

Rating:


Review: Ever since I tried these when I received as a bonus, I wanted to purchase this sable fish. Finally, I bought them. No disappointment. The taste is mildly smoky and full of flavor. It is best to thaw in the water, pat them dry. I will repeat this order when I have another opportunity.


"Fantastic Tasting Smoked Black Cod!"

Patti K on 10/22/2015 3:34:00 PM

Rating:


Review: Very tender, perfectly smoked black cod slices. Use it like you would smoked salmon. Perfection!


"Delicious!"

Francesca Redwine on 3/12/2015 12:45:00 PM

Rating:


Review: Just-caught-fresh taste, much tastier & better quality than I've found locally (and I live in a large 'cosmopolitan' city). With a topping of a few of your sardines, a sprinkle of capers and fresh dill, side of sliced cucumbers = easy, fast gourmet dining.


"staple in my house"

Carolyn Reynolds on 10/16/2014 1:50:15 PM

Rating:


Review: I keep Sablefish Nova Lox in my freezer all the time. It is such a delicious and hassle free way to keep healthy fish in my diet. It thaws quickly and goes so well with my crispy seed crackers.


"Black Cod Nova"

Don on 9/3/2014 2:18:08 AM

Rating:


Review: Very good lox. Highly recommend.


"Simply excellent!"

Asya Starosta on 5/22/2014 8:01:53 AM

Rating:


Review: The best I tried! Fresh, mild, spiced correctly, will order again. Thanks Vital Choice!


"Headed for the poorhouse"

Linda Jo on 1/15/2014 8:04:27 PM

Rating:


Review: I ordered 6 portions of this sablefish (growing up around bagels and delis we just called it sable). One 4 oz portion was devoured within the hour, delectable slice by delectable slice. By me. Alone. I can see many more orders in my future. Mmmmmm


"Sablefish"

DeeDee Boyington on 8/18/2013 5:29:28 PM

Rating:


Review: Selected sablefish as freebie with last order. Had never eaten sablefish. Prepared Honey-Broiled Sablefish (Black Cod) recipe (from VC Web site) for dinner this evening. This fish melts in your mouth. Absolutely delicious. I will add this product to next order!!!


"Hits the Mark"

Lauren on 5/4/2013 7:57:11 AM

Rating:


Review: Wonderful.


"Excellent!"

Lynn Wright on 1/7/2011 10:53:28 AM

Rating:


Review: I've eaten a lot of smoked fish/lox in my life and this Sablefish from Vital Choice is the best I can remember!


1 2

 

For orders, questions, or assistance call 800-608-4825 any day or time. © 2016 Vital Choice Wild Seafood & Organics, Inc. All Rights Reserved